We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great owners will stay again!”
Review of The Big Chile Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Big Chile Inn
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great owners will stay again!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for Business for one nite based on reviews from Trip advisor, 1st time in las cruces. This hotel was very clean and the owners were very nice! they even gave me some contacts for my job. they did show up with chips and salsa and it was very good!!
Rooms are great size for the price. And i'm very picky about staying in hotels, in regards to cleanliness.
Was easy to find, decent location.
Will stay again!

Room Tip: Their restaurant is being remodelled so no restaurant onsite at the moment. they are doing renovatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    136
    43
    25
    18
See reviews for
111
203
75
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Decent value, I marked cleanliness down as average as there are several aspects of the rooms that could do with refurbishment. The carpet was a little old as were the bed covers. Sheets were fine. Beds are sprung mattresses but OK. As far as budget motels go, just about average

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is an older, but remodeled motel. Several church friends went on a short trip and chose this ABVI. The room my wife and I were given had two pillow top double beds that were very comfortable. Best of all, my handicapped bathroom had enough bars in it to build a jail. Most friendly staff. Stay here with confidence. Don't miss the garden in the hotel courtyard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowerUStraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Being a government contractor finding a good place to stay at a good price is very nice. The hotel is being maintained very well the bed was very comfortable. The staff went out of their way to accomadate all that I requested and with new modifications the hotel is very visually pleasing. There is a Walgreens within walking distance. With all of this and the reasonable weekly rates my stay in Las Cruces was very enjoyable even though it was for business. I would recomend this hotel to my friends and coworkers if they are traveling and are going to stay in Las Cruces. Thank you again to David and his wife Elina

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard face the new pond and waterfall just installed. It is very aesthetically...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidB69344881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

When we arrived at the hotel, we were checked in very quickly and then escorted to our room by the owner. She went in first to make sure that everything was prepared as she would like. A few minutes later there was a knock at the door and we were presented with a tray of fresh tortilla chips and home made salsa. Such a friendly welcome!

The owners are slowly updating the property. In the meantime, the place is spotless! The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast included slices of melon that was grown in the hotel garden. And then there's the "World's Largest Chile Pepper" out in front!

Room Tip: There are several nearby restaurants. Our first floor room was quiet but it might not be during poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Had a great stay in Las Cruces at ABVI. Called ahead to let them know we'd be getting in late (around 2 am) and they met us at the front door (it's a couple that owns the place -- no other staff that I saw). They gave us a room right out front (convenient when arriving at 2 am with a 3 year old).

All clean and comfy. Beds are firm, but comfy. The one drawback is that the bathroom light is directly tied to the outer bathroom entry-way lights. This is a frustrating thing when you need to go to the bathroom when it's late -- the whole room gets lit up and people wake up (including the previously mentioned 3 year old).

The location was near other, older hotels in an area of town that's seen better days (but close to a bunch of things, including downtown). I wasn't bothered by it, but it's certainly not the most scenic/posh part of town.

The owners seem to be in a perpetual state of changes/updates/improvements -- a labor of love (or craziness!). They're working on the interior courtyard now (they've put a huge chile replica out front). Pool is there and open. Koi pond is in progress (koi currently live in an above ground pool behind a fence) and tons of other landscaping is happening (gazebo, gas grills, etc.).

Anyway, great stay and I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebago lake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Staying here is like going home or staying with friends. David and Elina are 2 -beautiful people.Hotels are just buildings with beds ,this place is clean so much character has been put in by owners and all the patrons get to know each other,We will be moving to LC NM and We always stay at Americas Best Valiue LC.Many thanks for Your kindness and great service always ,Love Tim and Barb P from Maine

Room Tip: just request what You want They will make it happen
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Las Cruces
Days Inn Las Cruces
#6 of 33 in Las Cruces
890 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Mission Inn
Best Western Mission Inn
#7 of 33 in Las Cruces
629 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ramada Las Cruces Hotel and Conference Center
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Las Cruces Organ Mountain
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Chile Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Chile Inn

Property: The Big Chile Inn
Address: 2160 W Picacho Ave, Las Cruces, NM 88007-2302
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Chile Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Big Chile Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing