We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Las Vegas Home”
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Weymouth, England
1
Reviewed November 27, 2005

Have been staying at the Plaza most years from England for over 20 years, when visiting my sister in California. Love the relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. Always made very welcome and I feel very safe as a woman, even when playing in the early hours. Thank you Plaza, see you very soon. Pam Ellis

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 602 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Las Vegas, NV
12
Reviewed October 19, 2005

Lovely building; horrible staff! Beds were even worse! No concept of customer service whatsoever. Housekeeping forgot to empty trash twice; forgot to make up the roll-away once. We were booked for 6 nights; left after 3 nights. The staff was clearly inconvenienced by even the smallest queries (such as, "What time does the restaurant begin serving breakfast?"). I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2005

Room 102 must have one of the "additional four [which] took the place of the original restaurant kitchen on the 1st Floor." [hotels own website] during the 1982 renovation. The only window goes to the patio, which means very little light, and if you open the curtains the people who celebrate their 80th birthday look right into your room. Otherwise the room was absolutely huge, high ceilings and a big bathroom/wardrobe.

Wonderful atmosphere, but room 102 cannot really be recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gernereiserin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2005

The Plaza Hotel is just a really nice, comfortable, historic, clean, charming hotel right on the plaza. Very comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. Great brealfast at their dining room. Had huevos rancheros on blue corn tortillas with home froid potatoes and excellent coffee. Anyone has a problem with this establishment, such as having to park on the plaza or even half a block away, there must be something wrong with them. This is an authentic, un-yuppified or "Kountry Kute" town, so if you like the real thing, this is it. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank morphixnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2005

There are few hotels in Las Vegas that are worth mentioning, but this is one that by far exceeds the others.
The atmosphere could not be more perfect: a historic, renovated hotel on Las Vegas' historic plaza. My room was one of the largest I'd ever stayed in, even though it was the same price as a regular room. The room featured a free high-speed internet jack, even though the hotel also had wireless internet throughout. My window was over a quiet street corner, and the decor was consistent with that of historic hotels I had stayed in in the past. Downstairs, there was a restaurant and a bar, which, although nice, had a disappointing selection of beers on tap.
The only complaint I would offer is about the parking. There is limited street parking around the plaza, as well as a few spaces behind the building, which is where I parked. The staff will direct you towards the diagonal spaces in front of the police station about 1/2 block away.
As for the previous, more negative reviews, I would offer that Las Vegas is NOT Santa Fe or Taos. Do not expect a luxury hotel. Instead, expect a historic hotel in the vein of the real Old West.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank colinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2005

The hotel itself is old and historic and the rooms are interesting. There is even a "ghost" supposedly. The hotel staff were the biggest problem. There was only one front desk person that was helpful and friendly and he worked in the evenings. The rest of the hotel personnel were rude, difficult and incompetent. It made the whole stay not worth the time. The restaurant had great food if you did not order room service. That was inconsistent in quality. The location was okay though, convenient and lovely setting. Parking is horrible. You have to park on the street and hope no one hits your car or breaks into it and that is a real concern or you can park in the police parking lot a few block away and walk. If you are handicapped you will have a problem. I will not stay there again.

12  Thank dakotaturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2004

I loved its location on the quaint town square. Las Vegas itself seems to be a bit down on its luck, but it's a cute town and a good hotel. My room was in the newer section and i think they're nicer, more charming in the new section. Friendly staff.

6  Thank SaiSai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 8 in Las Vegas
411 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Montezuma Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Las Vegas
Days Inn Las Vegas
#6 of 8 in Las Vegas
347 reviews
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Las Vegas
Super 8 Las Vegas
#1 of 8 in Las Vegas
1,269 reviews
1.6 mi away
Regal Motel
Regal Motel
#8 of 8 in Las Vegas
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Address: 230 Plaza St, Las Vegas, NM 87701-3433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range: $98 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finest historic hotel (1882) and fine dining in Northern New Mexico, overlooking the beautiful Plaza Park. This is the only hotel in downtown historic Las Vegas - once the biggest and richest city in New Mexico, with 1000+ historic buildings! Purchased in 2014 by owners of the legendary La Posada in Winslow AZ, the Plaza Hotel is receiving a top-to-bottom upgrade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing