We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross and Dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Las Cruces
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had to stay one night and it was the worst night sleep ever. The smell of the room was musty and moldy. We had a toilet that would not flush, moldy tub with black stains, no shampoo, only one wash cloth and one bar of soap. We tripped over an old shoe that was left behind by previous occupant. I felt as if I needed a shower after staying over night and showering in the morning. The free breakfast was in the main lobby with no air conditioning. There was an open trash bag laying on the floor next to the waffle maker and we were forced to walk around it. It was there for all customers to place their breakfast trash into. Seriously, a large trash bag laying on the floor. Hotel needs a renovation bad. Bathroom was dirty and did not look like it was cleaned properly. Obviously the GM is just trying to keep the doors open without doing the necessary maintenance. Bed was very uncomfortable too. Go someplace else......

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
There are newer reviews for La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 539 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

Very disappointed. The hotel is filthy. The halls were dirty and the room was dirtier. The bathroom was overrun with mold, hair on the floor and the halls smelled like smoke-which all aggravated my allergies. The privacy curtain was broken and the wireless internet signal did not reach to my room in the back of the hotel. Cleaning carts were left in the hall outside my room all night which made getting in and out with my luggage and a dog difficult. When I went to check in, the staff were talking with each other about personal issues instead of taking care of a customer. The "security doors" that limit access to the hotel are never locked-no point.

The hotel at least does not charge for dogs, is within walking distance to a few restaurants and there was a nearby neighborhood to walk my dog around.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Briana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights and it was very pleasent. The room was spacious and clean. Bed was comfortable and we had a refirgerator so that was a plus. No elevator but we didn't mind it's only two floors. I had asked for a nonsmoking room but they did not have any available. The smoking room wasn't to overwhelming though. Would return if we passed through again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qtwendy0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A La Quinta traveler
Pensacola, Florida, USA
1
Reviewed June 29, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, Texas, USA
11
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The location for traveling was excellent and easy to find. Staff gave great selections for places to eat nearby that were excellent in food quality and the price was right. There was a mixup on my hotel reservations, but the staff took care of it immediately and everything went smoothly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank rearpie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The front desk was cheerful and efficient for check-in and checkout.

This hotel is very average, although it was a little better than I expected. Maybe that's due to the soutwest culture vs my northeast background.

The continental breakfast (6-9 wkdays; 7-10 wkends) was ok - standard low price hotel fare. The breakfast attendant was very good at stocking food and keeping it relatively clean. Seating is limited, so when there are a few families there, it can be difficult to get a table.

The most notable disappointment is that there is no elevator. There are only two floors, but you have to haul your luggage up steps if you're on the 2nd floor. 50# bags can be a chore as I'm not the young buck I used to be. We stayed there twice and ground floor rooms were not availble either time.

The pool looked ok, but we didn't use it. The room was decent. The shower was good. Cleanliness was good overall. It's only a few miles from Old Mesilla (Billy the Kid fame) for tourists. You can cover Old Mesilla in 1-2 hours easily.

We did not experience local restaurants, etc, as we were visiting family on the north side of town. My sister-in-law selected this hotel and I was concerned about the location from the relatives. It turned out we could travel on Valley Road easily between the south and north ends of town - probably easier and quicker than using the interstates.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the ground floor unless you don't mind carrying luggage up steps. Rooms on...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdrehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Las Cruces Organ Mountain
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Las Cruces
Days Inn Las Cruces
#7 of 34 in Las Cruces
922 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Mission Inn
Best Western Mission Inn
#6 of 34 in Las Cruces
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Las Cruces Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Las Cruces I-10
3.1 mi away
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley

Address: 790 Avenida de Mesilla, Las Cruces, NM 88005-6572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Las Cruces
Price Range: $61 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Hotel Las Cruces
La Quinta Las Cruces
Las Cruces La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing