We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIG CHILE INN.....OLD BUT FUN”
Review of The Big Chile Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Big Chile Inn
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Las Cruces
Reviewed May 26, 2013

After driving 655 miles, our reservation at The BIG CHILE INN at 2160 W, Picaho Ave., Las Crucas was in perfect order. The Mothers Day reservation was greeted with 2 cold sodas and some chips and dip to take to our handicap room. The two beds were very comfortable and the handicap shower was one of the best encountered on our three week trip. The hotel was old but in good repair and the bedds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 541 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

I read the reviews of this place. Amazing 300 plus. I needed a good cheap overnight motel on my way to Texas from California so I was intrigued to try this place over the chain budget joints. The personal service is really great. Took my reservation over the phone and held a room for my 10pm arrival. The owner brought up chips and salsa when it was obvious I would have trouble finding a place to dine in a town that turns off early. Got a quiet room. It's an older place for sure, but clean and very quiet. AC was good. And the place is filled with roadside artifacts of this "giant chili pepper". I was really impressed how great service can make even an older motel pleasure to stay. Had the usual HBO/wi-fi/continental breakfast combo. I'm going back! Hopefully it won't get too popular so I can still get a last minute reservation. I make this trip a lot.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms on the inside of the courtyard are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

A beautiful garden with a gazebo and a couple of grills outside your room. A koi pond, peaceful. The owners are very nice, and give you chips and salsa when you arrive, plus a beverage. Really quite unexpected. Clean, particular, and they seem to love what they do. Don't miss it. Plus, very inexpensive. If i knew what we were getting i would have paid almost double the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agkmlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Spent two nights here when attending our granddaughter's graduation. Selected it for the price and the fact that it is in the top three in Las Cruces on Trip Advisor. It was ok for the price. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was ok. The owners are in the process of revitalizing it, and are doing a good job. It was pretty clean, although I think they could use a lesson in dusting, and it was quiet. The breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CKW65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Las Cruces is the closet place to the White Sands National Monument. The city has really nothing to offer, thus staying there really only serves to be close to the park. The motel is simply great. It starts already at check-in where David will welcome you with a big smile. He will make sure you have all information about the motel (e.g. laundry room, ice machine, pool, etc.). Also, he will bring you a plate of salsa and chips. The rooms are big and include anything you may need. A continental breakfast is also included. Besides this, the inside part of the motel has a little garden with the pool, gazebo and waterfall making it like a small paradise away from the busy street. Of course, the biggest chilly in the world in front of the hotel makes it a true gem in the desert.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room away from the street inside the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DPFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't understate how wonderful this place is. Except for those looking for decadent digs or dirt cheap-don't-hope-to-care-about-anything-else kind of travelers, everyone should love this place. We came in really late (but had called first) and found the owners, David and Eline, waiting up for us. Showed us to our room, offered free refreshments/drinks and brought us a plate of their traditional complementary salsa and chips with strawberries. Pictures tell the rest. In their courtyard one is away from the sounds of the town, relaxing in an oasis.
Secure parking. Pet friendly and we are sorry we left our's home.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Alreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My evaluations are based on what one might expect of an economy hotel. This one isn't perfect, but blows every other economy hotel out of the water. Beautiful courtyard and landscaping, koi pond with water cascade, pool and they're all clean and inviting. Even a gazebo where we at the complimentary chips and salsa. Rooms have some rough edges but are clean and large. Yes the shower head is lower than usual, the door handle isn't new and the electrical outlets are not located where you'd expect, but so what? These rooms are a steal at these prices.

All of the staff, at least the three that I spoke to, were congenial and anxious to help make our stay more enjoyable. The blue towels give a nice home feeling and the room was quiet and everything worked. This will always be our stop when in Las Cruces. Don't pass this one up if you're in the area. We're already looking forward to our return stay.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor by the koi pond and was quiet and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Las Cruces
Days Inn Las Cruces
#7 of 34 in Las Cruces
931 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Las Cruces Organ Mountain
3.1 mi away
Ramada Las Cruces Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Mission Inn
Best Western Mission Inn
#6 of 34 in Las Cruces
661 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
3.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Las Cruces
Staybridge Suites Las Cruces
#13 of 34 in Las Cruces
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Chile Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Chile Inn

Address: 2160 W Picacho Ave, Las Cruces, NM 88007-2302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Las Cruces
Price Range: $62 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Chile Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Big Chile Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing