We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some interesting farm antiques but not friendly” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Mexico Farm and Ranch Heritage Museum

New Mexico Farm and Ranch Heritage Museum
Ranked #4 of 49 things to do in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Some interesting farm antiques but not friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The staff at the front desk and in the animal shed may have been the only unfriendly, inattentive people we met in our 3 wonderful weeks in Las Cruces. The farm antiques in the main hall were interesting. There was a sheep shearing in the sheep barn but the doors were all locked and those inside did not respond to your presence.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greybutstillgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    60
    20
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Educational and Entertaining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Besides getting up close and personal with farm animals (I saw my first Texas Longhorn!), you'll see volunteers demonstrating various farm or ranch activities, changing art exhibits, great displays of everything from colorful/classic/creative hand-sewn quilts to an interesting historical collection of both wagon wheels and John Deere tractors from over the years. Don't miss the gift shop free wine tasting--you'll likely end up taking home some of the tasty local wines! Well worth the small admission fee.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Renee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Exceeded our Expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went here to kill some time, but ended up loving it. The highlight for us was the talk on dowsing (divining). It captured the imagination of all five of us (my husband and I, as well as our three kids). We ended up buying some dowsing rods for $5 in the gift shop an have been dowsing ever since. My 11 year old is really into it.

We also enjoyed the rest of the museum and walking out among the livestock pens afterwards. We caught the tail end of the milking demonstration and it also seemed excellent.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusanMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
2 reviews
“Beautiful spot for a wedding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

My sister got married here and the location is gorgeous. All of the wedding pictures have the beautiful purple Organ Mountains in the background. The wedding was outside but there was an option to quickly move it inside if it rained. Marci Dickerson with Dickerson's Catering did the decorations, food, and drinks. She even assisted the wedding photographer to make sure we got to all of the picturesque spots. It was a fun filled evening and we (along with the bride and groom) didn't have to worry about a thing. Great choice!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PedroLCNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really a Surprize”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stopped in here by chance and really enjoyed it very informative and interesting information. The blacksmith pounded out a nail for me. Learned about the big water windmills and how they work plus information about Las Cruces the town would reccommend it to anyone.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SeatteWAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Mexico Farm and Ranch Heritage Museum also viewed

 

Been to New Mexico Farm and Ranch Heritage Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing