We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awful service, very good food”

Habanero's Fresh Mex
Ranked #22 of 376 Restaurants in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awful service, very good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I'm told that there was a time when the main chef and his wife were the only ones working at Habanero's, and the service was good, and friendly. I've been eating there for about 3 years, and I have most often been served by 2 younger women who I kind of always assumed were family. They seem to need to let you know that they do not care about you as a customer. At all. They seem to make a point of letting you know. Every time.

Many people who live in Las Cruces seem to accept this sort of unprofessional behavior. It is after all the norm in this town. But I am on a quest to find the places that do still care about delivering good service, as well as good food. If you care about that, don’t go to Habanero’s.

The food is very good though. Best of all from my point of view, they have various selections beyond the usual Las Cruces Mexican fare of tacos, burritos, and tamales. I usually get the Arroz con Cameron, which I have never seen on the menu anywhere else.

Go to Habanero's with low expectations for the service, and you'll probably have a good experience. Avoid the lunch and dinner hours with groups bigger than 4 though, as seating is hard to come by at those times, and the staff doesn't get involved in helping you with anything like that.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toddg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    56
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent, Fresh Mexican Food - Will Go Back Again and Again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We went to this restaurant for the first time recently and we discovered all the reviews we read were right! This is a great little place with very limited seating, but the food is fresh and delicious, along with the friendly staff. If you are looking for delicious authentic homemade mexican food - this is the place!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
172 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

This place is worth going out of your way to find. Located inside what looks like an old Sonic drive in, the food is fresh and wonderful. The service is pleasant and genuine. They will offer you a cup of "welcome soup" when you order at no charge. Take them up on their offer. The salsa and chips are not to be skipped and the chicken in pumkin seed sauce... OMG I still dream of it when I go back home. I have never seen the place crowded so I certainly hope they will continue in business for many years to come. Don't let the outside scare you away it's sooo.... good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
100 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

I think you have to know about this place or be taken there by a local. It is located in an old drive-in and closes at 7:00 PM, but it is worth getting there early for outwtanding food. order at the counter, wait a few minutes and then enjoy some of the best Mexican food in the area. We look forward to the next visit. A small place operated by a family that certainly knows what it is doing in the cooking department.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MontanaTzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small Place, Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

small looking from the outside, but a cozy mexican restaurant inside. the Mexican food is great, portions good, price is good; my only complaint is that our orders always take at least 20-30 minutes to come out (for 2 people) stillwe'll continue going there.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank mgomeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habanero's Fresh Mex also viewed

 
Las Cruces, NM
 

Been to Habanero's Fresh Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing