We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
hippie hikes.

not for the faint hearted.new mexico is a hot part of the country. a huge variety of insects... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Jestion S
Back to nature in New Mexico

This place is very serene and has fantastic scenery. It sits at the foothills of the Organ... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Jose F
,
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Read all 411 reviews
  
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveler rating
274
109
18
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
109
18
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dripping springs easy hike organ mountains visitor center nice hike la cueva beautiful scenery great place to hike miles round trip national monument bring water mountain camp hiking trails no pets great hiking short hike mule deer
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 406 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

not for the faint hearted.new mexico is a hot part of the country. a huge variety of insects, wildlife, and plants. there is a waterfall and its definetly worth the hike. i reccomend you to check out the catwalk in new mexico if you really want an authentic southwest outdoors experience that you will remember a lifetime...
god took his time on that one...

1  Thank Jestion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is very serene and has fantastic scenery. It sits at the foothills of the Organ mountains with a running creek and some historical buildings from an era gone by. It's definitely worth a look and it's an inexpensive way to hike in nature in nice surroundings. There are different trails that vary in length, but you will need to be able to walk quite a bit. The sun rises behind the mountains but when conditions are just right, you will see extraordinary colors and you can see forever from the higher elevations.

Thank Jose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am a flat lander and the higher altitude did make my hike to the spring a little longer, but it was well worth the walk. I took water and took several breaks, even as out of shape as I am it was an easy walk. I even carried a Canon Rebel with a 70-200. It is uphill most of the way to the springs. Only a few people on the trail so no huge crowds to deal with. I probably took 20 or more minutes enjoying the view and taking pictures. Could be the time of the year but saw very little wildlife. Some smaller bugs and 1 big to me spider. The way back I got lucky with cloud coverage and going downhill.

1  Thank sanjeev317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Turned left at the wrong sign in town and ended up driving to Dripping Springs. Good mistake. Ranger told us about the trails and some history. Decided we'd go for a walk. Neither of us ready to hike, wife was in a dress and sandals! Made the trek to the cave and really enjoyed the scenery and the history of the place. Very cool. Love to go back prepared and make a day of it.

2  Thank 69Goatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

We did both walks. The first one to the Sanatorium was just gorgeous. It was easy but because it was rocky it was a little challenging at the same time but just enough to keep it interesting :-). Amazing scenery and awe inspiring. One of the highlights of our whole trip. The walk to the cave we did the next day. It was much shorter but there's a real steep part, which worried us a little bit but we did it anyway and it was ok. But your shoes MUST have traction or this could be a problem. The cave itself was interesting but we preferred the other walk.

1  Thank tcr00ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

We love this place. Have gone many times. We love to take our visitors here. It’s a real treat to see the waterfall after it’s rained. Highly recommend!

Thank Urmysunshine2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

Dripping Springs has a nice selection of trails with beautiful views of the valley below and of the peaks above. The lady in the visitors center was friendly and provided excellent information. The cost of entering was only $5! And you can get there from Las Cruces in under 30 minutes.

Thank Bowmanator22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Nice hiking trails outside Las Cruces. There is an old sanatorium that was built at the turn of the century on the trail. It was there to help TB patients in the past. Cool other old structures from the past.

1  Thank scott682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

Always like to visit this area at different times of the year.. Went there for a late summer hike. Not too many wildflowers because of the lack of rain bur still very nice views and the barrel cacti were beautiful.

2  Thank sabimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

We hiked at Dripping Springs in early August. Take some water with you (none along the trail). It's a pretty easy uphill hike to the spring and ruins. I wasn't terribly impressed with the ruins and the springs are a trickle of water that you can barely see or hear. The Organ Mountains are pretty to look at. You might be better off spending the time hiking the other nearby trails.

2  Thank Paul_inSunPrairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews