We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The kids wouldn't even recommend it...”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The kids wouldn't even recommend it...”
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We booked this hotel because the reviews rating was okay, the price was okay, and the photos looked okay. Well photos and reviews can be deceiving. We got to the hotel and my first words were...ewww. The lady at the counter was nice enough at check in. Got to our room and my daughter went into the dark bathroom and there was another ewww. Turned on the lights and there was a dead baby cockroach right next to the giant cockroach she had just stepped on, with it's legs still moving. Scooped up the roaches and flushed them down the toilet. Desk lady brings in our rollaway bed and leaves it in the entrance. We look at the bed and the room and wonder how we'll use the bed since it doesn't look like it'll fit. Call the desk lady and she comes and says she's not sure how it will fit, they usually just take it to the room....okay? At this time daughter also mentions the cockroaches...desk lady must be hard of hearing...no response and she leaves...leaving us to figure out how to use the rollaway. Well, after rearranging the room, moving tables and chairs, we do barely get the rollaway to open. By this time we're wishing we had booked a different hotel. Morning wasn't too bad, watery coffee but the continental breakfast was fine. Overall wouldn't recommend this hotel...I mean Inn. Stay across the street at the Holiday Inn, we realized we had stayed there the last time we traveled, and wished we would have remembered which hotel we had stayed at so we could have booked it for this trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19arnold65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    11
    10
    10
See reviews for
14
17
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2010

On a long road trip and did not expect to find this nice a hotel for the price. The beds looked new and comfortable. Clean room with full breakfast. Did not hear any outside noise. Very close to I 10. Looked like it had been updated. Very happy to have stayed there.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MZZLucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We got the walkup rate from a coupon book. There was no problem at the front desk with getting that rate. The clerk was very pleasant and agreed to let us view a sample room first. I was a little concerned because the lobby and breakfast area looked small and a bit dingy, possibly due to the harsh fluorescent light at that time of night. The rooms, however, were clean and in excellent condition -- by no means luxurious, but not at all rundown or worn. On a Monday night, no noise from the biker bar that another reviewer mentioned.

Breakfast was basic, no frills, but decent continental version. At checkout the morning clerk was just as friendly and helpful as the night before.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuckleCat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

As with my other experiences with Comfort suites, this was a nice place to stay. We made a stop during a road trip. Nice room, good breakfast, good location. Good value for money. No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Best Night Sleep.Greeted with a smile after traveling 25hrs.gave good directions and breakfast was excellent.Will recommend all friends.

  • Liked — clean smell and comfortable room
  • Disliked — no comment
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sandy023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

This place is perfectly adequate for an overnight stay. Despite the nearby biker bar, the hotel was very quiet inside. Also, it had the best wireless internet I've ever encountered in a hotel--it never failed and it was very fast.

Still, I found myself with issues here. First, they only put two smallish pillows on each bed. This is the fewest I have ever encountered in a hotel. Second, breakfast ended at nine, which is at least 30 minutes to an hour earlier than at most Choice properties. Third, I always thoroughly inspect hotel beds and I found the sheets and mattress pad on backward on one bed. This made me wonder if the sheets were truly clean (although they were as far as I could tell). Also, it bothered me that if you just pulled up the edges of the mattress, all would look clean underneath, but if you looked in the middle, there was a hearty accumulation of dirt. Finally, a false fire alarm went off in the middle of the night when we were there. I don't know if this was a fluke or if it happens all the time here, but it was something else I've never experienced before in a hotel.

You'll survive a night here fine, but I wouldn't use it for more than that.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelingPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2008

I was surprised at the nicely appointed, comfortable room. It was quiet, the breakfast was good, and the staff were very friendly. If you walk in last minute as I did it may be possible to bargain the rates down. I felt it was a good choice.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horsey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn Las Cruces
Sleep Inn Las Cruces
#22 of 33 in Las Cruces
116 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Las Cruces
Days Inn Las Cruces
#7 of 33 in Las Cruces
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Las Cruces Organ Mountain
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#20 of 33 in Las Cruces
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 2585 S Valley Dr, Las Cruces, NM 88005-3366 (Formerly Comfort Inn Las Cruces)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Cruces NM hotels, Econo Lodge hotel is near New Mexico State UniversityThe Econo Lodge® hotel is easily accessible, located just east of Interstate 10. This Las Cruces, NM hotel is near many local attractions and points of interest like the White Sands Missile Range, historic Old Mesilla, the New Mexico Farm & Ranch Heritage Museum, the Organ Mountains and New Mexico State University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Las Cruces
Las Cruces Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing