We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bargain at twice the price”
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Kingman, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A bargain at twice the price”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This old hotel is fast becoming a favorite of ours. The professional and friendly staff, the attention to detail in the hotels renovation and addition of modern amenities, the historic district that surrounds it, and the overall atmosphere ensure a stay will be memorable as well as restful.

Room Tip: We prefer the third floor overlooking the plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventurerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, you liked the rooms, the amenities and the history of the hotel.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    179
    44
    18
    19
See reviews for
116
240
41
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Ne
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Have stopped here several times for refreshments, but this was our first time time to stay. The Plaza is wonderfully remodeled and is a very enjoyable place to stay. I would highly recommend.

The only issue was slow service in the restaurant. This did not appear to be the fault of the server, but it appeared management has chosen to under-staff the restaurant. Check in and bar service were fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerbyMotorcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and also are a loyal customer. We hope you have better experience in the restaurant next time.
We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed her for one night whilst on a road trip.
Good points - lovely staff, huge well maintained clean rooms, free wifi and breakfast, comfortable room, great location, hotel with history.
Not so good points - the bar downstairs was not big enough for the locals and guests, seems its the only bar in town, plenty of bikes and cars with very loud engines passing during the evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, you liked the rooms, the amenities and the history of the hotel.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The plaza was a pleasant surprise in the middle of a rather unpleasant town. We were about to leave the town and stopped for a toilet break. The friendly staff offered us a room to view and an upgrade for a very small cost. It was a genuine experience in a classic old hotel. The facilities all worked and the bed was comfortable. I would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: We asked for a room overlooking the plaza so we could watch out the windows at the local activity an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drbackup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, you liked the room and the bed was comfortable.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Thought we would be camping out. Instead, we spent two nights in a nicely appointed historic hotel with the cast and crew of the upcoming movie "The Homesman" including Tommy Lee Jones and Meryl Streep. Great group dinner and great breakfasts. Very attentive staff. Las Vegas is a real find.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eraykimsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This place is very authentic. Built in 1882 it still has the feel of that time, but with many modern updates. The service was excellent and everyone was very friendly. I especially enjoyed the wifi and wine and had a blast at the bar that was packed with locals and visitors for karaoke. The only negative is there is no swimming pool or fitness center. But I would stay her ANY time I visited Las Vegas. Oh yea, met Tommy Lee Jones who was staying here during the filming of his movie!

Room Tip: Rooms on that face the plaza have a little bit of traffic noise early in the morning. Watch out for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you are becoming a loyal customer and especially your nice comments about the staff, wine and wifi and the karaoke at the bar .
We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is the second time we stayed here in two years. This time we stayed here for 3 nights during the Iron Tribe at the University. Not only was the staff welcoming and courteous, but the Concierge was very helpful, kind and considerate. He made our stay very enjoyable and he did not hesitate to ask if we needed anything every day we came back to the hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and not to mention a great price for the wonderful service you receive. But be ready for a long wait if you eat in the restaurant downstairs, the food is wonderful (and free if you stay in the hotel) but the service is a tad bit slow.

Room Tip: I've only stayed in the new addition side, but the hallways can seem a bit noisy from your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nai_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you are a loyal customer and especially your nice comments about the staff .
We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Montezuma Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 8 in Las Vegas
385 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Las Vegas
Days Inn Las Vegas
#6 of 8 in Las Vegas
330 reviews
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Las Vegas
Super 8 Las Vegas
#1 of 8 in Las Vegas
1,215 reviews
1.1 mi away
Knights Inn Las Vegas NM
Knights Inn Las Vegas NM
#7 of 8 in Las Vegas
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Property: Plaza Hotel
Address: 230 Plaza St, Las Vegas, NM 87701-3433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finest historic hotel (1882) and fine dining in Northern New Mexico, overlooking the beautiful Plaza Park. This is the only hotel in downtown historic Las Vegas - once the biggest and richest city in New Mexico, with 1000+ historic buildings! Purchased in 2014 by owners of the legendary La Posada in Winslow AZ, the Plaza Hotel is receiving a top-to-bottom upgrade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing