We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A difficult circuit around the massive rock formation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dripping Springs Natural Area

Dripping Springs Natural Area
Ranked #1 of 48 things to do in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A difficult circuit around the massive rock formation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We hiked at Dripping Springs the day our dog was at the groomer since no dogs allowed here. We did not hike up to the spring/old resort but walked the circuit around the massive rock formation on the left as you approach. We walked clockwise. The climb up the ridge after the rock formation to get back to the main trail was challenging and not well represented by the map provided.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greybutstillgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    72
    10
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome Views and Challenging Hiking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

The longer 4 mile trail was very rocky, but take it slow and it will be worth it! Minimal elevation change made it easier. Great views of Las Cruces. And you can visit a cave used by prehistoric native Americas and lived in by a 19th century religious hermit. Interesting visitors center with staff knowledgeable about the history and natural history of the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Renee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A good hike in a little known park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hike to the historic buildings is not long, about 2 miles, but it IS uphill. We were not told that, athough we were prepared with water, good shoes, etc. The website says it's an easy climb, but it's closer to a moderate hike. There is a gravelled trail with a 500 foot elevation. The historic site is very interesting, a good way to get up into the mountains.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bloomingtongirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I'm not a very big hiker but my husband and I decided to do the dripping springs trail. It was a fairly easy hike with lots of scenery. The trail is all gravel and can be slippery. When you get to the end you see an old resort, sanatorium, and the dripping spring. Was a fun hike and would recommend for anyone looking for scenery and history.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
175 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice place for a easy hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited Dripping Springs and hiked up to the hotel sight. The hike was fairly easy and had some nice scenery / views along the way. All in all the hike is pretty flat. The old buildings are sort of interesting - nothing too exciting. I have to say that the volunteers at the visitor center were wonderful! They have us information, maps, and bottles of water. They were really fun and left a wonderful impression of Dripping Springs.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjc_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dripping Springs Natural Area also viewed

 

Been to Dripping Springs Natural Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing