We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FINE ALTERNATIVE TO THE CHAINS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“FINE ALTERNATIVE TO THE CHAINS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

You will have to drive a little ways into town off the freeway to stay here, but it's easy to find. It is a delightful old hotel with lots of 1800s charm. We have stayed several times, and the rooms have always been clean, fresh and in good repair. The staff is friendly and our dog loves the treats at the front desk. The hot morning breakfast is in the restaurant and it's very good. For about the same price as the chains, it's a fun alternative when you need to rest for the night in this part of NM. Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you and your dogs enjoyed your stay with us, you liked the rooms and the history of the hotel.

Thank you for acknowledging the attention to details.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    164
    39
    18
    19
See reviews for
110
219
36
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at the Plaza after getting a Priceline deal towards the beginning of our road trip through the Rockies and West Coast. Dollar for dollar, it was the best money spent on lodging during the entire 4 weeks.

While Las Vegas, NM may not be a hot destination, it is definitely an interesting town that makes for a reasonable stop over between Texas and Colorado.

The hotel itself is a super charming, vintage building that has been lovingly restored. The lobby boasts a beautiful staircase, stamped tin ceilings, and tons of original detailing.

When you check in, they'll give you a breakfast voucher good towards one entree on the breakfast menu (one per person) and a coffee - this goes a long way (my husband ordered pancakes, I got an omelette).

The room itself had all the amenities: super tall ceilings, hair dryer, tv, internet access (a little spotty), full set of toiletries. You will be in want of nothing (except maybe faster internet)...

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, you liked the rooms and the history of the hotel.

Thank you for acknowledging the attention to details.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We found that the Plaza Hotel fit us perfectly. We were looking for something other than a chain hotel. It had a great restaurant and bar. It is close to a lot of unique shops. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midwestHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, super central, elegant and clean. Nice food at the restaurant. The problem is the service: we arrived at 8pm without a reservation and the girl at the reception, Precious, offered us the last room available at 135$ while at the same time on booking there where two double rooms available at 89$. We booked it in front of her and she didn't give us any explanation or excuse for this. Moreover she made us waiting for 20 mins saying that processing the order from booking was taking time. Unacceptable attempt of cheating.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiaraLudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, you liked the rooms and the history of the hotel.

We have address the reservation procedures with our staff members.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We love the Plaza Hotel. Beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, friendly service all within walking distance of good restaurants on the Old Town Plaza.

We lived in Las Vegas for many years and I remember when the hotel was a decrepit bar. It had been 'updated' with ugly acoustical tiles and cheap paneling and all the gorgeous architectural details desecrated. Each of the rungs of the lovely staircase had been painted a different color: blue, red, green, purple, orange - AWFUL! Then some investors came in and transformed the hotel to its former glory.

The hotel has been expanded from its original building and when we first learned we had a room in the new section, we were disappointed. But the new rooms are as beautiful as the old ones, with tall ceilings and windows, antique furniture and period colors and decor. Bathrooms are clean. The bed and pillows were so comfortable, I stripped off the pillowcases to find out what kind of pillows they use and ended up ordering them online for my own house.

The hotel is a popular stop for celebrities in town making movies and TV shows. The last time we were there, a movie was being filmed in town. We were sitting in the bar when someone walked in. We looked up and realized it was Tommy Lee Jones. Across the street from the hotel is the front door used in the show Longmire.On the side of the hotel, faint letters spell out Hotel Romaine, after the silent movie actor who used to stay there.The whole Plaza area features beautiful architecture and historic sites. The amazing Montezuma Hotel on the campus of the United World College and the nearby hot springs are a short drive away.

We like nearby El Rialto restaurant and JC's NY Pizza Department has GREAT pizza. There are a couple of other places right on the Plaza that local friends tell us are very good too. The popular Spic & Span is a short drive or a doable walk away in downtown Las Vegas.

The hotel includes a breakfast in the lovely dining room with your room fee. That breakfast for us has been the down side of the hotel. The staff is friendly but appears to be very untrained. Servers walk by the table ignoring us. We had to ask for silverware and napkins, Food is delivered to the table cold. Coffee cups go unfilled. We ask for something and it is obviously forgotten. Yet the staff stands to the side chatting as though there is nothing to do. I guess I shouldn't complain about a free meal but I would have given the hotel a rating of 5 if the breakfast service had been better. We've always avoided the somewhat pricey dinners there because of the so-so breakfast service.

Finding the perfect room can be tricky. We enjoy being on the Plaza side. It can be a bit noisy with passing cars but we like to watch the action and look out on the park. We don't like the rooms over the conservatory as there is no view. But all the rooms are pretty, spacious and comfortable.

We will always stay at the Plaza when we go to Las Vegas.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Plaza can be noisy but they have a good view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbkcrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback, we will share with our staff and make sure we only improve our guest services skills.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel is located on the lovely central plaza in Las Vegas, New Mexico, which is an historic southwestern town on the Santa Fe Trail about 70 miles from both Santa Fe or Taos. The hotel comprises 2 buildings: an historic hotel renovated in the 1980s and the Charles Ilfeld building that was remodeled in 2009. Our room on the 3rd floor was spacious, with very high ceilings and windows overlooking the plaza. The sink was in a walled-off alcove next to the bathroom (with shower/tub and WC). The flat-panel TV was somewhat small for the recent trend in large screens, but the reception was good. The tables and bureau were refurbished antiques. (My only complaint was that one of the bedside lamps had loosened components that needed attention.) We loved the gracious wide staircases between floors, but there is also an elevator. Guests definitely feel they are in the southwest when they walk into the lobby of this hotel. If you feel you've been in this hotel before, it may be because you've seen some of the movies or TV shows that have been filmed there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer side of the hotel. Third floor rooms have high ceilings and large window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Metermaid608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, you liked the rooms and the history of the hotel.

Thank you for acknowledging the attention to details.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The first room we were given had a small TV and the rain was hitting the fan noisily. As soon as we reported it to the reception, they changed us to a bigger room with no extra charge! The restaurant was great and of good value. The service definitely gets an A++!
Only downside, the vending machines were either sold out, either not cooling the drinks.
Highly recommend this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catsnidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we were able to accommodate your needs after all.
We are happy that you liked your dinning experience with us.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Montezuma Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Las Vegas
Days Inn Las Vegas
#6 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Las Vegas
Super 8 Las Vegas
#1 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
1.1 mi away
Knights Inn Las Vegas NM
Knights Inn Las Vegas NM
#7 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Property: Plaza Hotel
Address: 230 Plaza St, Las Vegas, NM 87701-3433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finest historic hotel (1882) and fine dining in Northern New Mexico, overlooking the beautiful Plaza Park. This is the only hotel in downtown historic Las Vegas - once the biggest and richest city in New Mexico, with 1000+ historic buildings! Purchased in 2014 by owners of the legendary La Posada in Winslow AZ, the Plaza Hotel is receiving a top-to-bottom upgrade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing