We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mescalero
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in August in a King room with a balcony overlooking the lake. We feel the extra cost for a balcony room to be well worth it. We enjoy sitting on the patio. The room and the bathroom were both very clean. The carpet looked new, the upholstered chair was in great shape, and the bedding was crisp, high quality, and freshly covered. The pillow top bed was comfortable, the pillows were plentiful and high quality. The other furniture in the room was in good repair as well.

I encountered housekeeping a couple of times and they were attentive and friendly each time.
I had no problem or line upon check in; we actually had 3 rooms under our reservation and they were all available. We checked in around 4:00. Our checkout was uneventful. The common areas were clean, and enjoyed the property as a whole.

We ate breakfast at Wendall's and had a good experience. We ate in the buffet and in the club house as well. Wendall's atmosphere is my favorite. I also enjoy the atmosphere in the piano bar. The views at sunset are extraordinary!

Though there is a casino on site, as others have noted, it is smoke filled! We played in the casino and had a good time as it is small but enjoyable. I wish the ventilation was better.

We enjoy this property very much. Though others complain of rude staff, I feel it is more of a cultural component in New Mexico. I see the behavior as being more quiet and not talking just to talk rather than being rude. I also have not personally encountered the issues with cleanliness other reviewers have spoken of.

This is our second stay at this property, and we will return as soon as we can get a few days sway. Our last stay was in the summer of 2011 and though I did not enter a review then, it would have been similar to this one.

Room Tip: Paying for a balcony or patio room is well worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SP243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
There are newer reviews for Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 872 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at full rate of $249 a night because of it being labor day weekend and everything is booked up. The hotel is nice and everything was clean. Grounds are beautiful. People were friendly and helpful. The big problem came on Sunday night with the crowd they invited for Labor Day weekend. Imagine yourself paying full price for use of the hotel and all it has to offer only to be invaded by the entire town of Ruidoso and all their kids roaming the halls and lobby and hogging up everything. Not good!! The hotel had this big party with bands, fireworks, jump houses, and all kinds of stuff that is free for all to come. They only had a few security folks visible and the place was a madhouse! People that didn't pay for their stay running around rampant and taking up all the parking and hogging up the pool. The casino and restaurants were so packed that we ended up leaving the hotel and going to town to eat dinner and go to another casino. We looked at each other and said "why did we pay $249 a night to stay here?". Why would a "resort" do something like this? Insanity! To be fair, if you took away the crowd issue then everything else was very nice. We had a nice room, staff was nice, and the beds were comfortable. We just won't be staying there again when they are expecting a crowd.

Room Tip: Definitely get the Superior room. For the extra $20 your view of the lake is spectacular
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidAleshaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

This is a casino resort, so it is smoky. You can gamble in the casino's smoke free room, but there are few machines and no Wheel of Fortune. However, the best place to get away and have a nice view is (inside or outside ) of the lounge at Wendall's. It is worth a stop.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank JoInTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent five nites. Good points were the overall scenery from the lobby, room was quiet, room's amenties were good, great housekeeping. Questionable points: room was small and no view for $139 per nite plus tax. The shower water pressure was very low. We had to double-tip the baggage attendants------one for unloading the bags onto a cart...a second attendant took the baggage to the room...total :$20. The food was pricy. The slots were tight, losses totaled $400.
All-in-all a learning experience. Next visit we will stay in Ruidoso and enjoy the day trips.

Room Tip: Select a room with a view and a balcony....more expensive
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marquisTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I don't understand why it is so difficult to make a reservation with this resort. I have been hung up on and transferred several times by the reservation department. In fact, when I spoke to Mary in reservations, she did not bother to listen to me regarding the discount code offer, she jumped to some other conclusion and transferred me to the front desk. Of course, they did not answer and I got a voicemail. So, when I tried calling back and asked the name of the reservationist, she would not provide me her name and dodged around answering that. After asking the second time, I was hung up on. So, I tried calling AGAIN. To my dismay, I was now on hold for over 14 minutes. When the girl finally answered the phone and I asked for her name, she transferred me to the front desk voicemail AGAIN!!! So, I attempted to contact management for the hotel. Well, guess what folks, the ONLY phone number for the hotel is the reservation line. So, I have had no choice but to leave a voicemail at the front desk and hope that someone in management actually listens to it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
4  Thank msroxycross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I recently stayed at the IMG for a 3 day business trip. The rooms were very nice and clean. The food was fantastic. The views were great. But for me, the tipping point was when I realized that I left a pendant in the room that I had bought for my wife. I called the resort on my drive out to my flight home and explained my plight. The dedicated employees of the IMG searched the room, the bedding and even the trash to locate my item. They ensured that it was sent back to me and arrived within days. I cannot express enough my gratitude for their staff's diligent work to get me back my gift for my wife. I highly recommend them for this. Thanks again for a great stay, and great dedication.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevemc1389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the on-site casino and do not like to drive after dark in the mountains given the area's large deer and elk population.
The property site is beautiful..lake,mountain, wide open sky.
It had been several years since my last stay here and I was a little surprised at the wear and tear that this property has suffered with little effort towards cosmetic fixes. Our room was large and nicely furnished except for the burn marks on the carpet( it was designated as a non-smoking room) and the missing stopper and broken faucet handle in the bathroom. Still, I have paid more at inferior properties.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miathecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mescalero
2.7 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
4.5 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
201 reviews
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites - Ruidoso Hwy 70
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino

Address: 287 Carrizo Canyon Rd, Mescalero, NM 88340-9641
Location: United States > New Mexico > Mescalero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mescalero
Price Range: $104 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE A RESORT AND CASINO THAT IS ABOVE AND BEYOND. New Mexico’s premier mountain resort awaits with impeccable service, mouthwatering cuisine for every palate, incredible gaming action, and breathtaking alpine scenery to nurture your soul. Situated high in the picturesque mountains of Mescalero, New Mexico just outside of Ruidoso, guests return time and time again to Inn of the Mountain Gods to enjoy the clean mountain air, stunning panoramic views, and exciting entertainment options. Upon your arrival, you’ll be greeted by a stunning lobby featuring a sweeping view of the snowcapped mountains, lake and championship golf course. Guests have come to expect all of the little extras that come standard here at Inn of the Mountain Gods. From the moment you arrive, you’ll be enchanted by original works of art throughout the property, roaring fireplaces in the lobby, and a tranquil setting that makes the everyday world feel a million miles away. Beyond that, discover an endless variety of activities, entertainment and escapes to make it a getaway you’ll never forget. 273 LUXURY ROOMS AND SUITES, NUMEROUS DINING OPTIONS FROM A SIGNATURE STEAK AND SEAFOOD RESTAURANT TO A SCRUMPTIOUS BUFFET, 40,000 SQUARE FEET OF MEETING SPACE, 38,000 SQUARE FOOT CASINO, INDOOR POOL, A FULLY EQUIPPED WORKOUT FACILITY, SKIING AND SNOWBOARDING, 18 HOLE CHAMPIONSHIP GOLF COURSE, BIG GAME HUNTING, SKEET SHOOTING, HORSEBACK RIDING, FISHING, GONDOLA RIDES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Mountain Gods Hotel Mescalero
Hotel Of The Mountain Gods
Mountain Gods Inn
Inn Mountain Gods
Mountain Gods Hotel
Of The Mountain Gods Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing