We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Big Chile Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Big Chile Inn to your Saves list
The Big Chile Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2160 West Picacho Ave, Las Cruces, NM 88007   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My stay at this hotel was just great. The owners and the work they're doing make it a very welcoming and unique and I would stay there again anytime. They pay special attention to their guests, offering chips and salsa while you move into your room! The breakfast was satisfactory and as advertised, the room very clean with real towels. The only drawback was that there was no coffee maker in the room, but all of the other amenities and friendliness of the owners more than made up for it. They even have a desertscape in the courtyard complete with a desert tortoise! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank webster76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    135
    40
    22
    13
See reviews for
109
198
72
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Owner/manager couple were very nice, but ............they purchased a terribly run down property and are trying to revive it. I am afraid they under estimated the challenge and are struggling with the task. Our old conventional tube type TV did not work. Owner came in and fiddled with it unsuccessfully and ultimately replaced it with an older smaller TV that worked. Then the remote did not work. Owner returned to replace it with one that worked. I mentioned to him that he needed to install a rod in the closet space so that customers would have a place to hang their clothes on. He replied that things have a way of disappearing. Bottom line, we folded our clothes and layed them where ever. Bed frame was bigger than bed and I stubbed my toe on it getting into bed. It was a very cold night and we were thankful for a functional heater and had a good nights rest. Breakfast was just ok. The bad news is that as we were leaving town we saw a billboard on the interstate that all of their rooms were 49.95. We paid 59.95 plus taxes and other charges our bill was $69.98. Sure felt like we had been taken advantage of considering the problems we had with the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlunstra2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

They brought a plate of chips as we were unloading car. Nice room, but could do without the mirrored wall. Great real towels in bathroom. Skimpy breakfast choices but restaurant next door. Very interesting lobby. Very homey, very friendly and reasonable. The only thing it lacked for me was coffee maker in room, but no big deal.i'd certainly stay again.good beds!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photocraftarizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My daughter and I stopped here based on the reviews after driving 13 hours. The woman at the front desk was so sweet. After taking us to our room, she came back with chips and salsa!! When has that ever happened to you at a motel? The room was clean and comfortable. There was a continental breakfast in the morning as well. When I checked out, the owner shook my hand and thanked me for staying there. Again, a first for me. One of the best examples of gracious hospitality I have ever experienced at a motel. Thank you so much!!

Room Tip: Price is right, rooms are clean and the owners are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
154 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

The room was clean. So were the bed sheets. Towels were not the standard paper thin in most motels. The owners on site made the difference. They truly made me feel as though they wanted and appreciated my business.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

After "shopping" trip advisor for a decent low cost hotel in Las Cruces, I chose this one based on past reviews. Now, after staying there I have to share that the reviews were right on and the hotel was definitely all they said it was. They staff were amazing, going out of their way to answer questions, provide local maps and directions and suggestions on eateries. The best part of course was walking out your hotel room door into the most pleasant and serene setting of gardens & cactus complete with names and explanations, a gazebo, fire pit, bar-b-ques, swimming pool and koi pond with waterfall. Who could ask for more all for $60/per night. What a steal! Thanks Genivieve - you made our stay perfect!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The owners of this ABVI have a philosophy and practice more like a B&B, at the price of an ABVI. This place has an infinity of beautiful personal touches, such as native plant arrangements and art photography of the owner IN YOUR ROOM. The grounds are like a park or botanic garden, with many plants, some labelled, a coy pond, places to sit and enjoy the garden environment, modern barbecues, and surely I'm forgetting more.
The rooms are spectacular... or at least ours was. It is huge, with a wall that is all mirror, and a large vanity outside the bathroom, along with a closet. Everything worked as it should.
When we arrived we were offered a complimentary beverage from a large selection in a refrigerator case in the lobby, and then we were offered a plate of designer corn chips and salsa. The breakfast is likewise above standard for this category of motel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Las Cruces
Days Inn Las Cruces
#3 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 stars 664 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
#7 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 stars 889 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mission Inn
BEST WESTERN Mission Inn
#4 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Las Cruces Organ Mountain
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Las Cruces I-25
3.1 mi away
Ramada Las Cruces Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Chile Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Chile Inn

Property: The Big Chile Inn
Address: 2160 West Picacho Ave, Las Cruces, NM 88007
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Chile Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Big Chile Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing