We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but poor AC and noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but poor AC and noisy!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Initially, we were very pleased with the hotel as it was very clean with polite staff and modern amenities (granite countertops, great bed, etc). After a nice afternoon shopping and eating in the quaint town of Mesilla (just a few miles away), we were ready to hit the sheets. We were very disappointed to find that the air conditioning just shuts off periodically for no apparent reason. We called the front desk in the middle of the night to ensure the AC was set correctly and the concierge said, "Yea, it just does that. I think it's because it's 'green' or something." We were also super annoyed by the thin walls and poor noise insulation as we heard screaming children through the night. Last small annoyance, they didn't have a vending machine for snacks, so don't come here hungry.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    47
    16
    5
    7
See reviews for
57
43
4
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed here on a road trip from San Francisco to Austin on our second night stop. Nice spacious rooms, with comfortable beds and very clean. Only drawback was the noise of trains through the night. Kept waking us up. Also AC unit is noisy. Convenient to highway and while we skipped breakfast they had a good assortment of items.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 808AlwaysSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear 808AlwaysSunny,

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the room and the location of the hotel. However, we are sincerely sorry for the issues you had with the noise. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed at this Holiday inn Express for three nights in July. We chose this hotel so it would be close to Truth or Consequences and Carlsbad Caverns. It was very easy on/off highway and to downtown. Gas station was also located next door.

Hotel seemed like it was a newer hotel and was very clean.

The front desk clerk when we checked in seemed to rush us, even though there was no one else waiting. When I asked for a complimentary upgrade he replied that is only for their "elite?" guests. But, i could have an upgrade if I wanted to pay more. (Well, why then wouldn't I have paid more when I first booked if I wanted an upgraded room? - Other hotels let you have complimetary upgrades if available. He wasn't the friendliest person.

Our room consisted of two queen beds, apartment size refrigerator, small microwave and a small counter area and sink. Room was clean and we had enough counter space for storing all our belongings.

Unfortunately, after waking the first night we found ants everywhere in the cabinets where we stored our food. Alot of our food had to be thrown out..including our Krispy Kreme boxes of donuts we bought for the next two days! The ants really enjoyed them!

I called down to the front desk as soon as I saw them and the same unfriendly man at the desk was friendlier this time and said he would move our room and upgrade us. We moved ourselves about 10 minutes later to a higher floor with a new room that had the same microwave and refrigerator, but it had a large sitting area, sleeper sofa, coffee table, and much larger two bedroom area. It also had a ceiling fan and I think a larger desk.

Breakfast consisted of make your own pancakes, fresh fruit, cinnamon rolls, english muffins, breads, cereals, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, biscuits and gravy..standard Holiday Inn foods.

Overall, the price was fair for the hotel, the location was good for downtown and highway location, and it was clean.

Tip: Be sure to ask for a room that had already been treated for ants, as we later found out after they treat a room, the ants move to another room and it starts all over. We were originally on the 2nd floor, but were moved to the 3rd floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has already been treated for the ant problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teambono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Easy to relax and unwind. Rooms nice size. Comfy beds, fluffy comforters, very clean. Inside pool is awesome with jacuzzi, sauna, and outdoor sitting area. Maids and staff professional and friendly. Only con is the overbearing foo foo flowery smell upon entering but thankfully its just the front area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruznthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stay here several times a year. The staff are friendly and helpful. I stay at a number of HIE and this is the most consistent and well maintained. A little train noise but other than that no complaints

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOROTAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel in itself is great, with great rooms, bathrooms and breakfast room. The location however, is not good. Located next to a big and buisy intersection, which also has a railroad next to it, makes the noise from outside quite loud in the room during the night. The trains even honked their horns in the middle of the night.
Would have given this hotel top score if not for the location, and also because of the indoor pool - which was not very clean, and had tiny ants on the floor next to the doors outside. Was bitten when I sat down next to the doors. Would have loved an outdoors pool in stead.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

To start off with, before I could get inside the hotel I was asked if I would like to 'party' with some girls. No thanks, but I did call the local police. There are about 5 other hotels all nearby, & they were making the rounds.

The HIX is actually a very nice property, inside @ out. My main complaint, just like the reviewer below me, is the a/c. I checked in, the room was hot. Turned down the thermostat, went to dinner, came back 1 1/2 hrs later, room still hot. And, just like the other reviewer, it stops in the middle of the night. I got up 3 times to re-start it. It's a shame, as the people are nice, & property appears to be well-maintained. I don't know how much $ management saves by using the horrible motion detector, but I can guarantee you it's not $100 a night, which is what they're not getting from me tonight. I switched hotels.

Also, I don't understand why this property is listed as a b&b instead of a hotel. I know there is another HIX in Las Cruces, which is listed as a hotel. Seems that tripadvisor needs to change the classification.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cryoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Cryoking,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and maintenance of our property.

However, We’re sorry about the air conditioning and the prostitution outside the hotel. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Las Cruces I-10
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces
Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces
#2 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mission Inn
BEST WESTERN Mission Inn
#7 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces
Address: 2635 S Valley Dr, Las Cruces, NM 88005-3368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Las Cruces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces. Enjoy a relaxing stay in our beautiful Las Cruces Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites near New Mexico State University and just a few minutes from historic Old Mesilla. Families enjoy this Southern New Mexico hotel because of our great location near New Mexico State University,and because we are conveniently located just off I-10 and I-25 with easy access to nearby Las Cruces attractions. These attractions include Historic Old Mesilla,the New Mexico Farm & Ranch Heritage Museum and the Las Cruces Farmers & Crafts Market. Leisure travelers can shop at nearby Mesilla Valley Mall or the historic Old Mesilla Plaza, featuring over 40 Southwestern craft shops. Lodging in Las Cruces puts you in the center of the Old West's history. Why settle for cheap lodging in Las Cruces, New Mexico when you can enjoy our comfortable and smoke free hotel near Old Mesilla? Business travelers will appreciate our close location to New Mexico State University, as well as our meeting rooms, free high-speed Internet access and a 24-hour business center with copy, print and fax services. Our Southern New Mexico hotel provides a complimentary hot breakfast bar, a well-equipped, 24-hour fitness center and an indoor, heated pool with a spa & steam room. Book your reservations now and take advantage of our great Las Cruces hotel deals and rates for your next stay in New Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Las Cruces
Las Cruces Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Las Cruces

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing