We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wedding at The Historic Plaza.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Melrose, New Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wedding at The Historic Plaza.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I books the ballroom at the Plaza for our wedding. We loved the location and the ambiance if the hotel. The staff were wonderful and accommodating and the food was absolutely amazing. We did our rehearsal dinner, reception and brunch/gift opening at the hotel and everything was top notch. The whole experience was perfect. If you have an event in the Las Vegas area the plaza can help you make it awesome.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pete37997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    141
    34
    16
    18
See reviews for
100
177
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed here on our trip from Albuquerque to Colorado. Great location on the plaza and easy to park. Sean booked us a room with a view and plenty of food recommendations. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel which had plenty of historic character and charm. My only recommendation would be to upgrade the pillows on the beds. I believe a great pillow makes for an amazing nights sleep which equals very happy guests.

Room Tip: Choose a room that overlooks the Plaza Courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMA24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is an historic missed opportunity. The new owner needs to get his staff in hand. They can collect the money, but come up short on service. The day staff at the front desk is sullen and rude and has no authority to solve problems. The manager was on vacation and apparently the assistant manager likes three day weekends starting on Friday and never follows up with guests. Our room was not made up on Friday and there was just one person in charge of the entire hotel on Friday night and, bless his heart, he was on crutches! Security was non-existent. Amenities you thought you were paying for--forget about it. Save yourself the trouble and stay at the Comfort in town.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay, request a room away from the plaza. We were awakened Saturday morning at 8 am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fossil, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Had the misfortune of booking this hotel gor a 50th high school reunion. We confirmed our reservation 3 times. Upon arrival we where given an interior room with a view of 3 exterior walls even though we had a reservation for a room overlooking the plaza. This not only happened to us but 3 other couples attending the reunion. We all went to other area hotels. In the room we where given there are dead flies on the couch, a dirty stained carpet and a 20 inch flat screen Tv you couldn't possibly see from anywhere in the room. Their idea of antiques are old table bases with pink formica table tops any crumby 70s lamps. Would never consider even mentioning that this hotel exists to anyone I know.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter what you reserve, they will give you whatever they want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pegareeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We made our reservation months ago, requested a quiet room with a view. At check-in, the front desk clerk appeared helpful but quickly became fatalistic about the difficulties--no parking, no free breakfast, a large wedding party filling the hotel. He assigned us a room in the newer building. He said if we didn't like the room we could "bail, no problem." We went upstairs to preview the room. The view was a brick wall, the beds were mushy (sacked out), and there were minimal amenities. We decided to decline the room and seek other lodging. We made our way downstairs to the lobby, where the bride was complaining that the food schedule was wrong. When we asked the clerk to cancel our reservation, he changed his attitude and said he could not guarantee a refund. We reminded him of his previous statement, to which he replied that bailing didn't mean a refund. When pressed, he said the manager would be in in 15-20 minutes, so we waited for her to address our concerns. After 25 minutes, my husband decided to wait for her at the front desk. When he told an incoming guest that the desk clerk was unhelpful, the desk clerk called 911. When the local police arrived, we told him the situation and he was sympathetic. By that time, the manager arrived and refunded our credit card. We left, never to return. Check my other reviews and you will find that I generally appreciate and patronize locally owned businesses, but I cannot recommend The Plaza Hotel under any circumstance.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KelCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The hotel has apparently changed ownership. It is a nice historic building, and we did have a good dinner in the hotel restaurant. However, the beds and bedding were old and not so nice, and our room just looked out on a wall. The plaza area seems like it's seen better days. When we made our reservation, it said it came with free breakfast in the hotel restaurant, as did the books in the hotel room. However, the front desk clerk told us that morning that new management no longer offered free breakfast. The management never showed up to clear this up. Finally they gave me a $10 refund, which did not make up for missing breakfast for me and my 3 daughters. Other hotel patrons were also treated rudely by hotel staff. It's too bad, because this could be a nice place.

Room Tip: The online reservations lie about amenities offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed in the "honeymoon suite" because it was the only king-sized bed available the night of our stay, which we had timed to coincide with heritage week. One night was more than enough. Located in the "newer" building, it was a charmless room with rather cheap reproduction furniture, one 10x14" photo of a sad-faced Victorian wedding couple on the walls (maybe they stayed there) and no other decor of any kind. I like high ceilings (estimate these at 12 feet) but the bare, glaring white walls made us feel like we were sleeping in a warehouse. In the "extra" room (very odd space resembling a hallway) there was only a bare black mini-fridge with a small microwave stacked on top, a hall table, and a modern, uncomfortable love seat which faced an utterly bare wall. The "suite" reeked of cleaning solution, which didn't dissipate during our stay (what was in there before us?). There was no protective covering or mattress pad on the mattress - just a flimsy sheet - which I consider quite unhygienic. Also, dingy carpets, no other decor, one luggage rack, and very dimly lit. We were promised a free continental breakfast at check-in. Next morning - No breakfast. No explanation by the solo staff person, and certainly no offer to provide a discount in the on-site restaurant. A metal pot of coffee and paper cups were put out on the counter - no cream or sweetener, stirrers, or napkins. Maybe the new owners will bring it up to acceptable standards. I'm considering this a rather pricey, unfortunate mistake.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlogan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Montezuma Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Las Vegas
Days Inn Las Vegas
#6 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Las Vegas
Super 8 Las Vegas
#1 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
1.2 mi away
Knights Inn Las Vegas NM
Knights Inn Las Vegas NM
#7 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Property: Plaza Hotel
Address: 230 Plaza St, Las Vegas, NM 87701-3433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finest historic hotel (1882) and fine dining in Northern New Mexico, overlooking the beautiful Plaza Park. This is the only hotel in downtown historic Las Vegas - once the biggest and richest city in New Mexico, with 1000+ historic buildings! Purchased in 2014 by owners of the legendary La Posada in Winslow AZ, the Plaza Hotel is receiving a top-to-bottom upgrade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing