We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel horrible dining”
Review of Hotel Mesilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mesilla
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
nm
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average hotel horrible dining”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We ate on the rooftop.  The owner-entertainer sang along with her iPod (music minus one program). She was too loud even after we requested that she turn it down.  She repeatedly gave on-going instructions to the overly familiar waitstaff over the PA system.
Dinner was fettucini al Yucco Mucko... Flour heavy sauce, grainy and sour.  One person had chicken parmigiana and it was served with spaghetti .  It had no marinara sauce on it so we requested some.  A tiny amount was brought and upon inspection of our bill we were charged extra for it!!!!
This place is over priced and has low grade food and waitrons that are inexperienced and somewhat daft.
It is posing as fine dining but is a lame and unprofessional attempt.
Don't bother.  I know I won't again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank barrioonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    9
    5
    12
See reviews for
8
31
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Upland, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Well this hotel has been newly decorated, super clean and very quiet! The clerk leaves at 5:00 PM and then you are on your own. There is a restaurant downstairs only open Tues - Sat and serves lunch and dinner only and they have a bar which was closed as well. Easy parking in front, no elevators and TV reception was limited to 3 snowy channels. The balcony was a nice touch if the cats had not walked all over the chairs ouside. The heating never went on more than a few mins - so we were glad we had brought an extra blanket! It is super close to Old Mesilla and the freeway access. There is a retaurant directly in back easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Get there before the clerk leaves - check out the AC and Heat and get more towels. Check out the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highwaytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Not sure what music the other reviewer heard, but my wife and I have been several times recently and the lazz, pop, and country vocals by Cali are terrific! Easily the best vocals available in Las Cruces, and certainly not irritation to the neighbors especially since there no neighbors within two hundred yards! The food has been very good as well.

Dennis
Las Cruces

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dennis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Left another review and it mysteriously disappeared. The music at this place is terrible and I do not recommend supporting a business that irritates its neighbors like this place does. Their response to the noise pollution is that they don't have to be quiet.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Kristin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Cruces hotels

London
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We stopped off in Mesilla for 1 night; booked MdM after good review in Lonely Planet + first review on Trip Advisor. This hotel is good for what it is but it's misrepresented by both of the above. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, v good bathroom - but it's not a historic boutique hotel. It's a solid new build. Plus being on a main road, you would rather drive than walk to the historic Mesilla area.

Can't say anything about the restaurant - it was closed the night we were there.
All in all - absolutely fine as a stop off but don't expect history or character.
BTW local restaurants close by 9pm early in the week and as previous reviewer said - the Bean is great for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEM_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

I booked this place based on Trip Advisor reviews. I probably wouldn't stay there again. It was a nice room but expensive based on other places we've stayed on this road trip. There is a restaurant on the first floor and rooms on the second floor. (no elevator). The room was nicely decorated but no coffee-maker, no refridge/microwave. The TV reception was poor ('snow' on every station). The desk gal tried to fix it but to no avail. The worst problem was a pocket door to the bathroom which was very hard to open and close and we almost both got 'trapped' in the bathroom because there was not a good way to open the pocket door. A nice feature was the outdoor 'balcony'/ terrace. There was a swimming pool but we did not use it. We also did not eat at the restaurant. Wi-fi worked for my husband's computer but not mine.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sswksq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Recently was passing through New Mexico and wanted to see the "Old Mesilla" historic village in Las Cruces. We did not know where to stay but heard from a local state line visitor center that this place had just re-opened and was within walking distance of Old Mesilla. After a quick look we decided to give it a try. The Meson de Mesilla is a combination restaurant and small nice botique hotel. The hotel rooms are upstairs on the second floor .We enjoyed our stay and would consider it again. Everything was new and fresh. The room was very clean. We had a standard room which was quite small, but adequate for us. The newness and freshness made up for it being so small. (They do have larger rooms available at higher cost.) I will give them good credit for wise design use of such a small space. The mattress was new and was a pillow top (which we dont care for too much - but some would like). Furnishings were attractive, but there is no chair in the room (there is no room for it) so there is a small stool. There are double glass french doors that lead out to a balcony which was nice for open air. (Here I would recommend they add lined or black-out curtains as the blinds were not enough to keep out the morning light). There was some restaraunt noise (voices and music) but it was not overly distracting. Another recommendationit to provide instructions on the heating / AC unit - it works only by remote and was impossible to figure out. Coffee is provided at 7:00 am downstairs. The entire facility is supposed to be no-smoking, but the front desk area usually smelled strongly of smoke. One of the employees must smoke in the office. However, our room did not have a smoke smell. The entire facility was clean, new and nice. The customer service was excellent. As guests of the hotel you must pass by the restaraunt while going in and out and I will say that it looked nice - good design and ambiance. The menu looked good and with very reasonable prices. If we stayed there again, we would likely try the restaraunt. For breakfast, we walked a short walk down the street to the coffee "Bean" and it was good. This small hotel is likely best for couples out for a romantic weekend. As for Meson, the best thing about it is that it is a short walk to the old historic Mesilla so you dont have to worry about parking, driving, or having a drink with dinner. We would stay at Meson again even if just for the location.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pirateparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
4.0 mi away
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 33 in Las Cruces
277 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Las Cruces I-10
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Las Cruces I-25
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Las Cruces
Days Inn Las Cruces
#6 of 33 in Las Cruces
892 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces
Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces
#2 of 33 in Las Cruces
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mesilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mesilla

Property: Hotel Mesilla
Address: 1891 Avenida de Mesilla, Las Cruces, NM 88005-3908 (Formerly Meson de Mesilla)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mesilla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mesilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing