We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!”
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2012

To my dying day, I will regret the many nights I stayed in Las Vegas, NM, before I learned about the Plaza Hotel. This wonderful old hotel is so welcoming, so comfortable, and so economical, I can't believe I didn't discover it sooner. I'm sure I will travel through Las Vegas again (family travel) and I will plan to stay at the Plaza as often as I can.

This wonderful hotel is at the heart of the old town square, which is the sort of place you just want to go out and walk on a summer night. Or a winter night! The restored Victorian rooms are beautiful, with vintage furnishings and modern, comfortable bedding. Prices are excellent and very competitive with chain hotels that offer much less comfort. The hotel restaurant is very good, both for dinner and for the included breakfast. The staff is so friendly and helpful... well, I don't know know to describe it all. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone!

Room Tip: Rooms on the square can be a bit noisy for a while, but they are so beautiful it is still worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thisby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 602 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

After a somewhat white knuckle drive from Trujillo New Mexico I made it a point to find a hotel in which I could relax and unwind after two days of intense, solitary mountain driving. I wanted a hotel with character and boy did I find it in the Plaza Hotel! Dragging in the door I was greeted by the most genuinely friendly reservations clerk I have ever come across. Sean did everything in his power to get me into a beautifully restored room facing the historic plaza as quickly as possible. I was handed a beautiful brass key and shown to my room.
Thanks to the free wifi and accommodating bartender I was able to enjoy a nice glass of Chardonnay and catch up on my correspondence.
The next morning I took advantage of the fabulous cooked to order breakfast-no stale pre-packaged foods here! The pancakes were fluffy,the eggs divine and I dined on beautiful white linens. The young waitress could not have been more accommodating and pleasant.
I also saw many happy dog lovers as they do allow pets in a certain part of the hotel. I will make it a point to stay at this hotel many times in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We've been staying here for several years - the place is delightful. Lovely building, good food in the restaurant and many historical places to go in the neighborhood. Have yet to see a ghost, but there's always next time!

Room Tip: Ask for the haunted room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alicia44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Recently stayed one night at the Plaza Hotel on the plaza in Las Vegas New Mexico. Had a great night's sleep in a comfortable room that was well maintained and updated. The hotel is listed on the National Historic Register and for a turn of the century building it was in excellent condition. But what impressed me the most was the friendliness and attitude of the staff. Several went out of their way to make my stay memorable.

Room Tip: Away from the street side although the whole building seemed very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

It's always so fun to stay at the Plaza -- love the atmosphere of the Old West hotel, great quality rooms, and always so much fun and activity downstairs in the lobby and saloon. The breakfast included in the price of the room is also fabulous. Wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beezer119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is a solid three star hotel. Good front desk, extra large rooms and bath, and an excellent free breakfast. The only problem we had was noise from the room next door where the child had severe anger issues and the parents way of dealing with the child was to yell and see how hard, and how many times, they could slam the door! The management did their very best to deal with the issue. I would definitely stay at hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prine041745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Ilfeld Suite. Huge spectacular bathroom with jetted tub. Big old fancy place includes free breakfast. Onsite restaurant is affordable and tasty. Right on the square and filled with history!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethAnnSH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 8 in Las Vegas
411 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Montezuma Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Las Vegas
Days Inn Las Vegas
#6 of 8 in Las Vegas
347 reviews
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Las Vegas
Super 8 Las Vegas
#1 of 8 in Las Vegas
1,269 reviews
1.6 mi away
Regal Motel
Regal Motel
#8 of 8 in Las Vegas
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Address: 230 Plaza St, Las Vegas, NM 87701-3433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range: $98 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finest historic hotel (1882) and fine dining in Northern New Mexico, overlooking the beautiful Plaza Park. This is the only hotel in downtown historic Las Vegas - once the biggest and richest city in New Mexico, with 1000+ historic buildings! Purchased in 2014 by owners of the legendary La Posada in Winslow AZ, the Plaza Hotel is receiving a top-to-bottom upgrade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing