We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel, but There is an Overwhelming Odor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express & Suites was typically clean and nice as most of the chain are, but there was a extremely overwhelming smell of cleaner or deodorizer as soon as you walked in the lobby. It smelled as though one of the men in the lobby had put on way too much cologne. At first, that's what I thought it was until we proceeded to our room and the smell was throughout the hotel. It is less extreme in the room and hallway to the room, but the complete lobby area, including the breakfast area, was quite smelly. I think we got used to it as we were in the room, but it was not pleasant.

Other than the smell, the room and bed were quite comfortable and were nothing less than expected from a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatriz Q, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Kathleen L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our property.

We apologize for the strength of our air freshener. We are currently taking steps to remedy the situation. We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Once again, Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Sincerely,

Daniel D
Front Desk Manager
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Las Cruces

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 153 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

My stay with Holiday hotels are typically allright (comfortabe beds) but this hotel has a deodorizing system in their air conditioning system that can be harmful to your well being! Although I complained they did not offer to move me from the first floor and I assume because it is in the entire complex. So remember if it smells in the lobby it will smell in your room all night!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Golftigress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatriz Q, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Golftigress,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our property.

We apologize for the inconvenience our air freshener caused you. Please know that we are currently taking steps to remedy the strength of our air freshener.

We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Daniel D
Front Desk Manager
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Las Cruces NM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were traveling cross country and stayed in nothing but Holiday Inn Express (LOVE the beds). We were surprised that the price was as high as it was in Las Cruces, considering the rooms were not the newer, modern designs and the AC didn't work very well. Of all the Holiday Inn Express hotels we stayed in this was the MOST expensive and was not the nicest. The price was still decent though, just about $20 over the others we stayed in. The hotel itself was clean and the staff was friendly. The guy at the front desk fibbed to us a little (it was obvious) about room availability and pricing but we were so tired we didn't bother to point it out. We slept well (didn't hear the noise others have commented on here). The breakfast was ok... enough to start your day. All in all its a good hotel and I'd stay here again....but Holiday Inn Express has done better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KRBatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Initially, we were very pleased with the hotel as it was very clean with polite staff and modern amenities (granite countertops, great bed, etc). After a nice afternoon shopping and eating in the quaint town of Mesilla (just a few miles away), we were ready to hit the sheets. We were very disappointed to find that the air conditioning just shuts off periodically for no apparent reason. We called the front desk in the middle of the night to ensure the AC was set correctly and the concierge said, "Yea, it just does that. I think it's because it's 'green' or something." We were also super annoyed by the thin walls and poor noise insulation as we heard screaming children through the night. Last small annoyance, they didn't have a vending machine for snacks, so don't come here hungry.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed here on a road trip from San Francisco to Austin on our second night stop. Nice spacious rooms, with comfortable beds and very clean. Only drawback was the noise of trains through the night. Kept waking us up. Also AC unit is noisy. Convenient to highway and while we skipped breakfast they had a good assortment of items.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 808AlwaysSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear 808AlwaysSunny,

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the room and the location of the hotel. However, we are sincerely sorry for the issues you had with the noise. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed at this Holiday inn Express for three nights in July. We chose this hotel so it would be close to Truth or Consequences and Carlsbad Caverns. It was very easy on/off highway and to downtown. Gas station was also located next door.

Hotel seemed like it was a newer hotel and was very clean.

The front desk clerk when we checked in seemed to rush us, even though there was no one else waiting. When I asked for a complimentary upgrade he replied that is only for their "elite?" guests. But, i could have an upgrade if I wanted to pay more. (Well, why then wouldn't I have paid more when I first booked if I wanted an upgraded room? - Other hotels let you have complimetary upgrades if available. He wasn't the friendliest person.

Our room consisted of two queen beds, apartment size refrigerator, small microwave and a small counter area and sink. Room was clean and we had enough counter space for storing all our belongings.

Unfortunately, after waking the first night we found ants everywhere in the cabinets where we stored our food. Alot of our food had to be thrown out..including our Krispy Kreme boxes of donuts we bought for the next two days! The ants really enjoyed them!

I called down to the front desk as soon as I saw them and the same unfriendly man at the desk was friendlier this time and said he would move our room and upgrade us. We moved ourselves about 10 minutes later to a higher floor with a new room that had the same microwave and refrigerator, but it had a large sitting area, sleeper sofa, coffee table, and much larger two bedroom area. It also had a ceiling fan and I think a larger desk.

Breakfast consisted of make your own pancakes, fresh fruit, cinnamon rolls, english muffins, breads, cereals, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, biscuits and gravy..standard Holiday Inn foods.

Overall, the price was fair for the hotel, the location was good for downtown and highway location, and it was clean.

Tip: Be sure to ask for a room that had already been treated for ants, as we later found out after they treat a room, the ants move to another room and it starts all over. We were originally on the 2nd floor, but were moved to the 3rd floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has already been treated for the ant problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teambono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Easy to relax and unwind. Rooms nice size. Comfy beds, fluffy comforters, very clean. Inside pool is awesome with jacuzzi, sauna, and outdoor sitting area. Maids and staff professional and friendly. Only con is the overbearing foo foo flowery smell upon entering but thankfully its just the front area.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruznthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Las Cruces I-10
4.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Las Cruces
Staybridge Suites Las Cruces
#15 of 34 in Las Cruces
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Las Cruces North
0.8 mi away
Best Western Mission Inn
Best Western Mission Inn
#5 of 34 in Las Cruces
708 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces
Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces
#2 of 34 in Las Cruces
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces

Address: 2635 S Valley Dr, Las Cruces, NM 88005-3368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Las Cruces
Price Range: $95 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces. Enjoy a relaxing stay in our beautiful Las Cruces Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites near New Mexico State University and just a few minutes from historic Old Mesilla. Families enjoy this Southern New Mexico hotel because of our great location near New Mexico State University,and because we are conveniently located just off I-10 and I-25 with easy access to nearby Las Cruces attractions. These attractions include Historic Old Mesilla,the New Mexico Farm & Ranch Heritage Museum and the Las Cruces Farmers & Crafts Market. Leisure travelers can shop at nearby Mesilla Valley Mall or the historic Old Mesilla Plaza, featuring over 40 Southwestern craft shops. Lodging in Las Cruces puts you in the center of the Old West's history. Why settle for cheap lodging in Las Cruces, New Mexico when you can enjoy our comfortable and smoke free hotel near Old Mesilla? Business travelers will appreciate our close location to New Mexico State University, as well as our meeting rooms, free high-speed Internet access and a 24-hour business center with copy, print and fax services. Our Southern New Mexico hotel provides a complimentary hot breakfast bar, a well-equipped, 24-hour fitness center and an indoor, heated pool with a spa & steam room. Book your reservations now and take advantage of our great Las Cruces hotel deals and rates for your next stay in New Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Las Cruces
Las Cruces Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Las Cruces

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing