We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food”

The Mine Shaft Tavern
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Mine Shaft Tavern features New Mexican Roadhouse Cuisine & Live Music Every weekend! Award winning Green Chile CheeseBurgers, local Waygu Beef, handmade pizza and pasta. We also offer vegetarian items and great salads. Full bar with fresh squeezed Margarita's and 12 local Micro Brews on Tap! Outside dining available on our deck that overlooks the beautiful town of Madrid. Marid is famous for its Ghost Town past, now a revived art colony. Visit the adjacent "ghost town" museum & walk down Madrid's main street for a unique experience that only Madrid can offer!
El Paso, Texas
1 review
“good food”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

a great place to have beer,eat and hang out. the landscape the environment is great of you want to forget life for a while. if you are a writer or artist this is a great place to find your inspiration. and you your not you just might become one or the other.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jorge H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    150
    39
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“35 minutes out of Santa Fe rewards with delicious lunch, maybe live music too”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This former mine shaft now exists to serve day trippers the absolute best burgers and fries, including sweet potatoes to die for. On the weekends longer a bit longer cause the local musicians will have you dancing at your seat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobbiegailh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Good beer, good burger. Nice people, enjoyed my visit.
Nice place to talk and enjoy the people.


Good beer, good burger. Nice people, enjoyed my visit.
Nice place to talk and enjoy the people.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SurgeonMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Excellent pit stop”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We took the Turquoise trail (NM14) from Albuquerque to Santa Fe rather than the boring I-25, and had heard about this place from the staff at our motel.

Madrid is an arty town - was a ghost town follow ing the closure of the mines some 40 years ago - and there are lots of small shops selling trinkets, and one big pub restaurant.

There was a large beer selection - shame I was driving - and a good menu selection. We both chose bison burgers which were really good. Coffee was endless and all staff - esp our waitress - very friendly. The place was also really busy. We were told there is another good restaurant in the village (cannot call it a town) so plenty of good competition

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gloandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Nova de Milfontes
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Must do restaurant!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This must be one of the best restaurants in the US, if not New Mexico! Fantastic venue, Madrid was referred to by Peter Sarsted in his song about FrozenOrange Juice. This is indeed a must visit venue. However, back to the restaurant. Good solid American food with a New Mexican twist. The staff go out of their way to be helpful. This is a place of legend and we commend it to all readers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank caprontee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turqtrailnut, Manager at The Mine Shaft Tavern, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review!
We really strive to provide top quality New Mexican food and experiences for both our locals and tourist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mine Shaft Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Mine Shaft Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing