We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dripping Springs Natural Area

Dripping Springs Natural Area
Ranked #1 of 48 things to do in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Loved the hike up to the hermits cave. Was simply surprised by how much you can see from up there. Be ready for a long uphill walk but we'll worth the trip.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MamaG6unit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    72
    10
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the best things we did in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The trail is gravel and well maintained, still it is important to wear good shoes and to be prepared for the walk. I'd describe this as more of a moderately tough walk that a hike. The first mile and a half are up hill, then you return the way you came. At the top of the path, you will see the old resort and the sanatorium for TB patients. If you enjoy taking photos, you will find a target rich environment. There are other paths to take and you can spend as much time as you want. Allow a minimum of 2 hours for this activity.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank ballerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful and well-maintained”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was a beautiful hike / trail run with well-maintained gravel trails. You can choose trail lengths of 3-5 miles. We did the 5 mile option, touring the abandoned resort, dripping springs, dry waterfall, and hermit cave areas. This is a great day hike area with kids. We saw tarantulas and quail on the trail and others told us they saw coyotes and mule deer.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank NMmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, Arizona
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hiking--Our Favorite Thing in Las Cruces”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We enjoyed a beautiful Sunday morning hike to Dripping Springs from the Visitor Center. It's a 3 mile total in and out to a 19th century resort and early 1900s TB hotel hidden back in the hills
at about 6900' elevation, witha view over the Las Cruces area.
We liked that no one else was on the trail until we started down, and the interesting structures at the top. A real treat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank AJandMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very nice place for hiking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The view is beautiful, and the length of the trail is adequate for amateurs to take a nice walk.
The tap water and the fountain water comes from mountain well. It has a great taste. Bring a container and stay refreshed while hiking.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HYGU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dripping Springs Natural Area also viewed

 

Been to Dripping Springs Natural Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing