We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Spend 25th Anniversary”
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Los Chavez, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to Spend 25th Anniversary”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent 2 nights onJune 25-26 and truly enjoyed the ambiance and all the pleasant employees. We had celebrated a vow renewal on Sunday at our church with many of our friends and then the finishing touch was our pleasant stay at the PlazaHotel in Historic Las Vegas NM.Our Anniversary Dinner was in Landmark Grill and was excellent as were our two breakfasts on the 26 and 27 of June. We would certainly return and stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CND_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and mostly that we were part of your big day and celebrations with family and friends.
To the next 25 years!!!

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    167
    42
    18
    19
See reviews for
111
227
38
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful place to stay. Very historic and well preserved. Amazing! We love the history here. The staff was very accommodating and kind. So so helpful. The one man who worked the night we came in was awesome, he heard my husband say which suitcase was mine, and when we got up to our room with the bags, he immediately put mine up on the suitcase rack! Now that is awesome, he did his job very well, he was on the ball, now that is service! The restaurant here is amazing. Some of the best food choices. We ate supper here and breakfast the next morning. Both were deeeeeeelicious. The chef even prepared my breakfast special just for me, I really appreciated that a lot. Will definitely stay here again the next time we decide to travel our favorite historic Route 66!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mawkettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, you liked the rooms and the history of the hotel. We are happy that you liked the food and our Chef special made your breakfast. Thank you for acknowledging the attention to details of our staff.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

After enjoying our stays at this hotel over the past few years, we had a very disappointing visit two weeks ago. The handicap room we had specifically reserved had been set aside for another guest. Our daughter-in-law, who is unable to stand, was placed in a third floor "handicap accessible" room where there was not enough space to move about with the wheelchair or to drive it beside the bed. The bed appears to be the old-fashioned 3/4 size, not a good fit for my son who is six feet plus. The bathroom had space for driving the wheelchair beside the toilet, but the toilet was a low height rather than ADA height. No way could my daughter-in-law transfer to it. We got them moved to another third floor room, non-handicap accessible as there were no others in the hotel, with more space around the larger bed. But there was not room to drive the wheelchair beside the toilet, which in this room WAS an ADA height. We did put up with this severe inconvenience and dangerous situation through the two nights we had reserved. I have since written to the hotel about our unsatisfactory experience but have received no response. The dining room has fallen far below the wonderful experience we had on previous visits. It was understaffed, and the staff was untrained and unknowledgeable about food and how to serve it. The high quality food, imaginative and attractive plating, the skilled service no longer exists. After a dinner and two breakfasts at the hotel, we looked elsewhere for better food and service. We understand that the new ownership has been unable to keep up high quality and that the hotel is in receivorship. The bar was a disappointment this time also. We sent back gin and tonic until we learned to stop ordering it. Either the tonic line was blocked, the bartender did not know the difference between tonic and soda or sparkling water, or there was some other excuse offered. The bar had no snacks to offer in the evening, and there is no longer a vending machine in the hotel. We hope that someone can resurrect, again, this charming old hotel, dining room, and bar. We were keenly disappointed with the no-honor of our reservation, the lack of service and the mediocre, at best, dining room.

Room Tip: Make your reservation with the local number on the hotel website. Do NOT use the 800 "reservat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrannyHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are so sorry to hear your feedback. Please know that someone is working on it and will be contacting you to resolve the issues.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
189 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This old hotel is fast becoming a favorite of ours. The professional and friendly staff, the attention to detail in the hotels renovation and addition of modern amenities, the historic district that surrounds it, and the overall atmosphere ensure a stay will be memorable as well as restful.

Room Tip: We prefer the third floor overlooking the plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventurerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, you liked the rooms, the amenities and the history of the hotel.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Ne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Have stopped here several times for refreshments, but this was our first time time to stay. The Plaza is wonderfully remodeled and is a very enjoyable place to stay. I would highly recommend.

The only issue was slow service in the restaurant. This did not appear to be the fault of the server, but it appeared management has chosen to under-staff the restaurant. Check in and bar service were fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerbyMotorcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and also are a loyal customer. We hope you have better experience in the restaurant next time.
We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed her for one night whilst on a road trip.
Good points - lovely staff, huge well maintained clean rooms, free wifi and breakfast, comfortable room, great location, hotel with history.
Not so good points - the bar downstairs was not big enough for the locals and guests, seems its the only bar in town, plenty of bikes and cars with very loud engines passing during the evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, you liked the rooms, the amenities and the history of the hotel.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The plaza was a pleasant surprise in the middle of a rather unpleasant town. We were about to leave the town and stopped for a toilet break. The friendly staff offered us a room to view and an upgrade for a very small cost. It was a genuine experience in a classic old hotel. The facilities all worked and the bed was comfortable. I would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: We asked for a room overlooking the plaza so we could watch out the windows at the local activity an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drbackup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, you liked the room and the bed was comfortable.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Montezuma Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Las Vegas
Days Inn Las Vegas
#5 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Las Vegas
Super 8 Las Vegas
#1 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
1.1 mi away
Knights Inn Las Vegas NM
Knights Inn Las Vegas NM
#7 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Property: Plaza Hotel
Address: 230 Plaza St, Las Vegas, NM 87701-3433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finest historic hotel (1882) and fine dining in Northern New Mexico, overlooking the beautiful Plaza Park. This is the only hotel in downtown historic Las Vegas - once the biggest and richest city in New Mexico, with 1000+ historic buildings! Purchased in 2014 by owners of the legendary La Posada in Winslow AZ, the Plaza Hotel is receiving a top-to-bottom upgrade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing