We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Old Town Mesilla”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Near Old Town Mesilla”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and I had a good experience staying here after getting off the interstate. I chose this hotel since it is close to Old Town Mesilla for sights and dining. Rick at the front desk was very helpful with directions and recommendations for Old Town.
Room was clean, comfortable & quiet. No complaints.
We used the small fitness room in the morning before breakfast; few machines but we had the room to ourselves.
Breakfast was basic but was enough before getting back on the highway.
Would stay here again or at more modern La Quinta across the road

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scuba312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    153
    99
    82
    52
See reviews for
186
124
58
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Just for reference, there is another LaQuinta property within shouting distance, which is probably more modern and yes, it's a bit more expensive. It may have been a better choice, too.

So the pros are yes, it's pet-friendly. But the grassy area has also cut down tree trunks (uhm, why?), and it looks pretty sad in January. The other pro is a nice breakfast area which is very warm and inviting - even had a nice fire going. The breakfast is the standard LaQuinta fare (I'm not that much of a fan, but it's okay).

But the cons unfortunately outweigh the pros. As we had a dog, we were given an interior facing room which meant we had a sliding glass door out to the grassy area and pool. That was nice in theory. But I wasn't thrilled about the sliding glass door - yes, it had a bar across it, but frankly, it was still pretty insecure.

The rug, too, was very worn and it was obvious no one had cleaned it in awhile. Yes, I know - it's a pet friendly room, so what do you expect? Well, I've been staying in LQ properties in different cities and most don't have urine smelling (to my dog!) rugs that are old and just plain nasty. I know when I'm not comfortable walking barefoot that it's bad.

Then there was the issue of the plugs. You wouldn't think electrical plugs are a big deal anymore but in older hotels it really is. This place was even a bit worse than normal - a lot of the electrical plugs had blank switchplates over them. I ended up having to jerry rig my computer after finding the plug behind the nightstand.

However, the reason I give it such a low grade is the shower. All I wanted to do was take a shower and wash my hair. Is that too much to ask? Well, multiple times throughout my showering, I had to reach down to pull up the bottom plug, to let the water drain out. Otherwise, it quickly filled up and I had a combo shower and bath. Plus the shower itself was weak-willed and just didn't have decent water pressure. All in all, it was an icky experience.

If we are passing through again we will, hopefully, be in an RV and avoid all of this, but if we need a hotel, it won't be this one.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Cruces hotels

Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel has been very good for us. We come to town several times a year since we have family there. It is very convenient, clean and friendly. We stay there because the price is right, the breakfast is good and everything, including family is close by. And it is very close to Old Mesilla, which is wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank patriciamP9078CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Pros:
- Pet friendly with a great grassy area in the garden/pool area
- Decently modern room
- Great price
- Easy in and out for travel on I-10
- Close to old town Mesilla
- Easy access to gas stations, Starbucks, fast food etc for our travels

Cons:
- Numerous urine stains on the curtains and bed skirts. I'm a dog owner, so I get it, but this was excessive.
- Toilet seat was wet when we arrived. It looked like it'd just been wiped down and had been closed before it dried, but it was gross.
- Paper thin walls. We could hear every little bit of conversation for the couple next door at night and the next morning.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank alittledabble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Underwhelming first- last-time experience with this chain. Avoid this room: old/bad mattress and door lock that didn't work. No WiFi for the 2 day-stay; not corrected by apathetic staff. And if you want fruit with breakfast, better get up before 7 AM.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, N M, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We always stay here because they have lots of grassy area for our pets. Our pets HATE to use the restroom on rocks. Also, the service is very good. They need to keep up with vacuuming the hallways more regularly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscola, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Lousy breafast area. Breakfast started at 6:00 by 7:30 the area looked as though it had been through a tornado! food on the floor but very little to choose from to eat! Broken waffle maker with runny waffle mix all over it. NO ONE taking care of the breakfast area at all. Dogs allowed in the breakfast area. No business center to check e-mails, etc. One of the worst experiences at a major hotel chain ever!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Chuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Las Cruces Organ Mountain
0.6 mi away
Best Western Mission Inn
Best Western Mission Inn
#7 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Las Cruces
Days Inn Las Cruces
#6 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Las Cruces
Sleep Inn Las Cruces
#21 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
2.8 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Las Cruces
WoodSpring Suites Las Cruces
#26 of 33 in Las Cruces
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley

Property: La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley
Address: 790 Avenida de Mesilla, Las Cruces, NM 88005-6572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Hotel Las Cruces
La Quinta Las Cruces
Las Cruces La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing