We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hike that has history with it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dripping Springs Natural Area

Dripping Springs Natural Area
Ranked #3 of 47 things to do in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Mexico
Level Contributor
139 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A hike that has history with it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

There are several "hikes" to take
Some harder with elevations...and there is also an easier one for us older seniors..
This is BLM land,and it is "fee" charge area but it is only $3 a car.
You can enjoy with Wildlife viewing, hiking, picnicking.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jshanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    60
    10
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Teresa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“hiking with friends.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have wanted to do a hike here because it is close and has history. took 6 buddies in the hike, we had a great time looking at nature and it was geat weather, suny but not too hot.
will go again with bigger group.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank paddies2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
Level Contributor
153 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Easy hiking, moderate trails, open views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The visitors center is informative. Hike to the remains of the old hotel resort. Paved road becomes gravel for a few miles, so be prepared to get your car dusty. Well marked trails are easy to follow.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoadDogs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
192 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“History hidden away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was an old health resort during the turn of the last century. Some of the old building structures remain. It has a very walkable trail suitable for most ages which wanders through some very scenic desert areas. It is especially pretty when the cactus are in bloom.

Helpful?
Thank JimH88011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A difficult circuit around the massive rock formation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We hiked at Dripping Springs the day our dog was at the groomer since no dogs allowed here. We did not hike up to the spring/old resort but walked the circuit around the massive rock formation on the left as you approach. We walked clockwise. The climb up the ridge after the rock formation to get back to the main trail was challenging and not well represented by the map provided.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greybutstillgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dripping Springs Natural Area also viewed

 

Been to Dripping Springs Natural Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing