We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to crash”
Review of The Big Chile Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Big Chile Inn
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Las Cruces
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were just looking for a place to crash after a long drive. The room was not great but still above average. The service was great. The attendants were very courteous, prompt and helpful. We would stay here again next time we drive through Las Cruces.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 542 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

I arrived to the Big Chile hotel and was greeted warmly and promptly by the management who gave me complimentary bottles of water, hand-walked me to my room, and even checked the bathroom and closets for cleanliness. I was given a room rate that was even lower than I found online and has such a pleasant stay. the property is lovely with copious amounts of plants and greenery along with a few covered areas to sit by the pool. this hotel will be on my list for future places to stop and stay. 5 stars!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This motel is a fantastic place to be. A friend and I were house hunting, and were got into Las Cruces around 11:30. We called ahead and were promptly given a rate. When we got in, service was (again) prompt and fantastic. We had a short tour, and were shown to our rooms - not given directions, shown. At 11:30 PM.

The rooms themselves are a little sub-par. This motel has seen a lot of years, and it sometimes shows. The layout is an older style, and they lacked a few things usually seen in a motel (like a clock. That was a little odd). Further, the showerheads are very, very low. I am around 6'8", and I had to practically bend in half to shower. However, they are generously apportioned with a large minifridge (big enough to hold a pizza box), nice microwave oven, and flat-panel TV.

While the rooms may not be the best things in the world, the atmosphere of this motel more than makes up for it. The owners are very hands-on, and you will see them doing practically everything through the day (and night). This care for their business shows through, especially in how they have manged to make such a unique place. The courtyard is a great place to spend some downtime, with an amazing number of plants, both native and not (as well as a Koi pond, which is strangely relaxing). The lobby has more than a few interesting tidbits, and has various foods (both snack and more substantial) available for reasonable prices. And, of course, how can you not mention the giant chile out front? It makes this motel easy to spot, if nothing else. And that's helpful when you're tired from a long day on the town.

In the end, I would recommend this motel to nearly anyone. The prices are very reasonable, the rooms are functional (and fairly comfortable), and the atmosphere is simply the best I've ever seen. It won't make any luxury list anytime soon, but it has the most character and some of the best service I've ever received.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very pleasant to be greeted by your hostess, escorted to your room and brought chips and salsa The room was very clean. The bathroom was a little worn and needs a bit of work, but overall the room was pleasantly decorated and inviting. The courtyard with its koi pond and sculptures was a bonus. The pool didn't appear to be filled as high as it should, but some kids were splashing around and having fun. One tip for the owners: the curtains are too long and impede airflow from the a/c beneath them. I was able to pin up with some clothespins I carry with me and this helped.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeredithMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a bit of a tired old motel - it's had a lot of use. As noted, the owners are super chill , friendly, cool. The quirkiness of the hotel definitely adds to the charm. The lobby is very unique, with a grand piano even! Very cool. And as noted, the massive chili out front adds to the charm.

What I wasn't thrilled about was the bed. It was one of the worst beds I think I have ever slept on. To me, I generally only sleep in a hotel room. I want a good night's sleep. This mattress was plain horrible.....I did not sleep well. The sheets seem to need to be replaced as well.

I do love a good bang for my buck, but I'd probably spend a little bit more and stay at a little nicer place. I've slept much better in my tent and sleeping pad than I did on that mattress.

If you're looking for budget accommodation w/ cool owners and some quirkiness/character, this might work for you. Maybe the bed in my room was just a one-off.

Some reviews commented on the location -- I felt it was completely safe and I had no issues with it.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank voodoo-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The owners of this America's Best Value Inn are very hands-on, which is great. We arrived and were greeted promptly. After checking in, we were escorted to our room (this was a first) and then brought some chips & salsa. About 15 minutes after arriving, we decided to turn on the TV - it didn't work. We notified the desk and they came right over. We thought maybe the remote was bad/dead, but it turns out the TV just wasn't going to operate. So, even though it wasn't immediately necessary (who really needs to watch more TV anyway?!?), the TV was replaced with a new one. Problem solved.

The room was clean, though the beds seemed a little soft. We left before sunrise (wanted to get through El Paso before the rush of lunatics) and left our key on top of the microwave, as instructed.

The neighborhood isn't great, but the owners more than make up for the location. They seem like they truly want to make this work, so more power to them.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

After looking for a place to stay one night and not wanting to spend a fortune I found this hotel. What a surprise it was #2 on Tripadvisor. I have stayed before at the Springhill Suites in Las Cruces. Of course it is a Marriott. But I didn't want to pay well over $100 for just passing through. This met all our needs. The owner was at the desk and was very charming. He and his wife are all over the place and make it a personal experience. Our room was very comfortable. I wasn't used to the old style key lock but all hotels had them for many many years. We had a microwave, refrigerator and flat panel TV. There was tons of counter space for toiletries/make up etc.The bed was very comfortable. There was a charming tropical area, pool and BBQ in the center of the property. Of course the chile pepper out front made it easy to find. It was easy to get to from I-10. I have to say driving up it didn't look like a #2 in Las Cruces place. the breakfast in the spacious lobby was simple but plenty for us for our last day back to Tucson. The two large fish tanks were nice to watch.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garybgomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Las Cruces
Days Inn Las Cruces
#7 of 34 in Las Cruces
940 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Mission Inn
Best Western Mission Inn
#5 of 34 in Las Cruces
680 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Las Cruces Organ Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ramada Palms de Las Cruces Hotel and Conference Center
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley
3.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Las Cruces
Staybridge Suites Las Cruces
#15 of 34 in Las Cruces
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Chile Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Chile Inn

Address: 2160 W Picacho Ave, Las Cruces, NM 88007-2302
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Las Cruces
Price Range: $60 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Chile Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Big Chile Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing