We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Ask Me About the Flies!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Original Johnny's Kitchen

Original Johnny's Kitchen
Ranked #6 of 47 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't Ask Me About the Flies!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I took my family there 2 weeks ago. We were the first ones there for dinner, so picked out our table and ordered. We were next to the window and noticed that there were quite a lot of flies on them. I asked for a different table, but the waitress said that it didn't matter, there were flies everywhere. I walked abound a little and she was right. There was well over 100 flies in this small dining room, on every table, window and wall! I asked her if they could do something about them, but she said the owner did not let them swat them.

So we got our food, and the flies swarmed us. They were on the table, water pitcher, our food, our drinks, EVERYWHERE! We swatted more than we ate and talked. What a lousy dining environment.

But, I have to admit, the food was good (only the chips were stale), and my green chili was very good. And the prices were resonable too.

So why not kill the flies? I asked the owner on the way out and he waved me off and said. "We don't have a lot of flies. The other resturants have a lot more flies than we do." What? I didn't ask about the other guys, I wanted to know why you ruined our dinner with YOUR flies. But he didn't seem to care, so we tipped the waitress (not her fault) and we left.

So, my third visit to Johnny's will be my last visit to Johnny's. So long pal!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bryan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Eggs,Eggs,Eggs and burnt chorizo”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I went to Johnny's for breakfast and with the exception of the pancakes, everything came with eggs! For a person who doesn't eat eggs or needs to watch their cholesterol levels this is not welcome news. I ordered carne adovada expecting morsels of pork marinated in red chile and instead received burnt metallic tasting chorizo. The beans had good flavor and the potatoes were crisp. The red chile sauce however, was made from chile powder rather than pods which added to the disenchantment with the meal. The service was mediocre and overall I would give the experience a C.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ooSPICY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

The ground meat tasted old & didn't smell right; don't go to the restrooms- yikes

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geezer1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs CO
Level Contributor
197 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We stop there everytime we are heading south. They have a Las Vegas breakfast for less than $5, it includes two eggs, choice of meat, potatoes covered in red or green chili with toast or torts. The green chili is great. Also had a green chili plate for lunch with potatoes, beans and posole covered in green chili also very good. The service is always good. Very good food at good price.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bikeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like water for northern New Mexican cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Repeat visit to a favorite of ours on the I 25 northern route.
Food so good it brought tears to my eyes. The red chili and tamales were especially delicious. Low key local historic and a bit kitchy decor but hey I am not that into atmosphere for lunch. Friendly wait staff and fast kitchen. Three generations were there the day we went. It's no wonder it has staying power.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tsondeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Johnny's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Original Johnny's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing