We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wendells at the Inn of the Mtn. Gods”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mescalero
fort worth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wendells at the Inn of the Mtn. Gods”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2006

Please do not waste your money going to this one! What a waste of 400.00. We did not even order an appetizer b/c the appetizers did not look at all like appetizers and were pretty much full meals. I had a ribeye that was cold and they have a so called chef that walks around and makes sure that everything is ok and the 4 of us all said that we were not complaining but that the food was cold. This was after the first couple of bites. He told us that he would make sure and tell the kitchen. He did not even offer to take the food back and heat it up. There are just too many restaurants like the Texas Club in Ruidoso where you don't have to waste your money at this one.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank texan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    251
    128
    82
    86
See reviews for
220
360
21
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2006

We spent $300/night for a filthy room. This was supposedly their second from the top room. The balconies were covered with bird droppings. I complained to the front desk about it and the fact that it was a health hazard and their response was "We can give you a comment card to fill out.". I was floored! There was no offer to clean it up. The carpet was full of large stains, The funiture had stains all over it, one of the sinks in the master bath had a leak with all kinds of nasty stuff on the floor from it. The bed was the worst that we have ever slept in that sagged so severely in the center, we kept rolling inward and the head of the mattress was about 6 inches lower than the foot. We used the grossly stained throw pillows from the room between the mattress and boxspring to make it sleepable. The hot tub was broken and the drive way to the front of the hotel was torn up so we had to carry our luggage up from the parking garage. When we asked to check out early, we were told that we still had to pay since it was less than 24hr notice. The first night there we ate at the over priced buffet ($18.50/adult) and had a horrible waiter who ignored us on multiple occasions when asked for drink refills and to take away used plates. I'll take Golden Corral any day over this buffet. None of the staff smiled at this place. The only friendly staff we found was at the boathouse. When I checked out, the gal at the front desk said about 10 words to me and none of them were to the effect of how our stay was. We were in absolute awe at the lack of care and quality of this place for $300/night. We have stayed at cleaner and friendlier $50/night hotels. This place gets a major thumbs down, don't waste your money. Got to one of the hotels in Ruidoso.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mescalero hotels

Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2006

My family and my parents stayed at the renovated Inn of the Mountain Gods in 2005 and were very impressed. I then suggested to my brothers that we surprise my parents with a family reunion there in May 2006 as a gift.

This second trip was a disappointment in every sense. The reservations, made long in advance, were simply ignored and the only way for our families to have rooms close to each other was to accept smoking rooms. Reservations made for Wendalls restaurant were forgotten, room service for a bottle of champagne was botched up, etc., etc.

Worst was the attitude of the staff at checkout. There were sympathetic nods from the desk clerk, with no comment, in the vein of "yes, we screwed you around royally, didn't we?" When I asked to see a manager that person was not to be found. I asked for contact information and sent a letter of complaint a day or two later, asking that I receive a letter of acknowledgement of the problem. It's now almost July 2006 and there has been no acknowledgement.

Customer service at the Inn in years past has been notoriously poor, and our trip in 2005 found EXCEPTIONAL customer service! We just have been there at the same time as the owners, because I am afraid that the old attitudes have returned to the Inn. Pity. It is a pretty facility and a beautiful location.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Rico3201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs Village, AR
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2006

We had really looked forward to our stay at Inn of the Mountain Gods and were very disappointed. Our room was so dusty that if I ran my hand over anything, great big dust bunnies would form. We had a King Superior room, but there was nothing superior about it. The tub was the smallest tub I have ever seen. The shower head was so corroded that only half the holes allowed water to come through. The balcony did afford us a nice view of the lake and mountains.

For a AAA four diamond resort it was a disgrace. The windows in Wendalls, the nice restaurant, were very dirty with bird poop on every window looking out over the lake and mountains. The windows in the atrium were even dirtier. There were seats lined up facing the mountains where one could sit and admire the scenery and watch the sunset. Problem was, that when the sun started setting, the rays shining on the windows revealed so much dirt that one could hardly see the mountains through the dirt!!

The casino didn't allow anyone to have an alcoholic beverage in it. But they sure didn't mind the smoking. That was the poorest ventilated casino I have ever been in. When you walk in the front door of the hotel, you can smell the smoke reeking out of the casino. When you get in the casino, it is almost unbearable. When they renovated, they should have done something about their ventilation system.

We definitely will NOT return.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auntjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2006

After reading some of the other reviews, I can't believe that we are all talking about the same place. Inn of the Mountain Gods is a very beautiful hotel. When walking into the lobby for the first time, the view of the lake and mountains through the huge picture window is breathtaking! Our room was very nice, spacious, clean and comfortable. The only thing that I'd wished that we had was a lake view room. The casino was fun but didn't win there. The restaurants were nice and food was good. Wendell's lounge overlooking the lake was really neat... with soft, comfortable chairs, and when the piano was playing in the evening, it was very romantic. Lots of great artwork everywhere. There was construction going on in the parking lot areas but it didn't bother us once inside the hotel, or outside by the lake. This is a real mountain get-a-way. We loved it with the cool evenings and the aroma of pine trees. It seems to have something for everyone with the golf course, horseback riding, skiing, casino, etc. I would highly recommend this hotel. We will absolutely go back.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Likes3StarsorBetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2006

My husband and I took the drive out to Mescalero for Valentine's Day and stayed at the Inn. The non-smoking superior king room we reserved seemed nice until we returned to it just before dinner, when we began hearing a loud cyclic rumbling noise in the walls. We went back to the front desk to ask if the noise was temporary but the clerk insisted he would change our room. He did. He moved us into a "smoking" room at the other end of the building. We were a bit exasperated by now and very hungry so we left the balcony door open to air out the room. After returning to the room late that evening to shower, the drain in the tub wasn't working well. By the time we finished our 7 minute shower, the water was up to our ankles. Most of the employees were courteous and pleasant however there were a few that seemed to, unfortunately, have attitudes saved specifically for their caucasion guests.
Also, as another reviewer stated, the lake is beautiful but it would be nice to walk around the entire lake, which has not been made possible.
The food (we only ate in the Buffet) appeared pleasantly displayed, an excellent variety and most everything was better than what you get at a Golden Coral or Sizzler's. Of course, you're paying a bit more at the Inn.
The most aggravating thing occured as we were leaving. We had parked our brand new MBZ in their courtesy parking garage only to find it covered with what appeared to be rusty water that had apparently leaked all over our car from an overhead system.
It looks like this place jumped the gun a bit and opened a bit before they should have. The new INN is a nice structure in a great location.
This Inn, indeed, has the potential to be a 5 Star rated Inn, and could easily be achieved with a concerted effort on the part of the management team and staff. In which case, their facility would then be worth their current rates.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank parnellijoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2006

I thought it was a beautiful resort & casino, but some of the staff had attitude. Customers should be treated with courtesy and respect. Other than the attitude, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mescalero
4.5 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
2.7 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 23 in Ruidoso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ruidoso Mountain Inn
Ruidoso Mountain Inn
#10 of 23 in Ruidoso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino

Property: Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
Address: 287 Carrizo Canyon Rd, Mescalero, NM 88340-9641
Location: United States > New Mexico > Mescalero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mescalero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE A RESORT AND CASINO THAT IS ABOVE AND BEYOND. New Mexico’s premier mountain resort awaits with impeccable service, mouthwatering cuisine for every palate, incredible gaming action, and breathtaking alpine scenery to nurture your soul. Situated high in the picturesque mountains of Mescalero, New Mexico just outside of Ruidoso, guests return time and time again to Inn of the Mountain Gods to enjoy the clean mountain air, stunning panoramic views, and exciting entertainment options. Upon your arrival, you’ll be greeted by a stunning lobby featuring a sweeping view of the snowcapped mountains, lake and championship golf course. Guests have come to expect all of the little extras that come standard here at Inn of the Mountain Gods. From the moment you arrive, you’ll be enchanted by original works of art throughout the property, roaring fireplaces in the lobby, and a tranquil setting that makes the everyday world feel a million miles away. Beyond that, discover an endless variety of activities, entertainment and escapes to make it a getaway you’ll never forget. 273 LUXURY ROOMS AND SUITES, NUMEROUS DINING OPTIONS FROM A SIGNATURE STEAK AND SEAFOOD RESTAURANT TO A SCRUMPTIOUS BUFFET, 40,000 SQUARE FEET OF MEETING SPACE, 38,000 SQUARE FOOT CASINO, INDOOR POOL, A FULLY EQUIPPED WORKOUT FACILITY, SKIING AND SNOWBOARDING, 18 HOLE CHAMPIONSHIP GOLF COURSE, BIG GAME HUNTING, SKEET SHOOTING, HORSEBACK RIDING, FISHING, GONDOLA RIDES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Mountain Gods Hotel Mescalero
Hotel Of The Mountain Gods
Mountain Gods Inn
Inn Mountain Gods
Mountain Gods Hotel
Of The Mountain Gods Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing