We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great value, not a great room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
845 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 485 helpful votes
“Great value, not a great room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Don't confuse this with the La Quinta Inn & Suites (and notice the slightly different name), also in Las Cruces and a rock throw away from this inn. The one being reviewed is right on the Avenida de Mesilla, while the other is down a side street.

First of all, the good news: I received an amazing price with AARP discount for a room with a jetted tub, and I greatly enjoyed the tub, which worked just fine. And the staff were friendly. Those two things raised my rating to average, which otherwise would have been worse.

The bad news: There were lots of little things wrong with the room, which was just not up to the standard I had come to expect from La Quinta. With every flush of the toilet I had to raise the lid and untangle two floats, or otherwise the toilet would not stop running. The drain stopper in the sink would not stay closed, though I found I could sort of make it work by tightening the nut that is the usual suspect as much as I could with my fingers, then holding the stopper down with my finger until the sink was partly filled. A number of electrical outlets near the beds had been capped, due apparently to inoperability, and this left no outlets to which I could attach a CPAP machine. On the subject of outlets, there was a six-for-two expansion plug in the outlets near the desk, but I couldn't get my laptop to work on them until I figured out that the top bank of three outlets didn't work, but the bottom three did. And it was only after I had poured cereal on my milk at breakfast that I discovered that no spoons were available, and nobody from whom to request them anywhere in sight. (Ever eat cereal with a fork, then drink the milk from the bowl? In extremis, it works.)

Again, I did enjoy the price and the tub, but I'm afraid I won't be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnArborMiBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    137
    92
    81
    49
See reviews for
174
112
52
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Satellite Beach, Fl
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were bit disappointed with this LQ. We've been using them lately and have found them to be good quality at a reasonable price. I'm sorry to say this one didn't quite measure up, other than the staff, especially Tori. Our room was less than average in cleanliness, and the door kept swinging open. We were lucky enough to find this out before sitting down to dinner.

We left the room but had not progressed beyond the hotel grounds when I realized I had left my wallet in the room. Upon returning we found the door wide open. Luckily no one of bad character had come across it before us, and we chalked to up to one of us leaving it open but it happened again when we returned and were in the room. We then figured out it was due to a defective self closing feature found on all hotel doors. Beyond this problem the breakfast was mediocre at best, with less than mediocre coffee. Hard to recommend this LQ unless others in area are worse.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edge0337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Dispite the fact that I booked our room for the wrong date, our extremely friendly and helpful La Quinta desk staff got us exactly what we wanted. Room was clean, bed great. Price was perfect. Nicest room we stayed in of many on a trip across the US.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great price and no charge for dogs. Great service. Very large room. Comfortable beds.Perfect TV reception. Working internet..... I was most impressed with the convenience of opening the sliding door and letting my dogs right out to the courtyard. This is the 1st hotel I have been to that I wasn't dreading taking the dogs outside. Very pleased with our stay, and will return if we take a trip heading that way again.

Room Tip: If traveling with dogs, request first floor, and let them know in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tcmoser68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Las Cruces Organ Mountain
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Las Cruces
Days Inn Las Cruces
#4 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Las Cruces
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Las Cruces Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Las Cruces I-10
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mission Inn
BEST WESTERN Mission Inn
#5 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley

Property: La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley
Address: 790 Avenida de Mesilla, Las Cruces, NM 88005-6572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and LaQuinta so you can book your La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Hotel Las Cruces
La Quinta Las Cruces
Las Cruces La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing