We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than you would expect from a "budget" motel.”
Review of The Big Chile Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Big Chile Inn
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Las Cruces
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I saw that this motel was rated very high in Las Cruces so I thought I'd check it out. The friendliness of the owners, Elina and David is top notch. I was offered either water or a soft drink upon checking in, then later one of the owners brought a complimentary plate of chips and salsa, and fruit, by the room. The lobby is HUGE and includes a grand piano. The pool area is decorated with lots of outdoor artwork and there are dozens of different kinds of plants around the pool. The room is large, very clean, and well appointed and everything works. There's even a free breakfast in the morning. It all adds up to a great, very affordable place, and one that I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor with queen beds allow you to park right in front of the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyboy1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 541 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

Owners were so welcoming and friendly, rooms were nice and clean and the garden was a lovely little gem to relax or dine in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jibbajabba3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

It is a gem under the motels. This family owned motel is outstanding: It has a beautiful garden setting and a very nice pool. Plus it provides BBQ. It is more like a vacation hotel rather than a regular motel. The rooms are spacious and very clean. It is very quite and the owners Elina and David are very nice. When we arrived, they served us delicious tacos with chili sauce. We were so glad having found this place that we stayed one more day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

After two weeks of sight seeing (Houston, Dallas, Amarillo, White Sands and Carlsbad Caverns) we were kind of exhausted and stopped for the night at the Best Value Inn of Las Cruces NM. We felt kind of at home from the very first moment. The owners (Elina and her husband - very friendly) personally cared for the guest`s service. We felt, that both of them really cared for the cosy atmosphere. Although some remodeling was in progress it was so quietly conducted, that the afternoon stay in the sunny garden was really relaxing - we stayed there for an extra night. And we´ll stay there again whenever we come close, thanks to Elina.
Friedrich Bott, Gablonzer Str. 3, 91207 Lauf, Germany

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Friedrich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here twice in April..once on my drive to Texas and once on my drive back to California. Its the perfect half way point and had the best reviews in Las Cruces, and you can't beat the $65 a night price! David and his wife were the nicest people all of New Mexico..so kind and accommodating. I parked my full car right in front of the room, and he brought chips, salsa, and fresh strawberries to the room which held us over perfectly until breakfast the next morning. The rooms were decent, clean and cozy. Family owned, and they live there so they are always there if you need anything. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xsammajamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Came to Las Cruces for 2 weeks to see Dr. Berkson., Americas Best Value Inn was such an amazing experience. The price is better than right, the owners are beyond hospitable. They make you feel like one of the family. Everytime we came in there was a warm hello and "how are you doing?"

Elina has several vegetables and berries growing all around the area. There are several BBQ's for your use and gazebos if you care to hang out there or eat your meals outside.

We will be staying here on our next trip to Las Cruces and have recommended it to the other patients we met. Can't say enough about this friendly, down home place.

Do yourself a favor and save some money and have a great time!!

Linda
Playa Vista , Calif.

Room Tip: We were in 144 and it was very clean, bright (when the block out curtains were open) and quiet. Loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

My friends and I stayed here for 1 night but would have loved to stay longer. The room we booked was upgraded on arrival and the service we received was exceptional. Drinks and snacks on arrival. Wonderful, relaxing pool area and amazing views of the mountains. I would recommend this place to everyone :)

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gls09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Las Cruces
Days Inn Las Cruces
#6 of 34 in Las Cruces
932 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Las Cruces Organ Mountain
2.2 mi away
Best Western Mission Inn
Best Western Mission Inn
#7 of 34 in Las Cruces
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ramada Las Cruces Hotel and Conference Center
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley
3.9 mi away
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Chile Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Chile Inn

Address: 2160 W Picacho Ave, Las Cruces, NM 88007-2302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Las Cruces
Price Range: $63 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Chile Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Big Chile Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing