We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Friendly and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Big Chile Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Big Chile Inn
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel is run by a very nice and friendly couple. They really make you feel welcome, and it didn't matter that I showed up 1 AM and probably woke the lady up. Room was clean and comfortable. I was traveling cross country and had a nice rest there for one night. If I were passing by again, I would certainly use the same hotel. It also has a huge chilly pepper sculpture in front:)

Room Tip: The lady saw where I parked, and she gave me the room right in front of my car so I don't have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boki011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    135
    40
    22
    14
See reviews for
109
198
73
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
217 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Okay-- chose this place for an overnight based on reviews and price. Pulled into the parking lot at dusk and nearly kept driving. Not the best looking part of town-- Decided to go ahead and go in and check things out. VERY pleasantly surprised! The manager was sweet as can be! Showed me the room to make sure it was good (it was) and then brought us a plate of chips and salsa. Perhaps because it was near dinner time? No idea, but quite nice. The courtyard is really cute and a great place to sit. Very unique. Room was clean and had no complaints at all. Very quiet all evening and night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wings1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for Business for one nite based on reviews from Trip advisor, 1st time in las cruces. This hotel was very clean and the owners were very nice! they even gave me some contacts for my job. they did show up with chips and salsa and it was very good!!
Rooms are great size for the price. And i'm very picky about staying in hotels, in regards to cleanliness.
Was easy to find, decent location.
Will stay again!

Room Tip: Their restaurant is being remodelled so no restaurant onsite at the moment. they are doing renovatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Decent value, I marked cleanliness down as average as there are several aspects of the rooms that could do with refurbishment. The carpet was a little old as were the bed covers. Sheets were fine. Beds are sprung mattresses but OK. As far as budget motels go, just about average

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is an older, but remodeled motel. Several church friends went on a short trip and chose this ABVI. The room my wife and I were given had two pillow top double beds that were very comfortable. Best of all, my handicapped bathroom had enough bars in it to build a jail. Most friendly staff. Stay here with confidence. Don't miss the garden in the hotel courtyard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lowerUStraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Being a government contractor finding a good place to stay at a good price is very nice. The hotel is being maintained very well the bed was very comfortable. The staff went out of their way to accomadate all that I requested and with new modifications the hotel is very visually pleasing. There is a Walgreens within walking distance. With all of this and the reasonable weekly rates my stay in Las Cruces was very enjoyable even though it was for business. I would recomend this hotel to my friends and coworkers if they are traveling and are going to stay in Las Cruces. Thank you again to David and his wife Elina

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard face the new pond and waterfall just installed. It is very aesthetically...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidB69344881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

When we arrived at the hotel, we were checked in very quickly and then escorted to our room by the owner. She went in first to make sure that everything was prepared as she would like. A few minutes later there was a knock at the door and we were presented with a tray of fresh tortilla chips and home made salsa. Such a friendly welcome!

The owners are slowly updating the property. In the meantime, the place is spotless! The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast included slices of melon that was grown in the hotel garden. And then there's the "World's Largest Chile Pepper" out in front!

Room Tip: There are several nearby restaurants. Our first floor room was quiet but it might not be during poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Las Cruces
Days Inn Las Cruces
#4 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 stars 680 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
#7 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 stars 912 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mission Inn
BEST WESTERN Mission Inn
#6 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Las Cruces Organ Mountain
3.1 mi away
Ramada Las Cruces Hotel and Conference Center
4.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces
Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces
#1 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Chile Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Chile Inn

Property: The Big Chile Inn
Address: 2160 W Picacho Ave, Las Cruces, NM 88007-2302
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Chile Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Big Chile Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing