We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Las Vegas”
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Great place. We had one of the 4 premium suites on the 2nd floor corner in the main old section. The bedroom was huge with 2 queen beds, 2 desks, a coffeemaker, 3 sets of tall windows looking out onto the leafy green Plaza & more windows looking out onto the side street with its own historic buildings. The separate sitting room with couch, love seat & coffee table is the room you walk into from the hallway. It was a great place to sit with the laptop & finish planning our sightseeing. We had no problem with the wifi signal. The bathroom was roomy but has one of those light timers. I set it for the max while I was in the shower, but still had that moment of bewilderment when I found myself suddenly in the dark. Had to step out of the shower then open the door & reset it. Funny old relic. The front desk was helpful & the free breakfast in the restaurant the next morning was basic, decent fare (eggs, bacon, potatoes, your choice of bread & hot beverage). The restaurant also looks out onto the plaza, a nice place to drink your tea, read the paper & occasionally glance out the tall windows. The old main street begins on the other side of the plaza, a nice stroll. I recommend a drive out to Montezuma's Castle. You can't go in, but you can snap a shot of it & drive around campus to the 'prism chapel' which is open to the public if you check in with the visitor's centre. Just bordering that is the hot springs bath house, which is also open to the public altho we didn't partake. The low-mountain setting amongst the (pinon & juniper?) trees is nice. We didn't have time, but nextime I'd love to go see the old unrestored train station/Harvey House. I've seen pics online & it's an impressive building.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationveterans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 587 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2009

If you've seen one chain hotel, you've seen them all. Why stay in such a setting, when you can get the same (or better) amenities and services at the one-of-a-kind Plaza Hotel, which has antique furniture and staircases, a historic in-house bar and restaurant, and a staff that bends over backwards to serve you.

I travel to Las Vegas frequently on business and would not dream of staying anywhere else. Although the staff and setting are a return to an earlier, more gracious period of hospitality, the services and amenities are totally modern--high-speed Internet, business services, large and small conferences rooms, a ball room, a gym, etc.
If you're a tourist, this place is like walking into another era. It is a fantastic way to change gears and get into the mood of being on vacation--whether for a day or a week. I've checked around, and surprisingly (considering its high quality), the Plaza's rates are competitive with everything else in town.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MizS_108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Saw an ad while in Santa Rosa & decided to stay in LV a night, Wish we had known more about it and we would have stayed longer. We were in the hotel addition (also historic) our room was beautiful Flast screen TV and beautiful marble bathroom, histroic looking furniture and a real comfy bed, maybe a little too soft. The old downtown plaza was worthy of a evening stroll. We followed along a walking tour which gives the history of various buildings. The hotel breakfast (included) was a made to order breakfast, We ordered a side of ham, very delicious. The next day on our way out of town, we visited the local Museum (free) which had nice collection of Teddy Roosevelt memrobilia, the Rough Riders apparently held reunions in Las Vegas. Also, worth a drive to view Montezuma's Castle, once a lush resort for the RR rich, now a school. Definetly worth a trip back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccsunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Great historic hotel. The hotel and many of the buildings in the town are from the early railroad era -- a period that we tend to forget in New Mexico with all our emphasis on Pueblo and Mission revival architecture.

But Las Vegas is different -- this was the New Mexican of the Wild West with Billy the Kid and hangings right on the plaza.

It so authentic that portions of a lot of movies have been shot here. You may recognize it.

They have done a great job restoring with an eye to quality and authenticity. The staff is friendly and helpful. I can't recommend it more highly.

Well you are there you will find right on the plaza:

A great "Rock Art" shop with jewelry, art, and yes, rocks.
A weaving facility with the artists demoing their work.
A great little consignment antique store.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S0uthwesternTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

After several trips to New Mexico we were looking for someplace different and luckily we saw an article in Budget Travel magazine that mentioned Las Vegas, NM, and the Plaza Hotel so we decided to go there and we are glad we did. Las Vegas is an interesting city full of history and hundreds of historic buildings, both commercial and residential. The Plaza Hotel is one of them. Located on the plaza, naturally, the hotel dates back to 1882 and it's been meticulously restored. We noticed that they've recently expanded into an adjoining building and paid the same attention to historic detail. Our room on the side of the building was large, comfortable and clean. Apparently the larger suites are on the front overlooking the plaza. Even with the downtown location, noise was not a problem. Parking is on the street in front of the hotel or in a lot they share with the police department, but it was not a problem either.

The staff of the hotel and its bar and restaurant went out of their way to be helpful and attentive to requests, and with one exception, a breakfast waitress who clearly is not a morning person, were quite friendly. We ate in both the bar and the restaurant and the food was good. The restaurant menu is available in the bar along with a smaller bar menu. Our dinners the first evening in the restaurant were quite large, so we opted for lighter meals in the bar the second evening. Decent complimentary breakfasts were served in the restaurant.

My only complaint is that they list high speed wireless internet access as an amenity, but the signal was so weak in our room and the speed so slow, that I had to go to the lobby to use my computer. The hotel provides a computer for guest use, but there's no printer so It's not very useful for tasks like printing boarding passes.

Besides a self-guided walking tour around the plaza (start at the historic preservation center) and historic shopping district (which includes a great independent bookstore, Tome on the Range), there are driving tours of other historic areas of Las Vegas. Nearby are also Fort Union National Historic Monument and Pecos National Historic Park, both worth visiting.

Las Vegas, NM, is one of those places that most people who vacation in New Mexico probably don't think of visiting. Like us prior to this trip, they probably stick with Albuquerque, Santa Fe and Taos. We were pleased that we broadened our view of the state and went there and stayed at the Plaza Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glennr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We recently stayed at the Las Vegas Plaza on a weekend getway. The Plaza has long been a favorite of ours, and we were pleased to see that the new rooms that they've added are in keeping with the standards of the original hotel. The service in the restaurant was quite acceptable, and I noticed some new things on the menu, too. It's obvious that the owners are working hard to keep this property updated and modernized, and I would urge anyone visiting Las Vegas to skip the cookie-cutter newer hotels and take a step back in time at the Plaza.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnJSmallwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

The best feature: The restaurant had good, affordable breakfasts, and the Saloon seemed lively at night.

The worst feature:
We were put in Room 102, which has no windows, save for a window that looks into a dining room (yes, you can hear diners' conversations when you are in this room, and yes they can see into your room if your curtains are open). This is a room that should be used for something like storage or a meeting, not for people to stay in. It was a depressing room that made you not want to be there. Disabled travelers should know that this room is one of the rooms that is equipped for them. There may be other rooms equipped for disabled folks -- we hope so.

We saw some of the other rooms, the ones with windows overlooking the plaza in Las Vegas. Sure wish we could have been put there!

Also: The hotel was preparing for a NYE party and was rushing to do construction to get everything done. That didn't stop them from doing construction at 6:30 in the morning on a Sunday! So much for sleeping in. Same thing happened, starting at 7:30am on Monday morning. And the fact that the construction seemed to be over by 3pm (which is when check-in begins) made us wonder...

A hotel with unrealized potential: The Plaza has all the right elements to be great. It could be very pretty and there is no doubt about its historic qualities. The Plaza should be spectacular. It just isn't quite yet.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDynamicDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdabc123, Director of Sales at Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2009

I would like to address your issues that you had while staying at our hotel. Yes, there are some rooms during constructions that hotels should not rent. However with only 37 rooms to rent we were full house on the day of your arrival. The room in which you were assigned is a "last Sell" room. I am sorry that you received that room during your stay. It is currently our only ADA room (were are adding 6 more in the addition) and the room in which you stayed may be put into a storage room or small meeting room. I hope the rest of your stay was an enjoyable one and you will come back and see us when the addional hotel is complete (March 2009) and give us another chance to show you our hotels true Hospitality adn the way we do buisness. Ask for me and I will get you the best upgrade available! See you soon and Happy New Year!
Troy Denison
Director of Sales
Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Montezuma Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 8 in Las Vegas
396 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Las Vegas
Days Inn Las Vegas
#6 of 8 in Las Vegas
336 reviews
68.3 mi away
Super 8 Las Vegas
Super 8 Las Vegas
#1 of 8 in Las Vegas
1,237 reviews
1.1 mi away
Knights Inn Las Vegas NM
Knights Inn Las Vegas NM
#7 of 8 in Las Vegas
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Address: 230 Plaza St, Las Vegas, NM 87701-3433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range: $98 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finest historic hotel (1882) and fine dining in Northern New Mexico, overlooking the beautiful Plaza Park. This is the only hotel in downtown historic Las Vegas - once the biggest and richest city in New Mexico, with 1000+ historic buildings! Purchased in 2014 by owners of the legendary La Posada in Winslow AZ, the Plaza Hotel is receiving a top-to-bottom upgrade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing