We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent golf course”
Review of Red Hawk Golf Club

Red Hawk Golf Club
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent golf course”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very good fairways, excellent but difficult greens, wonderful and kind staff.. all these advantages at a very reasonable price.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Viyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Keep Your Shots Low”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a very challenging links style course that punishes guys that like to hit long slices and then try to recover from the rough. If you don't stay on the fairway here you will likely never find your ball. Even if you do find it, the rough is fearsome indeed, especially in the Summer, when you may find a rattlesnake wrapped around your ball. All of the bunkers, fairway and greenside, are well-groomed with deep, soft sand and high lips. There are no trees and the course snakes around rolling hills on the high plains at the base of the Dona Ana Mtns, so it is exposed to all kinds of wind. Keep your shots low to minimize the effect of the wind. It's better to hit an accurate stroke from a little further back on the fairway than to try to recover from the rough or a bunker. In addition, the course boasts a spectacular 270 deg view of the area, a comfortable clubhouse with decent food & beverages, and a staff that is cheerful, enthusiastic, and friendly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Golf Club Experience Hands-down Every Time!!!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My favorite golf course including: difficulty, customer service, atmosphere, views and greens, has always been Mesa Verde Country Club in Southern California-my home town, until now! Red Hawk is my new favorite. Difficulty, customer service, atmosphere, views and greens are amazing. Great game of golf- course is a challenge!! I swear I was at a course in Southern California when it comes to sitting on their patio. So peace, out away from everything. It's a track but well worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Emarizona16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
1 review
“Gorgeous and Fair”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I've played out at Red Hawk many times and it is a treat each time. The view from the course it amazing, the course it self is in fantastic shape and the staff is so very kind and helpful. Some may say it is a bit expensive but is very competetive with the other courses in town and offers some great deals and discounts. As well, the food and beverage side of the course is top notch. The food was delicous and the bar had a great variety.
This course is definitely one of the best in New Mexico and I see it only getting better!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Challenging yet fun”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Las Cruces New Mexico has great weather year round, but it's needed a course like this for a long time, its got great practice facilities and is alot of fun to play.. It can play tough but its still fair... I believe it's a hidden gem and possibly one if the best courses in the state.

Helpful?
Thank Jamesd1283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Hawk Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Red Hawk Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing