We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mescalero
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We had a great room overlooking the golf course and lake. Had coffee on balcony each morning before going to breakfast. Great food, served with a view. The staff was very helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to make sure our stay of four nights was a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2smokycreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
There are newer reviews for Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

749 - 755 of 872 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2010

Excellent views of Lake and Sierra Blanca, clean and spacious room with balcony, good golf, fun casino, large lounge and balconies for sunsets, sexy and romantic , restaurant nice, we enjoyed this place, and would go back to relax in pool & hot tub

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gurusgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

From the main lobby an unforgettable view of the lake and mountains. What a setting with privacy and serenity. We had a luxury room with a walkout to the lake and excellent accommodations. Great workout and spa facility and beautiful golf course. Have been here before and will come again and again. Cabins in town are nice but the setting is worth staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve48Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

First time back in 20 years. Still beautifully situated in fron of lake, golf course, and mountain, which is impressively framed in the hotel lobby. Very classy place for a casino. Rooms are good value (ask for lake (ocean) view

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mclpcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

It was amazing to have this hotel to ourselves! It was the second week of January and the crowds had died down when we went. They have a huge spa that we went to after snowboarding all day, and no one else was there! I'm definitely looking to return in the off season.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank markvittek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

I went to the Inn of the Mountain Gods about 4 years ago before they built this new hotel and casino. At that time there was major construction so traffic was a nightmare. However it was jammed packed.
Apparently the locals know the score and stay away from here. We went on Saturday night. The entrance is a long drive up a small hill area of a mountain. There are no street lights and it is pretty scary on winding roads so watch for plenty of wildlife that may jump out on the road into the hotel. They have a new parking garage, however, someone forgot to mark the exits so once your inside, I guess they dont want you to leave as you will drive around a while until you figure it out. Also no signs telling you where the elevators are so keep your eyes open.
This is a new casino with a night club and bar, however you can only drink inside the bar so all the patrons stay in there and it makes for huge lines if you desire a cocktail or beer. The nightclub is small and long lines for that. All inside the small casino. Surprisingly for a saturday night the casino was not packed. Seems like I said the locals stay away. Though I was with my wife and we actually left with a profit for a change so that was surprising. A lot of action on the blackjack tables and craps left plenty of room at the slots. There are no beverage stations and you will find it very maddening to get a coke or a bottle of water or coffee.
Sign up for the players club and you will get at least 5.00 in free play. They advertise up to 500.00 , but come on, you reading this and I both know how that works lol.
Overall it wasn't a bad place and I would recommend this but i have no idea if there are restaurants, buffets, etc there as they have a serious lack of signage in the casino and hallways,(did i mention the parking garage).
Now if your lucky enough to find your way out of the parking garage, be prepared to navigate the dark long road back to the highway.
I know they make money here, you would think they would put up some street light lining the road into the "resort".

Hotel room is just standard. But you get a robe and slippers for each person. These seem to be used and rewashed. Now I dont know about you , but I am not wearing slippers someone else's feet were in, even if they are washed. It's not like they are bowling shoes. Yuuck.
Bed was standard, nothing really to write home about. No microwave, no refrigerator, small coffee maker. They do have room service if you want to pay the extra 10 dollar service fee to have them bring it to your room. They waive the charge if you come pick it up.
This hotel is two years old but already you can see some abuses taken by previous tenants in the rooms with cig burns on walls, and desks. Some graffiti in the side drawers of the desks.
It is a long walk from the elevator of the hotels to get to the casino area. Pool was closed for repairs when were were there.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doctormud2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

I can tell you that checking in did take a little longer than expected, but we there at a busy time so they were doing the best they could. From the moment we pulled up to the valet stand we were instantly greeted by a valet named JOE, he was great, super helpful he quickly helped us get our luggage and stored it while we waited to check-in. After we got in to our room I called the front desk to bring up our luggage JOE was right there within ten minutes he even gave us some very helpful tips on the skiing conditions.
I called the valet in the morning the following day to bring up the car so we could head to the mountain. When we walked out the front door our vehicle was ready to go. I have been to many resorts and the service we received from CARL the valet was unbelievable, he gave us awesome service and very helpful driving conditions as it was snowing. After our day skiing we dropped off our vehicle and CARL was still working as we exited the vehicle he said " Welcome back MR. McGarry how was the skiing today" . Top notch customer service from CARL and JOE. We skied for four days and every day we were referred to by last name, both my wife and I. Great job guys....
One of the nights we went to WENDLYS for dinner. Our servers name was JARON he was superb, great food, great service. After dinner we went to go and sit by the fire and have some drinks, JARON continued to take care up us by bringing our drinks and dessert over, so we could sit fireside and have dessert and cocktails. So we sat for a while and had some drinks, I had left my credit card in the receipt booklet not noticing, my wife had left her six hundred dollar COACH handbag at our dinner table. JARON came running over MR and MRS McGarry you left your card in the booklet and your wife left her purse. Above and beyond service. Great service JARON!!

I would recommend this The Inn of The Mountain Gods to EVERYONE!!! We will be back as soon as we get some more vacation time. GREAT JOB GUYS....

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shinobi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mescalero
2.7 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
4.5 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
201 reviews
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites - Ruidoso Hwy 70
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino

Address: 287 Carrizo Canyon Rd, Mescalero, NM 88340-9641
Location: United States > New Mexico > Mescalero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mescalero
Price Range: $104 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE A RESORT AND CASINO THAT IS ABOVE AND BEYOND. New Mexico’s premier mountain resort awaits with impeccable service, mouthwatering cuisine for every palate, incredible gaming action, and breathtaking alpine scenery to nurture your soul. Situated high in the picturesque mountains of Mescalero, New Mexico just outside of Ruidoso, guests return time and time again to Inn of the Mountain Gods to enjoy the clean mountain air, stunning panoramic views, and exciting entertainment options. Upon your arrival, you’ll be greeted by a stunning lobby featuring a sweeping view of the snowcapped mountains, lake and championship golf course. Guests have come to expect all of the little extras that come standard here at Inn of the Mountain Gods. From the moment you arrive, you’ll be enchanted by original works of art throughout the property, roaring fireplaces in the lobby, and a tranquil setting that makes the everyday world feel a million miles away. Beyond that, discover an endless variety of activities, entertainment and escapes to make it a getaway you’ll never forget. 273 LUXURY ROOMS AND SUITES, NUMEROUS DINING OPTIONS FROM A SIGNATURE STEAK AND SEAFOOD RESTAURANT TO A SCRUMPTIOUS BUFFET, 40,000 SQUARE FEET OF MEETING SPACE, 38,000 SQUARE FOOT CASINO, INDOOR POOL, A FULLY EQUIPPED WORKOUT FACILITY, SKIING AND SNOWBOARDING, 18 HOLE CHAMPIONSHIP GOLF COURSE, BIG GAME HUNTING, SKEET SHOOTING, HORSEBACK RIDING, FISHING, GONDOLA RIDES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Mountain Gods Hotel Mescalero
Hotel Of The Mountain Gods
Mountain Gods Inn
Inn Mountain Gods
Mountain Gods Hotel
Of The Mountain Gods Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing