We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Habanero's Fresh Mex

Habanero's Fresh Mex
Ranked #23 of 370 Restaurants in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Habanero's was recommended by the hotel front desk after understanding that we were interested in authentic Mexican ranging from medium to hot spicy. The food was excellent and the owner was friendly. We may go back to try breakfast. Excellent and well priced!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    53
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Second Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Understand that we are not coniseurs of Mexican cuisine. But we have lived in southwest Tucson for a few years and traveled extensively throughout the region. As well as all of Mexico.

A year ago, on a trip from Tucson to Austin, we were drawn to Habanero's by the Tripadvisor reviews, having earlier sampled some of the Mesilla restaurants.

We visited and were delighted. Passing through Lac Cruces this past month (April 2014), we thought we'd try Tripadvisor's #1 rated restaurant. It happened to be closed on Monday so we diverted to Habenero's for what turned out to be another great meal. Qualities:

- Great service by people who own the place or are longtime employees
- Extensive, surprisingly nuanced menu
- Walk-up ordering, indoor seating
- Avoid if you're looking for Tex-Mex

Excellent!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What's all the hype about?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

This evening was my last time to visit this so called #2 restaurant in LC. Ordered the tacos and they were OK, beans straight of the can and the spanish rice was like eating cardboard.
Window ledges were filthy and floors looked like I was in a barn(DIRTY)! NEVER AGAIN!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MLS505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Las Cruces. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

This little restaurant is our favorite. Low overhead, large selection, reasonable prices, and Felix the owner is friendly and accessible. The restaurant is small and the parking is limited but it is well worth the effort.

Helpful?
Thank Schweizer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Fresh, home made, tasty dinner. I enjoyed the spinach artichoke enchiladas - sauce was smooth, light and delicious. The avocado tostada was fresh and a nice side. Overall, excellent stop for dinner. This foodie enjoyed it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hkh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habanero's Fresh Mex also viewed

 

Been to Habanero's Fresh Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing