We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful, but stark. Wedding location for some!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dripping Springs Natural Area

Dripping Springs Natural Area
Ranked #3 of 47 things to do in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but stark. Wedding location for some!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The couple I married out there hiked to the peak shortly after they met. Even when I was younger and in better shape, I chose other ways to get my nature excercise in, but they love it! Pretty secluded, a half hour drive from the freeway, and gorgeous in its own natural way. Beautiful up-close sunset view of the Organ Mountains. No trees to speak of. Very limited facilities.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank newmexicoonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    64
    10
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
168 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great hiking place, beautiful scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My family and friends like to hike these beautiful mountains. If you are lucky to get to see the running water fall. Last time we were there a group of young people climbed the water fall to the other side. Nice new trails.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank duepplestrasse5-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great for Kids & Newbies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

There are several well-groomed and well-marked trails of varying lengths, all of which offer an informative series of plaques identifying the plants and historical sites and explaining their significance. It's a great place to have fun with kids and learn something at the same time. It's also visually stunning, a lovely setting for a picnic or barbeque. Because it's nuzzled up against the east face of the organ mountains it can be anything from chilly to freezing before the sun comes over the mountains, so bring appropriate clothing if you'll be visiting before lunch.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico, USA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A terrific walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I spent a lovely couple of hours walking around the Dripping Springs Natural Area last weekend (19 Jan '13). What a great walk!

An easy 5-or-so-mile drive from Las Cruces (the last 2 are over an unpaved but well-graded road), Dripping Springs Natural Area gives a terrific little window into that part of the Chihuahuan Desert. The trails are situated so as to allow moderately fit visitors to really get out and interact with the landscape. The views of the Organ Mountains are glorious, as is visitors' exposure to native plants. Paths are well maintained and are graded to as to minimize inconveniences like having to climb up and down so much to cross small arroyos - yet this is done with a light footprint with respect for the terrain. It's just lovely.

We did the c. 3-mile Crawford Trail, which was easy in under a couple of hours. A little up and down (again, easy if you're moderately fit), but the views make it totally worth the walk. Great time!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Erich505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
207 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice hiking area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Dripping Springs has a very nice campground. The views of the Organ Mountains are spectacular. We watched some serious rock climbers while we were there. There are lots of areas to explore on these south-facing mountains.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaJay26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dripping Springs Natural Area also viewed

 

Been to Dripping Springs Natural Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing