We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mescalero
Lubbock
Level Contributor
207 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Love This Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This review is specifically about the Big Game Sports Bar. The first night we tried to go it was so crowded we didn't stay but at a snack bar set up in the hall way. We waited out the crowd the following night and am so glad we did. My friend had an elk burger which she said was cooked perfectly, juicy and tasty. I went with a fried chicken salad that was huge, fresh and very good. The food highlight thought was the fried portabella mushrooms. The nose was excessive but expected since we got a luckily got a table in the last five minutes of the game. People especially one girl were screaming at the TVs, at one another and then cheering when their team won. Nice and quiet when they left...lol Gaming can be done seated at the bar, that is pretty fun actually. Be prepared to wait as seated is very limited. The outdoor patio was not open for seating but it would have made a nice place for anyone just wanted to eat, not watch one of the numerous TVs. I'll go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trickstersawpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    220
    115
    73
    77
See reviews for
180
319
17
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We try to visit the Inn every summer when the temps climb up to 100 degrees. It is only a 2 hour drive and very relaxing and pretty get-a-way. Usually have dinner at Wendall's restaurant and play 18 holes on golf on the course connected to the Inn.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the lake as they have a small balcony that you sit out on and just relax and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We had a King deluxe room with living room attached. The room smelled like septic we constantly complained to maintenance and nothing was done. The carpet was filthy and wallpaper was peeling from the walls. Housekeeping did not clean the room completely and we had to recall them to the room two out of four days. Service was horrible. This is overrated and overpriced. We would not stay here again. The desk staff is rude as well. When we tried to resolve our issues we kept getting a run around and no one seems to be in charge. They just kept pressing us off to someone else with no authority or leadership. Poor management.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Frogtrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mescalero hotels

Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Every aspect was excellent! We chose the hotel for location, and hoped that the casino would not be overpowering...not to worry! Hotel was gracious, beautiful, and almost serene. Buffet meals were modestly priced, delicious, and the space was well suited to the number of diners. Overall, the two-night stay was a great value!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanMarie112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is run by the Apache Indians in the beautiful Ruidoso, NM area. The scenery is breathtaking, and the resort is lovely. The area is very special; sacred to the Apache's. There is much to do here; lots of galleries, crafts, and entertainment.

Room Tip: The suites are worth it, higher up and corner ones area quitter. The view is better on the right si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We went mid week in May and got a great rate. The room was beautiful, our reservation was for mountain view but they upgraded us to lake view. The buffet was very good, senior rate starts at age 55 for an additional discount. Get the "players card" from the casino ( it's free) for additional resort discounts. There is a paved walking/fitness trail beginning at the resort which is 3.1 miles one way. Beautiful indoor pool, hot tub, steam room, and sauna. Only missing an outdoor pool. We extended our stay one night when they offered. $49 rate to stay one more night.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gertper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

In the past 3 years my husband and I enjoyed staying for at this resort because of the beauty of its location and the Native American community who operate it.

Sadly, the quality of service for hotel guests and maintenance have deteriorated. We were celebrating our anniversary and my husband was golfing on their golf course for a charity event and had an early start to tee off so we decided to stay two days here. Never again!! The check-in clerk was rude, indifferent and very unprofessional in her behavior towards us. We requested in advance for a room to be reserved at the top floor and, in celebration of our anniversary, asked if we could receive a complimentary upgrade. We received quite a rude response which was, "Well, you are getting mountain view on the sixth floor. It'll cost you $20 more each day for an upgrade for a lake view." We decided to go with the room she assigned us only to check back to the desk because the windows were so filthy that you could not see the mountain view and it was more of the view of the front entrance of the resort with a road to look out to with cars going to and fro - not quite a picturesque view. When we went back to the desk to let them know the windows were filthy we were assisted by another desk clerk who apologized for the behavior of the other clerk who was rude and reiterated that it will be $20 for an upgrade. She assigned us a room on the seventh floor and the windows were in better condition but we only had a small view of a mountain and a big view of the hotel entrance of guests going in and out.

We dined at the Gathering of Nations Buffet and the food was of poor quality. We did not dine again there. Also, the king size bed was very lumpy with thin pillows so we did not sleep very well for two nights straight. Overall, our stay here was horrible. A few years back it was well managed with caring and hospitable staff but now it is a shame to see that no longer exists at this resort. We do not recommend to staying here as a result of what we experienced - we would not wish it on anybody. The smell of cigarettes in the lobby, corridors and entrance did not help either. Some serious management and retraining of staff is needed at this resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Castlemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mescalero
4.5 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Suites
2.7 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#3 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
4.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ruidoso Downs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino

Property: Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
Address: 287 Carrizo Canyon Rd, Mescalero, NM 88340-9641
Location: United States > New Mexico > Mescalero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mescalero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE A RESORT AND CASINO THAT IS ABOVE AND BEYOND. New Mexico’s premier mountain resort awaits with impeccable service, mouthwatering cuisine for every palate, incredible gaming action, and breathtaking alpine scenery to nurture your soul. Situated high in the picturesque mountains of Mescalero, New Mexico just outside of Ruidoso, guests return time and time again to Inn of the Mountain Gods to enjoy the clean mountain air, stunning panoramic views, and exciting entertainment options. Upon your arrival, you’ll be greeted by a stunning lobby featuring a sweeping view of the snowcapped mountains, lake and championship golf course. Guests have come to expect all of the little extras that come standard here at Inn of the Mountain Gods. From the moment you arrive, you’ll be enchanted by original works of art throughout the property, roaring fireplaces in the lobby, and a tranquil setting that makes the everyday world feel a million miles away. Beyond that, discover an endless variety of activities, entertainment and escapes to make it a getaway you’ll never forget. 273 LUXURY ROOMS AND SUITES, NUMEROUS DINING OPTIONS FROM A SIGNATURE STEAK AND SEAFOOD RESTAURANT TO A SCRUMPTIOUS BUFFET, 40,000 SQUARE FEET OF MEETING SPACE, 38,000 SQUARE FOOT CASINO, INDOOR POOL, A FULLY EQUIPPED WORKOUT FACILITY, SKIING AND SNOWBOARDING, 18 HOLE CHAMPIONSHIP GOLF COURSE, BIG GAME HUNTING, SKEET SHOOTING, HORSEBACK RIDING, FISHING, GONDOLA RIDES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Mountain Gods Hotel Mescalero
Hotel Of The Mountain Gods
Mountain Gods Inn
Inn Mountain Gods
Mountain Gods Hotel
Of The Mountain Gods Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing