We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed & good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Big Chile Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Big Chile Inn
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“enjoyed & good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Appreciated the complimentary chips & salsa upon arrival, the spacious room, with fridge, & the helpful desk for good directions & guidance for visitors. Yes, there is a great big, red chile in the front and a little oasis that the owners have created in the back along side of the pool. The breakfast was adequate; the coffee needs to be improved (sorry). But everything else offset that. While there, we met guests who always return there annually who told us by Messilla, a quaint Hispano town nearby. We enjoyed the slower pace before heading towards So NM on our roadtrip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyg223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    135
    40
    22
    13
See reviews for
109
198
72
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carefree, Arizona
Level Contributor
132 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

While the curb appeal of this motel is no too good, our room was a nice surprise. It was spotless! The beds are comfortable, but the a/c unit was a little noisy. (I am a very light sleeper). The owner greeted us and took us to our room. Very friendly and hospitable. There is a pool, garden area, and BBQ grill for your use. Don't miss the giant pepper in the front. (Actually, you can't miss it!). The lobby is huge, and harks back to this motel's earlier days. Breakfast is light with cereal, coffee, juices, and fruit. This motel is a good value for the price.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked here for a business trip to Texas. It is a wonderful place! The owners are extremely nice and even walked us to our rooms. They have a secured fence area for parking which we needed for the load we are hauling with us. They gave us a great little place to eat as a recommendation. This is certainly a nicely run place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackbearpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Driving about 9 hours between Arizona and Texas, we needed somewhere to stay near the highway in New Mexico -- found America's Best Value Inn (Big Chile Inn) on Tripadvisor and made a last minute reservation.

David said he'd gladly hold the room for our late arrival, and even gave us great, detailed directions that would get us there more quickly than our GPS.

Upon arriving, Elina (and her daughter!) were so welcoming and wonderful. The cold drinks, chips and salsa and TV already on our favorite channel just tickled us after our far too long day of driving. The room is certainly no-frills, but it has everything you need (and if it doesn't, a quick call to David/Elina seems to fix that! I found out a second too late that my room didn't have a hair dryer, and within minutes David had whisked one over for us!!). The property is quaint and quirky, with a pool, gardens and a koi pond with waterfall. A fantastic value for the location/amenities/cost -- couldn't have asked for more for our quick stay.

One thing of note (not necessarily a negative, just an FYI) -- the shower head is relatively low on the wall, this was not an issue for me as I'm 5'2", but my boyfriend who is 6'4" found it a bit comical that the shower water hit him pretty much in the midsection.

Thank you David, Elina and family for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentone, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

After driving 655 miles, our reservation at The BIG CHILE INN at 2160 W, Picaho Ave., Las Crucas was in perfect order. The Mothers Day reservation was greeted with 2 cold sodas and some chips and dip to take to our handicap room. The two beds were very comfortable and the handicap shower was one of the best encountered on our three week trip. The hotel was old but in good repair and the bedds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vettefinderjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I read the reviews of this place. Amazing 300 plus. I needed a good cheap overnight motel on my way to Texas from California so I was intrigued to try this place over the chain budget joints. The personal service is really great. Took my reservation over the phone and held a room for my 10pm arrival. The owner brought up chips and salsa when it was obvious I would have trouble finding a place to dine in a town that turns off early. Got a quiet room. It's an older place for sure, but clean and very quiet. AC was good. And the place is filled with roadside artifacts of this "giant chili pepper". I was really impressed how great service can make even an older motel pleasure to stay. Had the usual HBO/wi-fi/continental breakfast combo. I'm going back! Hopefully it won't get too popular so I can still get a last minute reservation. I make this trip a lot.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms on the inside of the courtyard are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

A beautiful garden with a gazebo and a couple of grills outside your room. A koi pond, peaceful. The owners are very nice, and give you chips and salsa when you arrive, plus a beverage. Really quite unexpected. Clean, particular, and they seem to love what they do. Don't miss it. Plus, very inexpensive. If i knew what we were getting i would have paid almost double the price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agkmlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Las Cruces
Days Inn Las Cruces
#3 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 stars 664 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
#9 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mission Inn
BEST WESTERN Mission Inn
#5 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Las Cruces Organ Mountain
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Las Cruces I-25
3.1 mi away
Ramada Las Cruces Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Chile Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Chile Inn

Property: The Big Chile Inn
Address: 2160 West Picacho Ave, Las Cruces, NM 88007
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Chile Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The Big Chile Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing