We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would come and stay again & again!”
Review of The Big Chile Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Big Chile Inn
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Las Cruces
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My cousin and I were traveling across the southwest and found this affordable gem among a sea if hotels in the area. We were welcomed without a reservation and warmly welcomed by the owner. Check in was smooth and she showed is to our room and brought us complimentary chips and salsa. The pool and courtyard are beautifully furnished with multiple nooks for guests to sit and relax. The pool area was beautiful and there is a fish pond in the courtyard - a detail that made this place feel cozy. And the worlds largest chile was the cherry on too. We felt completely at home, like part of the family. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area. We had an extremely enjoyable experience here.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 541 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

By their very nature, the owners and staff have created a friendly, welcoming place to sit back, relax and let the day fall away. The rooms all face the courtyard with its sparkling clean pool and beautiful waterfall/pond filled with fish. Bbqs are set in various areas where guests can cook their own meals and/or gather together with others. Paths wind through the courtyard, connecting the seating areas all surrounded by native plants. When you realize that the owners and staff have done the landscaping and various decorating projects themselves, you can fully appreciate the care and pride they have in creating this comfortable space for their guests. There is no pretense at this hotel. It is simply relaxing, friendly and welcoming. The rooms are pretty big, have everything you need and they are clean. I didn't have any reservations about hopping into the big comfy bed each night. A continental breakfast complete with cereal, baked goods and good coffee in the main lobby are included in the room rate. Another gathering place designed for guests to meet and chat and enjoy. If you want a truly relaxing and friendly place to stay, this is definitely it. In the week I was there, I felt like 'one of the family' and you certainly can't go wrong with that.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vickie L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Delightful hotel. We were greeted by the very friendly staff on arrival. Our room was big and very clean. Garden area with fish pond and a lovely sitting area with a couple of BBQs.The owner is an Australian and his wife Indonesian who are very friendly. We were given salsa and crackers on arrival, a nice touch. This is a biker friendly motel and we were able to park our bike in a secure site out of view of the road. Good value for money. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The service from the staff was ok, the greeted us and made our check in really fast, the surprise was when we got to our room, the room looked like it was remodeled recently but still look very old and dirty, the brought us some chips and salsa, which it was a very good detail from the staff. Ultimately we did not feel safe and we decided to stay there for 1 night and then cancel our reservation. The location of the hotel is a really rough neighborhood according to the locals. We definitely will not stay there in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elrazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidgLC, Manager at The Big Chile Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

It is unfortunate you did not raise your concerns during your stay, rather than 3 months later on the internet. We regret your stay was less than expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is much more than a standard America's Best Value in: it is an oasis in the desert, providing an inviting atmosphere, with a beautiful koi pond and several BBQs and sitting areas in the court yard. The hotel is lead by the owners themselves and reflects their creativity and love and care for their guests. They just recently created some beautiful mosaics at the entrance and the front desk and "The Biggest Chili", which is also their creation is definitely still a magnet for tourists around the world. I haven't met another hotel here in the US with that much charm!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaegerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I guess we fell into the group that didn't love the Big Chile Inn. We stopped for one night on a trip from CA to Mississippi. We asked for a rollaway bed, but instead they went to our room and made up the sofa bed. That was fine for my teen, although it had a toothbrush in it. (gross!) The staff was very pleasant and accommodating, I just found the whole place somewhere between quaint and tacky, more tacky. The breakfast was pretty sparse and by then I just felt kind of yucky about the place. I wanted to like it, I like to support the locals. I just didn't.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darlene08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidgLC, Manager at The Big Chile Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

When we prepared the bed while you were unpacking, no toothbrush was found. When we asked later if everything was ok, you said yes. It is unfortunate you were unable to contact us during your stay, rather than advise us on the internet of your concerns. Now all we can do is offer our apologies.

For others reading this review, our continental breakfast comprises 4 cereals, danish, muffins, toast, 2 juices, coffee and tea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here one night when traveling to Hatch, NM, for the annual Chile Festival. The "Big Chile Inn" in Las Cruces is a fun and well-kept property with great hospitality. The owner was very welcoming and happy to provide info on local things to see and do. Out front is the "world's largest chile pepper" sculpture, with lots of chile facts. In back is a clean, relaxing pool, a koi pond and collection of desert plants. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadRunner980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Las Cruces
Days Inn Las Cruces
#6 of 34 in Las Cruces
932 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Las Cruces Organ Mountain
2.2 mi away
Best Western Mission Inn
Best Western Mission Inn
#7 of 34 in Las Cruces
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ramada Las Cruces Hotel and Conference Center
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley
3.9 mi away
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Chile Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Chile Inn

Address: 2160 W Picacho Ave, Las Cruces, NM 88007-2302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Las Cruces
Price Range: $63 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Chile Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Big Chile Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing