We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sleepy, charming little village”

Old Mesilla Village
Ranked #1 of 52 things to do in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“sleepy, charming little village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had an extra day in Las Cruces & one of the guests at the motel where we stayed highly recommended a visit. We arrived a tad too early apparently, as most ofl the shops were still closed so we were shown the church by the plaza by a very kind lady. I killed time by walking through the residential area & heard a rooster crow from somewhere nearby- unexpected & charming. Found a public restroom a stone's throw away from the plaza as well as the tiny post office for the town, all very convenient while still waiting for the sleepy shops to open. I later picked up a couple of souvenirs & ate lunch at the immensely popular La Posta de Mesilla restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyg223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    245
    91
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Get there early or it's deadsville.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a charming little square that is what about what you would expect from a town the size of Las Cruces. It's not big so very easy to walk around and see it all in a few hours. However, we missed it all since, we went at 6:00pm on a Friday night, and it was a ghost town with the exception of a few bars and restaurants and one winery. Could not believe that almost everything had already closed. Too bad, this place is super charming and looks like it would be fun if there was some people around. Will try to go back when it's open.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank glamgal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great historical village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is the soutwestern version of the "County square" but with interesting history. Even Billy the Kid visited a few times when not under arrest...great, genuine new mexican or mexican food and crafts available.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jsawyer169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Day in the Village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

In the middle of Old Mesilla, there is a peaceful as well as interesting historical place to visit, offering several shops selling authentic southwestern jewelry, pottery, pecan treats and great Mexican food. Treat yourself to a day of rest, be it sipping a cool margarita at one of the outside patios, or just reading a good book on one of the benches in the plaza. It's a romantic little out-of-the-way place to just spend quality time together. No frills, just a warm atmosphere.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina_M313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice area. old country living. simple and nice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Came out here for a motorcycle drive and festival. its was nice and lots of small shops to walk thru. If you drive bye make sure you stop and check it out.

Helpful?
Thank Parmend6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Mesilla Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing