We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close to good”
Review of Hotel Mesilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mesilla
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“So close to good”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This property was recently redone with the help of Gordon Ramsey. It has a nice location only a few blocks from Old Mesilla. The linens are are new, the outdoor pool has fun decor. None of the rooms have closets, but they do have armoire (no place for luggage). There were bathrobes but only two additional hangers. The free wi-fi appears was slow and did not reach into the two unit cassita. Attractive bedside hanging lamps were controlled at the door so require getting out of bed to control.
For a better stay and better value, try Hotel Encantado.

Room Tip: All rooms except the casitas are on the second floor - there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank Meryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    17
    9
    5
    12
See reviews for
8
30
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel could have been excellent. Our bedroom was small but very nicely decorated and it was clear that a lot of thought had gone into it. The bed was comfortable. The pool area was excellent, loungers and sun shades and comfortable chairs to sit in. We were told there was a continental breakfast but there was none. We had to ask for coffee because there were no facilities at all for guests to make a drink either downstairs or in the rooms. There was no comfortable lounge in which to sit, most public rooms were dark, with tables and upright chairs. A restaurant which appears to function separately produces reasonable suppers but no attempt to produce breakfast. As a "boutique" hotel it falls far short of the European idea of boutique. Had there been a pleasant place indoors in which to escape the sun and a nice breakfast we would have recommended it highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Quaint, comfortable, clean, nice rooms, pretty views, balconies, friendly staff. This hotel is a wonderful gem. Easy parking, beautiful pool. Owner was friendly, entertained on rooftop bar area. Good drinks very fair price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelalways364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This place is a hidden gem. I had been many years ago & the experience this time was by far a more romantic experience! Our room was beautiful & cozy and the bed was very comfortable. We had a door to the wrap-around balcony where we sat & enjoyed our coffee in the morning. it was truly delightful!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdmc0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

What a lovely retreat this property afforded us away from the busy pace of 'real life'! Gracious and welcoming owner checked us in and gave us a tour - told us we could use the pool even though it was closed! The in room jacuzzi tub kicked off what ended up being a wonderful night of giggles and relaxation!! I soaked until I was a prune!! The bed was soooo comfortable, the mattress was not 'standard hotel issue', but a luxury treat!! We completely enjoyed the rooftop patio - we decadently sipped bubbly in hotel robes and watched a beautiful sunset. Simply a wonderful way to enjoy a romantic evening with my sweetie!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BellaLuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I spent a long weekend in Las Cruces visiting friends. Our friends suggested this place and I am glad they did. The rooms were romantic, the beds were very comfortable, and the balconies were a great place to soak up the atmosphere of old Mesa.
They have a wonderful restaurant - the chef was great !!! We were so impressed with the food that we had our friends meet us and ended up eating almost every meal there !!
We will stay here again and again and again.
You will not regret it either.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarM2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Some friends recommended that we visit Mesilla on our way to White Sands and I am so glad that they did! We would never have found Meson de Mesilla otherwise because I had only looked up lodging in Las Cruces and Alamagordo prior to their recommendation. The property is lit all around with warm little lamp-lights, which gives it a quaint, romantic feel as you drive up. The rooms are small but very nicely appointed, with comfortable beds and nice furniture. The location is convenient too, just a few blocks down from historic Mesilla but also just a few minutes from grocery stores and shopping centers. It does cost a little bit more than other accommodations in the area, but completely worth it if you value ambiance and comfort- a touch of luxury in an area otherwise full of chain motels!

Room Tip: See if you can get a room upstairs, with outdoor seating just outside-- if not there's a wraparo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
4.0 mi away
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Las Cruces I-25
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 33 in Las Cruces
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Las Cruces I-10
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Las Cruces
Days Inn Las Cruces
#7 of 33 in Las Cruces
887 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces
Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces
#2 of 33 in Las Cruces
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mesilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mesilla

Property: Hotel Mesilla
Address: 1891 Avenida de Mesilla, Las Cruces, NM 88005-3908 (Formerly Meson de Mesilla)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mesilla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mesilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing