We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Salad Bar Excells” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cattle Baron Steak & Seafood

Cattle Baron Steak & Seafood
Ranked #20 of 370 Restaurants in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Salad Bar Excells”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Several Las Cruces restaurants feature a salad bar, but the Cattle Baron's is by far the best in my experience. Also, the draft beer selection includes dark ales as well as good ole Dos Equis Lager. I liked the straw onion rings they had on their old menu better than what they serve now, but you can't beat their generous, delicious burgers and fries. Great value overall.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ParticularPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    82
    29
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Top Salad Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband loves the salad bar and gets that as his meal. I have had really good prime rib here. We try to go before 4:00 pm to get the lunch prices! Great deal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ViejaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average steak for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Was here on business and decided to try this place. The atmosphere is very nice and is very casual. I started with the salad bar which has something for everyone. That was the best part of my meal. I ordered a strip steak which was just ok. There was hardly any flavor to it. My side was the vegetable of the day, which was broccoli...that looked and tasted like it was left over from the day before. Next time I am in town, I will skip the steak and go for some local cuisine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bcs1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Awful Service and Cold Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We went on Easter Sunday and sat in the bar because the restaurant was full. It went down hill from there. The waitress was vague, forgot our menus, forgot butter for the bread...twice. The food was cold when we got it....The second order of bread we got was raw in the middle and no butter. Cold shrivelled up chips, cold onion rings...just nasty. Coke was flat and it took 15 mins to pay our bill.....awful Service equals no tip!!

Helpful?
Thank Lyndel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
151 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good, really good salad bar, menu needs to be updated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a consistently good restaurant with a solid basic menu selection. We have lived here 15 years and I notice almost no change in product offering. Frankly, I am "tired" of rarely seeing something new. Maybe that is good.....I am not sure. For visitors - I would recommend the specialty "steak toppings", the already mentioned salad bar, and the catfish. I wish the bread were more "yeasty" as what they serve has little flavor. (there are so many other restaurants that have really good bread, that this is kind of a big deal). Prices are a tiny bit on the high side - for this area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NMGIRL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cattle Baron Steak & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Cattle Baron Steak & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing