We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not the best Comfort Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Cedar Park, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not the best Comfort Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We were looking for inexpensive lodging for a quick overnight as we travelled through New Mexico on our way to Arizona. This served our purpose, although there really was nothing impressive. Our non-smoking king room was clean but worn. It was on 2nd floor and I don't believe there was an elevator. Free wifi was nice. The breakfast again was just typical standard fare. It was okay, but I don't think we would choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXTraveler512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    10
    9
    9
See reviews for
13
14
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Checked in was pleasant and quick. Room was dirty and smelly. No hot water was told they don't turn them on if they don't have anyone using the room for long periods of time. 1st. clue. Window AC, loud and loisy. TV was a old time unit. Walls thin and heard everything.
Pool too dirty to use. Exercise room had equipment but was all in pieces (broken). I picked off a tick the next day.
Breakfast was ok, food on the run. Personally, MCDonalds in better and you know your safe.
I would not recomment staying at this hotel. They need to clean up their act.

Room Tip: Don't Go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyb25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Cruces hotels

New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

We thought we found a great affordable nights stay but we didnt expect to find BED BUGS!!! We woke up early morning and found bites all over us. Im surprised that we were the first ones to have this problem here.

Room Tip: CHECK BEDS-This is what we forgot to do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewMexicoGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed only one night but it was enough. The parking lot was very small. I had to park my truck in back of motel. Side and front of motel parking lot very small. Parking not good for pickup trucks only small vehicles on side and front.
Our tub took 30 min to drain. Our toilet got stopped up.and would not flush properly. The desk was supposed to be 24 hour but we tried for 2 hours to get a plunger to fix toilet and no one was at desk til 5 am.
The walls and bed skirts were dirty. Blankets were dirty also. I wish I had stayed at the other Comfort Inn. I do not recommend this one.
The front desk staff did not even ask how our stay was.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMWildfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We booked this hotel because the reviews rating was okay, the price was okay, and the photos looked okay. Well photos and reviews can be deceiving. We got to the hotel and my first words were...ewww. The lady at the counter was nice enough at check in. Got to our room and my daughter went into the dark bathroom and there was another ewww. Turned on the lights and there was a dead baby cockroach right next to the giant cockroach she had just stepped on, with it's legs still moving. Scooped up the roaches and flushed them down the toilet. Desk lady brings in our rollaway bed and leaves it in the entrance. We look at the bed and the room and wonder how we'll use the bed since it doesn't look like it'll fit. Call the desk lady and she comes and says she's not sure how it will fit, they usually just take it to the room....okay? At this time daughter also mentions the cockroaches...desk lady must be hard of hearing...no response and she leaves...leaving us to figure out how to use the rollaway. Well, after rearranging the room, moving tables and chairs, we do barely get the rollaway to open. By this time we're wishing we had booked a different hotel. Morning wasn't too bad, watery coffee but the continental breakfast was fine. Overall wouldn't recommend this hotel...I mean Inn. Stay across the street at the Holiday Inn, we realized we had stayed there the last time we traveled, and wished we would have remembered which hotel we had stayed at so we could have booked it for this trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19arnold65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

On a long road trip and did not expect to find this nice a hotel for the price. The beds looked new and comfortable. Clean room with full breakfast. Did not hear any outside noise. Very close to I 10. Looked like it had been updated. Very happy to have stayed there.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MZZLucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

We got the walkup rate from a coupon book. There was no problem at the front desk with getting that rate. The clerk was very pleasant and agreed to let us view a sample room first. I was a little concerned because the lobby and breakfast area looked small and a bit dingy, possibly due to the harsh fluorescent light at that time of night. The rooms, however, were clean and in excellent condition -- by no means luxurious, but not at all rundown or worn. On a Monday night, no noise from the biker bar that another reviewer mentioned.

Breakfast was basic, no frills, but decent continental version. At checkout the morning clerk was just as friendly and helpful as the night before.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HuckleCat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn Las Cruces
Sleep Inn Las Cruces
#19 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
1.8 mi away
Value Place Las Cruces, New Mexico
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Las Cruces
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#21 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Las Cruces
Days Inn Las Cruces
#4 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Las Cruces Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 2585 S Valley Dr, Las Cruces, NM 88005-3366 (Formerly Comfort Inn Las Cruces)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Cruces NM hotels, Econo Lodge hotel is near New Mexico State UniversityThe Econo Lodge® hotel is easily accessible, located just east of Interstate 10. This Las Cruces, NM hotel is near many local attractions and points of interest like the White Sands Missile Range, historic Old Mesilla, the New Mexico Farm & Ranch Heritage Museum, the Organ Mountains and New Mexico State University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Las Cruces
Las Cruces Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing