We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greasy and thin”
Review of Saenz Gorditas

Saenz Gorditas
Ranked #77 of 379 Restaurants in Las Cruces
Cuisines: Mexican
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Greasy and thin”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

After living in LC for 10 years and driving by on a regular basis, I tried this place out. Long story short this is not the gordita capital of the world. Very disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
203 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“For Gorditas this place can't be beat”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The Gorditas at Saenz are the best in Las Cruces. The masa is fresh and the fillings are seasoned well. The beans and taco are also good but the rice is only average. The food makes up for the rundown external appearance.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Hootyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wow!!! Real authentic Mexican food!!" No canned Chile here ""!”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

The best gorditas in town!! The tacos are so good I ate six LOL ""!! All around good food here "!! Keep it up! !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellant Gorditas, Excellant Value”
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Once again experience has proven that the best food is usually found in the most unlikely places. From the outside, Saenz Gorditas' is a run down drive-in restaurant from yesteryear which one would normally drive right by. I am glad I didn't.

I had the gordita plate which came with rice and refried beans. The gorditas were fairly large and stuffed with carne asada instead of the customary ground meat. I could have used more rice and beans, but they were very fresh tasting. The salsa that came with the plate was very good as well.

The wait staff was friendly and very helpful in explaining the menu. I beleive the owner was in the back and she inquired how we liked the food.

You can eat the food in your car or on one of the metal picnic tables. There is also a drive through window.

And finally, the prices are very, very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best Gordita I've Ever Had!”
Reviewed February 25, 2011

This is one of the best places to eat in Las Cruces! The building looks like an older Sonic style building, but you can drive thru or go to the walk up window.

We ordered a gordita and taco meal with a side of chips-n-salsa. The gorditas were amazing! The beans were amazing! The rice was delicious! Tacos were great and they came with guacamole (some of the best I have ever had). In addition, they serve some of the best salsa I have had in New Mexico. Everything we ordered tasted fresh and homemade.

Some of the best Mexican style food I have ever had!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMike28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saenz Gorditas also viewed

 

Been to Saenz Gorditas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing