We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slip away into history” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Mesilla Village

Old Mesilla Village
Ranked #2 of 49 things to do in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Montana
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Slip away into history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Wonderful old town plaza. Sit and relax and let your imagination take you back into the 1880s. Except for the paved streets, it could still be back then. Beautiful old church, adobe buildings, the old territorial capitol, fascinating shops (the shopkeepers could be a little friendlier) and just a block to the La Posta restaurant, which is one of the best Mexican restaurants in the U.S. This is a relaxing historic site just to wander around and often listen to the music played in the plaza park area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MontanaTzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    236
    87
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and shopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Walked to Old Mesilla Village from the Hacienda RV Resort, an easy walk and well lighted at night. Great food at Andele's and shopping throughout the village.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
261 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Old Mesilla Village is a great way to spend an afternoon roaming up one street and down the other, in and out of shops. Lots of history associated with the area. We were warned to pay attention to where we parked and did not get ticketed, so I'll pass that along. Make sure you eat at La Posta - by far one of the best Mexican meals we've had. Steak fajitas and Chili Rellano, both were excellent and the decor is just too much fun.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I have been to Old Mesilla many times. There are fun shops with local crafts, wine shops, restaurants, clothing stores, gifts and scents. Scent Chips is my favorite! The park in front of the church seems to be a gathering place when the weather is nice.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Speed Trap, $$ Stuff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

The area has had decades of speed trap problems. I used to live here and they had major investigations and jail time. I got a ticket on this trip driving slowly on a highway. Not even sure it was legit. Be very careful. The other thing to watch is over-priced kitsch in the shops. The chocolate shop is good, but a lot of the crafts cost too much and will throw away when you get home.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Mesilla Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing