We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy place to find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites University
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Easy place to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Easy access to the highway. Friendly staff. Room was clean. Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was the typical continental breakfast. Dog friendly. Would stay here again. Only a 20 minute ride from the white sands missile range. Room had mini fridge.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnm003, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay & we hope to see you soon!

Thank you again,
Ayde Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    34
    13
    14
    4
See reviews for
34
19
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed her in Oct. 2013 and really enjoyed it. My daughter will be a student at NMSU so I like to feel comfortable staying at the same place. We had orientation in June 2014 and due to flight delays didn't get in until around 1:00am. We rang the door bell, waited out front for about 15 minutes, called the hotel numerous times and nobody came. We went next door to Sleep Inn and the front desk person kindly called and offered security to escort us and let us in. When we got there, the front desk person was just coming back (from where??). She didn't apologize, she just told us she was doing laundry and we should have called. We told her we did.

Doesn't make me feel too secure staying here when the front desk person can't be alerted to phone calls, ringing bells, or 6 people (other guests included) were all conversing in their lobby. Not comfortable staying here at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenson6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnm003, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Allow me to take this time to first, apologize. I have brought up your comments and concerns with my staff & assure you, we are working on this to make it better. .

We hope that you will give us another chance to turn your previous experience into a good one and stop by to see us again on your next visit to the Las Cruces area

Once again, thank you for your review and comments, and we hope to see you soon!

Ayde Martinez,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed at Comfort Suites on May 14, 2014, in Las Cruces after a long day of business meetings in Lordsburg and Deming. I chose this hotel because it offered government rate, and is an enclosed structure. Hotels in Las Cruces do not have to accommodate government rate since business is booming in other business sectors. The first room assigned to me at Comfort Suites was on the first floor near the exit door. This room was musty and felt isolated away from main guest rooms and easily accessible to break in from parking lot or field behind hotel. I asked for another room. The second room Comfort Suites staff assigned me was on the second floor and was not clean. The towels were wet and on the bathroom floors, the bed was unmade in the second room. By this time I had my luggage and bags with me and frankly, I was re-thinking staying at this hotel. I flagged down the housekeeper who happened to still be "cleaning" rooms on the second floor at 5:30 pm. She looked at the room and then she left the room and floor for a reason (not sure what reason was but guessed it was to alert front desk and hotel manager). The front desk young man that checked me in the first and second rooms, came up to the second floor - looked at the dirty room, and then immediately offered me another room on 2nd floor AND told me to stay put and he would bring new room card to me for new room. He quickly returned with a third hotel room card and this room was clean (at least the bed was made and there were no dirty towels on bathroom floor). But the carpet was not very clean, the small sofa in the room was stained, and the hair dryer did not work and started smoking when turned on. I unplugged hair dryer to avoid a fire starting with broken appliance.

The breakfast served at Comfort Suites was generous (omelette, sausage gravy, biscuits).

The two highlights for Comfort Suites - the front desk staff on duty in the evening and the breakfast.

I will not be returning to any Comfort Suites. Probably will not plan to stay in Las Cruces at all. El Paso is close enough to Las Cruces, I can stay at a quality hotel that offers government rates in El Paso.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank brute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnm003, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am extremely embarrassed that we dropped the ball during your stay. I will be bringing this up to prevent this type of situation in the future..
Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Las Cruces.

Kind Regards,
Ayde Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My wife and I are driving to California from South Central Texas. We like this hotel and will stay here again. Our room is clean and comfortable. No problem with furnishings. Internet is somewhat slow. Not really the hotel's fault, just don't give up when browsing takes a long time. Breakfast was good. Standard offerings, sausage patties, egg omelet, biscuits and gravy. Hotel is quiet and easy to reach. It is located close to a shopping area and there are good choices for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbm210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnm003, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We are glad to here you will be back. I will have the internet looked at so you can avoid this issue. Good to hear, that you enjoyed our breakfast as well.

Thank you for your review,
Ayde Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
253 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We travel between southern Arizona and central Texas quite a bit, and find the El Paso area a good place to stop for the night. After staying closer or in El Paso, we found the traffic and noise a bit too much. When westbound, we now get through the congestion of El Paso, and spend the night at the Comfort Suites in Las Cruces, New Mexico.
Easy to get to, a friendly greeting, clean and tidy, excellent bedding, plenty of towels and bath amenities, an indoor pool, free Internet, quiet nights even with the window open, and a well stocked above average breakfast.
Many excellent dinner locations nearby, and an almost straight 10 or so minute drive to Old Mesilla.
A good choice when traveling Interstate 10 across America.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertBoomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnm003, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We strive to provided excellent customer service, we are glad to hear we did great. We hope to see you soon.

Thank you,
Ayde Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
225 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is a good property with an excellent location just off I-25, near I-10, and just about on the campus of NMSU. Choice has a policy of recognizing frequent Choice Privilege members with a thank you. That did not happen at checkin and no snack bag was offered. The anchors around the commode seat were filthy and the bed was too soft for my liking. Otherwise the room was fine. Breakfast was good. The waffle batter was so thick it would not fill out the waffle iron. Also, no biscuits/gravy.
These are minor issues that can be corrected with proper training. Overall, this was a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcjw700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnm003, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
I’m so sorry we failed to recognized you as a choice privilege member. I will make sure and bring this up on our next staff meeting. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, this will help us improve.

We look forward to serving you again,

Ayde Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was our second time to stay here - the first being in 2012. The hotel was just as I remembered it. The property was very clean, but is becoming somewhat dated. It may be time for some updates. The staff was friendly and helpful. They were attentive to our needs. The beds were very soft, which isn't always a good thing for me. The breakfast was standard hotel food, but it appeared to be prepared with great attention and care. The young lady who checked us out was very nice. I only apologize that I did not get her name. All in all, it was a great stay! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnm003, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Im so glad to hear my staff to care of you during your stay. We hope to see you soon.

Thank you,
Ayde Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces
Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces
#1 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Las Cruces
Days Inn Las Cruces
#4 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Las Cruces
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Las Cruces
Sleep Inn Las Cruces
#19 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Las Cruces Organ Mountain
1.8 mi away
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
#8 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University

Property: Comfort Suites University
Address: 2101 S Triviz Dr, Las Cruces, NM 88001-5884
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Las Cruces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites University 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Las Cruces
Las Cruces Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing