We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel B+ and Restaurant D” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Hotel B+ and Restaurant D”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel is very nice and my room in the new wing was very attractive and the bed comfortable, but the furniture arrangement was all wrong. The bed was so close to the wall on one side it was difficult to get out, while accommodating an unnecessarily large table on the other side. The chair was fragile and lumpy and impossible to sit on and the lack of a desk or writing surface made working in the room difficult. I had to fix the printer and track down paper for their small office area in the lobby only to be told the fax machine was broken. I would not recommend this hotel for business travelers. Families and vacationers will fare much better. The big disappointment is the restaurant. Gone are the fluffy breakfast biscuits and real potato hashbrowns. Hello way too much frozen food. Breakfast is your best bet as the baker is brilliant. Waffles, pancakes and coffee cake excel the rest is mediocre to grim. Lunch offers some decent sandwiches but that's about it. Forget dinner - absolutely a waste of money. I understand the hotel is in transition and will be going up for Auction on July 9th - so perhaps, if it stays open, things will improve under the new owners. It's a beautiful hotel and deserves to be enjoyed and appreciated.

Room Tip: Beds in the new rooms are very comfortable but ask for a back room if there is a band playing in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank never2old2try
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, please know that we strive to service all of our guests so they leave happy and return again as well as recommend us to family and friends.
We are sorry to hear about your recent experience with us and we therefore contacted you directly to address the issues.
Look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Thank you
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    164
    39
    18
    19
See reviews for
110
219
36
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful and unique hotel! For the same price as a little run of the mill Motel 6 or Super 8 you can stay at this charmer- I am really glad we decided to check it out, and it was pet friendly! A beautiful hotel, but being historic... No air conditioning... My room was too hot, luckily it was a beautiful evening and we enjoyed a drink at the bar. I hope this little town sees a burst of energy (and influx of cash), it is a very neat place but in need of some attention. Come on people, check out Las Vegas, NM!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 79cargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, you liked the rooms and the history of the hotel.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon and your pets as well.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Chavez, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent 2 nights onJune 25-26 and truly enjoyed the ambiance and all the pleasant employees. We had celebrated a vow renewal on Sunday at our church with many of our friends and then the finishing touch was our pleasant stay at the PlazaHotel in Historic Las Vegas NM.Our Anniversary Dinner was in Landmark Grill and was excellent as were our two breakfasts on the 26 and 27 of June. We would certainly return and stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CND_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and mostly that we were part of your big day and celebrations with family and friends.
To the next 25 years!!!

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful place to stay. Very historic and well preserved. Amazing! We love the history here. The staff was very accommodating and kind. So so helpful. The one man who worked the night we came in was awesome, he heard my husband say which suitcase was mine, and when we got up to our room with the bags, he immediately put mine up on the suitcase rack! Now that is awesome, he did his job very well, he was on the ball, now that is service! The restaurant here is amazing. Some of the best food choices. We ate supper here and breakfast the next morning. Both were deeeeeeelicious. The chef even prepared my breakfast special just for me, I really appreciated that a lot. Will definitely stay here again the next time we decide to travel our favorite historic Route 66!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mawkettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, you liked the rooms and the history of the hotel. We are happy that you liked the food and our Chef special made your breakfast. Thank you for acknowledging the attention to details of our staff.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

After enjoying our stays at this hotel over the past few years, we had a very disappointing visit two weeks ago. The handicap room we had specifically reserved had been set aside for another guest. Our daughter-in-law, who is unable to stand, was placed in a third floor "handicap accessible" room where there was not enough space to move about with the wheelchair or to drive it beside the bed. The bed appears to be the old-fashioned 3/4 size, not a good fit for my son who is six feet plus. The bathroom had space for driving the wheelchair beside the toilet, but the toilet was a low height rather than ADA height. No way could my daughter-in-law transfer to it. We got them moved to another third floor room, non-handicap accessible as there were no others in the hotel, with more space around the larger bed. But there was not room to drive the wheelchair beside the toilet, which in this room WAS an ADA height. We did put up with this severe inconvenience and dangerous situation through the two nights we had reserved. I have since written to the hotel about our unsatisfactory experience but have received no response. The dining room has fallen far below the wonderful experience we had on previous visits. It was understaffed, and the staff was untrained and unknowledgeable about food and how to serve it. The high quality food, imaginative and attractive plating, the skilled service no longer exists. After a dinner and two breakfasts at the hotel, we looked elsewhere for better food and service. We understand that the new ownership has been unable to keep up high quality and that the hotel is in receivorship. The bar was a disappointment this time also. We sent back gin and tonic until we learned to stop ordering it. Either the tonic line was blocked, the bartender did not know the difference between tonic and soda or sparkling water, or there was some other excuse offered. The bar had no snacks to offer in the evening, and there is no longer a vending machine in the hotel. We hope that someone can resurrect, again, this charming old hotel, dining room, and bar. We were keenly disappointed with the no-honor of our reservation, the lack of service and the mediocre, at best, dining room.

Room Tip: Make your reservation with the local number on the hotel website. Do NOT use the 800 "reservat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrannyHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are so sorry to hear your feedback. Please know that someone is working on it and will be contacting you to resolve the issues.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
189 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This old hotel is fast becoming a favorite of ours. The professional and friendly staff, the attention to detail in the hotels renovation and addition of modern amenities, the historic district that surrounds it, and the overall atmosphere ensure a stay will be memorable as well as restful.

Room Tip: We prefer the third floor overlooking the plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventurerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, you liked the rooms, the amenities and the history of the hotel.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Ne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Have stopped here several times for refreshments, but this was our first time time to stay. The Plaza is wonderfully remodeled and is a very enjoyable place to stay. I would highly recommend.

The only issue was slow service in the restaurant. This did not appear to be the fault of the server, but it appeared management has chosen to under-staff the restaurant. Check in and bar service were fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerbyMotorcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and also are a loyal customer. We hope you have better experience in the restaurant next time.
We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Montezuma Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Las Vegas
Days Inn Las Vegas
#6 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Las Vegas
Super 8 Las Vegas
#1 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
1.1 mi away
Knights Inn Las Vegas NM
Knights Inn Las Vegas NM
#7 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Property: Plaza Hotel
Address: 230 Plaza St, Las Vegas, NM 87701-3433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finest historic hotel (1882) and fine dining in Northern New Mexico, overlooking the beautiful Plaza Park. This is the only hotel in downtown historic Las Vegas - once the biggest and richest city in New Mexico, with 1000+ historic buildings! Purchased in 2014 by owners of the legendary La Posada in Winslow AZ, the Plaza Hotel is receiving a top-to-bottom upgrade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing