We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mescalero
Rome, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very poor customer service”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I am currently at the Inn and will be here 2 more nights. I agree with others that the service is very poor. I stopped at the expensive restaurant and the woman at the desk did not acknowledge me. I asked for a menu and she handed it to me without a word or even a smile. I received a similar response from the woman at the buffet desk. She answered my questions but was not at all friendly.
They really lack good customer service here.

Room Tip: If you have a special request (adjoining rooms, lake view) be sure to ask to speak to a manager prio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel60817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    263
    132
    82
    90
See reviews for
233
372
22
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent a couple of days with our grand kids at the Inn. Had a good time, but when at came time to go to bed, could not believe the condition of the pillows and mattresses. They must have been left overs from the old building.....just BAD. Paid for a upscale room, wouldn't want to see the other. Just a note....spent a weekend at the Rt 66 Hotel, I would take their bedding home with me. Was the difference between black and white..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Nebraska
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

First, the staff was great but very soft spoken and quiet mannered as is typical with American Indians. Secondly, we are not gamblers so the casino was of no interest. Got there at 3:00 on Tuesday and there were 2 people at the desk and 9 in line. Finally another agent came. There appeared to be a line until at least 6:00. Room was clean and okay. Nothing to rave about except a large bathroom. Ate at Sports Bar add ordered Buffalo Wings. Normally Sports Bars are the best place to get wings. Wings came with a wings were normal fried chicken with a little plastic container that was about 6 drops of Louisianan Hot Sauce to color it, and the rest vinegar. I just ask for some Tabasco Sauce to pretend it was Buffalo Sauce. $8.00. Wife orders a Green Chile Cheeseburger. No diced or sliced green chilis, just a green chili "sauce". IN NEW MEXICO! $9.00. 1 Waitress and the place was full! Very limited beer selection with 4 drafts. In a sports bar! Told us the "Resort Fee" was $10.00 in an email, but it was $20.00 when we looked at the bill. Called three times and wouldn't get anyone. Will see hoe they respond when I don't pay the credit card bill. If you gamble it may be a different story, otherwise find a different place.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mescalero hotels

Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel room was clean and comfortable.









Hotel room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel room was clean and comfortable. Bed was excellent - very comfortable. View of lake and mountains from the patio was beautiful. I would recommend this property.

Room Tip: Stay at Inn of the Mountain Gods, but don't eat at Wendel's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Visited Inn Of The Mountain Gods with my family, this was our first time. Our first impression was good as the lobby and hotel facility is quite nice. Our second impression? Not so good. Upon checking in at 02:45 pm we were told our room was not ready and that check-in is at 03:00 pm. We were also told to come back in 30min to check in AGAIN after waiting in line for a long time. All this was told to us in a matter-of-fact tone by the receptionist by the name of Chris.
We met friends at the hotel so we ended up checking in an hour later. We spoke to a different receptionist who was much nicer and actually told us the hotel was over-booked. Later that night we took our kids to the pool to swim. When we arrived we were told the pool was temporarily closed and the maintenance crew was changing a light inside the pool. We waited about 45m and then we were told it was ok to get in the pool. After about an hour of pool play my son cut his foot on a piece of glass that was left behind by the maintenance crew. He consequently cut his finger trying to retrieve the piece of glass. We informed the pool-manager and were told we should receive a call from the hotel-manager the next day. When we checked out at 3:00 pm the next day we still had not received any phone calls. We explained our experience to the concierge and asked for the hotel-manager. We were told we needed to fill out and incident report so we ended up talking to hotel-security, no hotel-manager yet. Security took our report and we asked for compensation. We were told we should receive yet another call from the hotel-manager and we can explain it to him/her. This took place on Aug 1st 2013. This review was written 10 days later and still no call from the folks at the Inn Of The Mountain Gods. Pretty disappointing, thus this poor review.
To those that read this review: caveat emptor! Be aware, the folks at Inn Of The Mountain Gods apparently don't care about the well-being of their customers and have no interest in making an unpleasant experience right to the customer.
To the hotel-manager at Inn Of The Mountain Gods if you should happen to read this review: you have just lost another customer and likely others as the power of word-of-mouth is at work with this review and anyone I speak to about my experience at Inn Of The Mountain Gods....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheLongTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel but played the slots & ate there. Casino is nice but a little small. We always eat at the Apache Tee for an early dinner (they close at 7PM).
The setting is just lovely surrounded by mountains. They have a great walking path across the road.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The Inn is a wonderful place to get away on a hot summer weekend. The view from the room is spectacular. The mountain is a picture perfect backdrop to a golf oasis. The pine trees give you a feel of cool weather.
While the rooms are well maintained, it would be nice if the other furniture are also cleaned. The desk and chairs were dusty.
Room tip: Ask to be booked in the rooms toward the middle or one that is numbered with the last 2 digits as 45-47. We got room 601 and the view of the mountain and the golf range, the lagoon was partially blocked by a wall.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mescalero
2.7 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
4.5 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#3 of 23 in Ruidoso
189 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites - Ruidoso Hwy 70
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino

Property: Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
Address: 287 Carrizo Canyon Rd, Mescalero, NM 88340-9641
Location: United States > New Mexico > Mescalero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mescalero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE A RESORT AND CASINO THAT IS ABOVE AND BEYOND. New Mexico’s premier mountain resort awaits with impeccable service, mouthwatering cuisine for every palate, incredible gaming action, and breathtaking alpine scenery to nurture your soul. Situated high in the picturesque mountains of Mescalero, New Mexico just outside of Ruidoso, guests return time and time again to Inn of the Mountain Gods to enjoy the clean mountain air, stunning panoramic views, and exciting entertainment options. Upon your arrival, you’ll be greeted by a stunning lobby featuring a sweeping view of the snowcapped mountains, lake and championship golf course. Guests have come to expect all of the little extras that come standard here at Inn of the Mountain Gods. From the moment you arrive, you’ll be enchanted by original works of art throughout the property, roaring fireplaces in the lobby, and a tranquil setting that makes the everyday world feel a million miles away. Beyond that, discover an endless variety of activities, entertainment and escapes to make it a getaway you’ll never forget. 273 LUXURY ROOMS AND SUITES, NUMEROUS DINING OPTIONS FROM A SIGNATURE STEAK AND SEAFOOD RESTAURANT TO A SCRUMPTIOUS BUFFET, 40,000 SQUARE FEET OF MEETING SPACE, 38,000 SQUARE FOOT CASINO, INDOOR POOL, A FULLY EQUIPPED WORKOUT FACILITY, SKIING AND SNOWBOARDING, 18 HOLE CHAMPIONSHIP GOLF COURSE, BIG GAME HUNTING, SKEET SHOOTING, HORSEBACK RIDING, FISHING, GONDOLA RIDES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Mountain Gods Hotel Mescalero
Hotel Of The Mountain Gods
Mountain Gods Inn
Inn Mountain Gods
Mountain Gods Hotel
Of The Mountain Gods Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing