We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character”
Review of The Big Chile Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Big Chile Inn
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Las Cruces
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Booked last minute on our way from Vegas to San Antonio based on reviews. Super professional and friendly staff! They have the world's largest chile pepper in front and give you Chips and Salsa- pretty cute and charming!!! Our room was clean and comfy-what more could you ask for at a really cheap price. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristinBeth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 543 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

I passed through Las Cruces on my way to see White Sands and read good reviews about this place, so I booked it.

The rooms are huge, furbished in standard US motel kind of way: king-size bed, fridge, microwave, a small couch, table and one or two chairs. I did neither expect nor need more for just one night. My room smelt a bit weird, not sure was it was, it smelled somewhat, hm, "old" is probably the word I would use. Nothing to worry about, though, and nothing you really need to be bothered by.

The motel has a patio and a pool, which is currently being remodelled. Parking is right in front of the motel and free, they have free WiFi in the room and it worked well.

Location-wise, this hotel is at the Western end of the town, so not really in the center, but chances are you're not there by public transportation, so it really doesn't matter.

So all in all, this is a standard, basic place. What really makes the motel outstanding is the staff. The owners are extremely friendly, caring, helpful and upbeat. And yes, you really do get a plate of chips and salsa - I even got mine delivered to my room. This is extraordinary.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samaire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

First impressions go a long way with this motel. From the moment we stepped into the lobby everything was clean, bright and welcoming. Customer service is taken seriously; every staff member had a smile and warm greeting. Located on Motel Avenue amid rundown 70’s (or earlier era) motels but this America’s Best Value Inn is not like it’s neighbors. It’s wonderful! Let’s see …. Where do I start: The comfy bed with soft mismatched sheets, the power strips on the walls (there are 3), the large fluffy bath towels, the platter of chips and salsa delivered to our door within 15 minutes of our arrival, the bright room lighting, the desk/table with office type chair, quiet and strong A/C (which was on when we walked in the door during a 100 degree day), large bath counters and vanity area, free and fast WIFI, koi pond, fridge & microwave, nightlight. The list keeps going. They thought of every detail a traveler could want. The rooms are bright, clean (very), smell nice and are nicely remodeled. Clean carpets (I’m barefoot in here). And all for $54 (veteran discount)!!!!
The owners, David and Elina are great innkeepers and made sure we were happily settled in our room. He even walked us to the room and pointed out a better place for us to park. There is a very good reason this place is #1 on Trip Advisor for Las Cruces and David and Elina work hard to keep it there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hayesworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I read that and thought the "chips and salsa" thing was untrue, but they really do bring it. The two people who were running it, a friendly Aussie guy and a nice Asian lady, were both helpful and friendly. They seemed to treat the place like it was their own house.

Very clean, good location, no issues at all about the room. When we were there, they were working on installing a koi pond. The Aussie guy gave us a quick tour of the temporary koi pond and showed us what they were doing. I was a bit worried that construction workers or noise would be a problem but it was never an issue at all.

They seemed proud of the pool that has been recently installed. It was clean but we didn't like the layout at all. First, the deepest part is 4'3". Secondly, it's only even that "deep" at the center. Both sides slope up to 3'. It makes it hard to even swim a lap. We did swim but really, the pool isn't that great. If a pool is important to you, maybe another motel will have a better one that isn't so shallow and poorly-designed.

The room rate we paid was incredibly low and we feel like we got a tremendous value here. We would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TXguy076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The staff in this place is fantastic! We were shown to our room and brought a plate of chips, salsa, and grapes. Then the front desk clerk knocked on the door and offered to show my kids the pool where the koi were being kept while a new pond is being built.
We were made to feel like we were guests in their home. I would recommend this to anyone. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AprilLooWho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Just arrived and all of the excellent reviews are true, this place is great! From a drink and a snack, to escorting us to the room and making sure we have what we need, even offering the laundry room!! We have stayed in many hotels around the world and the service of this one is tops! The rooms are really clean, it smelled amazing when we came in, and we had the perfect location by the pool. We were planning on staying just a night as we are making our rounds on a 2 wk road trip but I think we may stay another night and relax :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MommyJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stopped here on a 5 week road trip across the SW US with husband and kids. The owners were very gracious and friendly, showed us two room options prior to booking, bought chips and salsa to our room, and made an excellent recommendation for dinner at Marachi's. The room was clean with great curtains that kept out the light for some catch up sleep, and had all of what you would expect in a budget-friendly hotel. Again, this is a budget-friendly hotel, if you are looking for a larger breakfast selection or cookie cutter decor, then there are plenty of $100 plus room options in Las Cruces.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Las Cruces
Days Inn Las Cruces
#7 of 34 in Las Cruces
944 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Mission Inn
Best Western Mission Inn
#5 of 34 in Las Cruces
688 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Las Cruces Organ Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley
3.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Las Cruces
Staybridge Suites Las Cruces
#15 of 34 in Las Cruces
162 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Palms de Las Cruces Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Chile Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Chile Inn

Address: 2160 W Picacho Ave, Las Cruces, NM 88007-2302
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Las Cruces
Price Range: $60 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Chile Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Big Chile Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing