We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jukeboxes!”

Hillcrest Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 50 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Columbus, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Jukeboxes!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a typical old-style restaurant with reasonable prices. The food's not bad, but the best thing is the jukeboxes at the tables.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank evans89820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    44
    22
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 490 helpful votes
“Looks Quaint but it Ain't”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived in Las Vegas, NM on a Sunday during a torrential downpour enroute to the hot springs. Hillcrest was one of the few restaurants open, even though it was a holiday weekend. From the outside, it looked like a quaint restaurant from bygone days, so we stopped in. My first impression inside of the wood and laminate paneled walls and tables was 'bad 1980's make-over.' There were large ugly patterned floral valances over the windows that looked like they hadn't been washed since they were hung in the 80's. The restaurant had the old pay-your-quarter push button music jukes by each table, but judging from the song selections and non-working large jukebox in the foyer, haven't played in over a decade ~ too bad, I remember them being a big deal when I was a kid in the 50's & 60's. The food selections were abysmal. They had a turkey dinner special that sounded reminiscent of the good old days, but it turned out to be a rather soggy unappetizing lump on our plates that was heavily peppered. I can't eat pepper, so my meal went to my husband who seemed happy just to eat something because we were so hungry. The iced tea tasted one step up from water and the pecan pie [that ended up being my dinner] was the worst commercial pie I've ever tasted. Everything tasted like it came directly from a freezer box or maybe even the box itself! There was air conditioning in the place, but it was freezing cold on a damp rainy day which was bone chilling. A fly fancied me throughout our time inside the restaurant which added to my feeling of total repulsion for this place. The waitress was out-to-lunch and didn't bring us necessary dining implements which we had to request several times. The bathroom smelled like a sewer and wasn't clean. We waited what seemed like forever for our bill. The credit card machine didn't work, so luckily we had cash to pay for our meal. So much for the "good-ole-days.'' You are better off stopping at Mickey D's for a mystery burger!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldSprinter18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foodienista, Owner at Hillcrest Restaurant, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I'm sorry u had a bad experience at Hillcrest. I remember the evening well. Our town got hit by a huge thunder storm which left 3/4of Las Vegas w/ out power for several hours. Most businesses had to close. We were severely crippled w/ out registers, server printers, credit card processing, some kitchen equipment, and an overwhelmed staff. In addition we were accommodating a large group in the banquet room. We were reeling and scrambling on a busy travel day under bad circumstances. I'm sorry I did not get to interface with u as I certainly would have replaced your meal or comped it. Several days prior to your visit was my 37th anniversary as co owner in a small family business whose family members have taken pride in 67 years of serving fine food in a family atmosphere. I really appreciate your comments as it always gives us direction to correct problems. I too am very sad about the juke box. It too has blown a fuse and several repairmen have worked on it to no avail. I will not give up. Many years in this business has given me above all perseverance. Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The worst”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Cold fries, too spicy tortilla soup, well done burger. Made adjustment to bill, offered dessert on the house, declined that. A bad food experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbara3123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
434 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A slice of Route 66!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A good "local" place with friendly service. It's an old-time diner with jukeboxes at each booth. Stick with something simple like grilled cheese and you can't go wrong!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lotsagoldens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Morgan, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not disappointed, not excited”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Slightly disappointed in "the best Mexican food in town" claim. The food was average and I would steer clear of the red chilli unless you love abundant amounts of chilli powder flavoring. The staff were great and atmosphere was truly an old style restaurant. I will try it again bit not for Mexican.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillcrest Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hillcrest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing