We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Management Makes A Difference - Not always good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Management Makes A Difference - Not always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Sadly this is not the same hotel it was a year ago when I stayed here. Don’t get me wrong, it is one of the three best hotels in the city as far as I know. The building is spacious, elegant in a relaxed South West way and immaculate. The human factor seems to have disappeared. We were treated to a fire alarm testing which lasted 2 or more hours and blasted every room repeatedly. These are essential but because the hotel never bothered to warn the guests, I lost two customers I could have rescheduled or seen elsewhere had I known. They didn’t seem to have warned the staff either as no one knew how long this would go on, that the fire doors in each corridor automatically close and lock when the alarm goes off and what to do to get me back to my room. There is now an impersonal, tired quality to the staff which certainly was not there last time. A few exceptions, of course which make things nice. People like Aaron and Dakota in the dining room, John on desk and a few others provided a spark of joy and a sense they were happy to be there.... Would I stay here again? I’m not sure. There is a wonderful Hampton Inn and Suites across town. It is less convenient but very nice and when I checked in my son, they were pleasant and gracious. I really don’t know.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We had a scheduled fire check and our letters failed to go out to our guests the night before. I'm so sorry that we failed you in this communication. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    121
    55
    17
    12
See reviews for
182
129
26
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces last week on a recruiting visit to New Mexico State University. The hotel is VERY close to campus and looked nice online so we picked it.

The exterior design and interior decor is very southwestern which we really enjoyed. Gives you a great southwestern feel which we loved since we are not from the area.

There is a very nice secluded pool area with an awesome fireplace that gives it a very homey feel. Even if you don't swim hanging out by the pool is fun and relaxing.

My only complaint is I think the beds are made of solid concrete and steel! My son plopped down on one after a long day and let out a surprised cry of pain! They really truly are THAT hard! I don't remember ever being on a firmer bed at any hotel ever.

Maybe management will fix the beds and this will be THE place to stay in Las Cruces. You can't beat the location, the decor and a staff that is SUPER nice and attentive to your needs.

Room Tip: Check out the pool area even if not swimming. It is a great place to relax and unwind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WYOMAGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I appreciate you taking time out of your busy day to fill out a review on TripAdvisor.

I have to agree that we have the best pool and great friendly staff. I'm so happy that you enjoyed our over sized fireplace a enjoyed our pool area. On the other hand I was so sad that my team didn't inform you about our Garden Sleeper Beds. All of our beds are adjustable on both sides of the bed so you can get it to the comfort level that you like. So I hope that we see you back soon and you will have a much better night sleep


Have a Great week!

Warm Regards,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Colleen is a new (1 month) employee of Hilton Garden Inn in Las Cruces, NM. She works in the restaurant in the mornings and was one of the best employees I have run across in a long time. She is very personable, friendly, welcoming, and extremely attentive to customer needs. I hope she stays for a long time. I look forward to future business trips and hope that she will be working the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away opposite from the interstate for a quieter room. Also make sure the room is abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stay at a lot of Hilton Garden Inns and their direct competition Courtyards. This HGI just has a few too many issues for me to recommend. The staff were great, very helpful and nice. The bartender/waiter in the restaurant tried very hard to please. The fitness room was adequate. The food was OK, but not great. I wish they would adapt something more like Courtyard, with a limited but higher quality menu. The hotel itself is nicely decorated, clean; very typical of a HGI. My issues. 1) The pool and hot tub were closed with no explanation which was disappointing as that is one of the reasons I chose this hotel. 2) The hotel may be convienent if you are visiting NM State but there are no restaurants, stores, or anything other than a gas station close by. 3) the doors inside and out slam unless you are very careful, which most of my fellow guests were not, 4) insulation was minimal, every night I was woken up by the guest upstairs walking back and forth across the room and the guests next door talking on their cell phones. These latter issues I have found are common to newer hotels these days, but some are worse than others and this was pretty bad. My first visit to Las Cruces, but I will be back and I will try another hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, to avoid being woken up by the guests above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent visit to our property. I was happy to see that my team did what they could to make your visit enjoyable. I can understand your concerns with the amount of noise levels that our property has for being a fairly new. I was disappointed that you didn't receive our letter that I created explaining the work that we needed to get done to get our pool ready for our busy season. I realize you do have a choice when you travel and hope that we will see you back again.

Have a wonderful day!

Warm Regards,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA USA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Right at Exit 1 of I-25 (adjacent to the NMSU campus), this is a fine place to stay in Las Cruces. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful - clearly, they had been well-trained. My room was very large and comfortable with all the amenities one could wish for. The pool is large as are the public areas of the hotel.

I will be staying there again. Soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. I was very pleased that you loved our location and our large guest rooms. I appreciate your comments and we hope that we will see you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Best property in Las Cruces, Staff is knowledgeable and friendly. New Breakfast staff gives you something to look forward to in the morning. Rooms are clean and comfortable great property for overnight or extended stays.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms give a great view of the city and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffB492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to go to TripAdvisor to fill out a review on our property and our hospitality of our new breakfast staff members. I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your recent visit to our property. I agee that we have a beautiful view of our Organ Mountains from our resort style pool. We look forward on you returning to our property when you are visiting our area.

Warm Regards,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our family recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Las Cruces for three nights and had a wonderful experience! The hotel is very nice and conveniently located off I-25. We were never further than a few minute drive from area restaurants and shopping. Our check-in/check-out was smooth and our accommodation requests were ready when we arrived. Since we were traveling with an infant, we reserved a junior suite and requested a portable crib. I would highly recommend this room type for anyone traveling with a child (or someone just wanting a little more space than your average hotel room offers). Room was spacious and clean and the bed was comfortable. Walls were a little thin (we could hear someone snoring next door and the opening/closing of doors), but the noise level was no more than what is typical at most hotels. If you have an infant, just bring a sound machine. Our room was at the end of a hall so it was relatively quiet. It also overlooked the pool and had a lovely view of the mountains. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the mountains/pool area (the opposite side of the hotel overlooks the int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorelei2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review on our Hilton Garden Inn. I feel so happy to read that you enjoyed our hospitalitity and our beautiful view from the Jr Suite over looking the pool. I will be sharing your review with our department heads as well as our team. We strive to be number one with our guests and hope that we see you and your family back soon.

Warm Regards,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
#7 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 stars 924 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Las Cruces I-25
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Las Cruces North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Las Cruces I-10
1.8 mi away
Ramada Las Cruces Hotel and Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Las Cruces
Days Inn Las Cruces
#4 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces
Address: 2550 S Don Roser Dr, Las Cruces, NM 88011-9126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Las Cruces
#3 Romantic Hotel in Las Cruces
#4 Family Hotel in Las Cruces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces Hotel Las Cruces

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing