We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hiking area”

Dripping Springs Natural Area
Ranked #1 of 53 things to do in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice hiking area”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Dripping Springs has a very nice campground. The views of the Organ Mountains are spectacular. We watched some serious rock climbers while we were there. There are lots of areas to explore on these south-facing mountains.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    93
    15
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Loved the hike up to the hermits cave. Was simply surprised by how much you can see from up there. Be ready for a long uphill walk but we'll worth the trip.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MamaG6unit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the best things we did in the area”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The trail is gravel and well maintained, still it is important to wear good shoes and to be prepared for the walk. I'd describe this as more of a moderately tough walk that a hike. The first mile and a half are up hill, then you return the way you came. At the top of the path, you will see the old resort and the sanatorium for TB patients. If you enjoy taking photos, you will find a target rich environment. There are other paths to take and you can spend as much time as you want. Allow a minimum of 2 hours for this activity.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank ballerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM USA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful and well-maintained”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was a beautiful hike / trail run with well-maintained gravel trails. You can choose trail lengths of 3-5 miles. We did the 5 mile option, touring the abandoned resort, dripping springs, dry waterfall, and hermit cave areas. This is a great day hike area with kids. We saw tarantulas and quail on the trail and others told us they saw coyotes and mule deer.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank NMmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hiking--Our Favorite Thing in Las Cruces”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We enjoyed a beautiful Sunday morning hike to Dripping Springs from the Visitor Center. It's a 3 mile total in and out to a 19th century resort and early 1900s TB hotel hidden back in the hills
at about 6900' elevation, witha view over the Las Cruces area.
We liked that no one else was on the trail until we started down, and the interesting structures at the top. A real treat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank AJandMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dripping Springs Natural Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing